Church Specials… Songs I Have Written (Part Three)


Scripture References;

13 Then children were brought to Him so He might put His hands on them and pray. But the disciples rebuked them. (M) 14 Then Jesus said, “Leave the children alone, and don’t try to keep them from coming to Me, because the kingdom of heaven is made up of people like this.” (N) [c] 15 After putting His hands on them, He went on from there. Matthew 19:13-15 HCSB

16For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16 KJV

4But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, 5Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;)6And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus:  7That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus. 8For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:  9Not of works, lest any man should boast.10For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:4-9 KJV

3I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,4Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy,5For your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now;6Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:  7Even as it is meet for me to think this of you all, because I have you in my heart; inasmuch as both in my bonds, and in the defence and confirmation of the gospel, ye all are partakers of my grace.  Philippians 1:3-7 KJV

24But this man, because he continueth ever, hath an unchangeable priesthood.25Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them. Hebrews 7:24-25 KJV

28And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.29For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.30Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.31What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us? Romans 8:28-31

23The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his way. 24Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholdeth him with his hand. Psalm 37:23-24 KJV

7Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence?8If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.9If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;10Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. Psalm 139:7-10 KJV

27My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.29My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.30I and my Father are one. John 10:27-30 KJV

I Can Still Remember

(I don’t have a recording of this one available right now.)




When I was a child of 12 or 13
The Lord brought me to a place
Where I could hear his word.

A man in a little Church,
Not far from town,
He preached, but I confess
I really don’t remember
All he said,
Or who he was,
Or from where he came.

But I can still remember the drawing of the Spirit
And the feel of the altar that my tears fell on that night.
And I can still remember the hands upon my shoulders,
And the sounds of praise and worship from the people
Around that altar when I was saved.

I know that I am young,
And still there are so many things
That I have yet to learn.
I’m only human. I make mistakes.
And I know before life here is over
I’ll make many more.

But I can still remember what the Lord said in the Bible.
He said that I would fall, but not be utterly cast down.
He said He’d never leave me, and He never would forsake me,
And from His presence I could never leave.

And I can still remember the drawing of the Spirit,
And the feel of the altar that my tears fell on that night.
And I can still remember the hands upon my shoulders,
And the sounds of praise and worship from the people
Around that altar when I was saved….when I was saved!


This song  is my personal testimony. I have had a hard time deciding when I was actually saved.

When I was ? years old (between 5 and 7) I went to a Sunday School Class at a Baptist Church in  California. They did a flannel board illustration with 3 hearts…a black heart, a red heart, and a white heart. They explained how our hearts are black with sin, then when we are saved the red blood of Jesus washes over the black heart and makes it white. I believed that illustration. They also talked about baptism, and asked if anyone wanted to be baptised. Up went my hand. They asked me if I was saved. and I said “I guess so..”. Then I went out of the room (Probably in the hall or something) with a man and repeated a prayer. He then told me that I was saved, and that nothing would ever change that. I believed him. Then they baptized me.

Later when I was 11 we left California, and moved here. While in the 7th grade. I went to a tiny Pentecostal Holiness Church up on a mountain only minutes away from where I live today. We went there for a short period of time ( a few weeks or perhaps a couple months).  One morning in Sunday School (probably the first time I went) I was asked if I was saved. I said “Yes”.  Then they asked me how I knew that I was saved and I in turn told them how I knew I was saved.  Then they asked me how I knew that I was “still” saved, and told me that not all saved people stay saved.  Then for the first time since that day I first prayed to receive Jesus, I doubted. Then they held a revival and I went. An evangelist was preaching that night, and I don’t remember what his name was or from where he came.  In light of the new information I had been recently taught, I was very concerned about my situation, so I went down to the altar and prayed again for the Lord to save me.

Many many years later in either 1999 or 2000 I once again embraced the concept of  Security of the Believer (Eternal Security) which teaches that saved people “always” stay saved, and I still believe it today.  However, I have very fond memories of wonderful times of worship in those churches that do not embrace that concept. I still am unsure as to which occasion my salvation actually occurred, though, because I was so young the first time. But, I never will forget the memory of the night which inspired me to write this song.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here:www.biblegateway.com They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!


5 Comments

  1. July 22, 2010 at 2:33 am

    That is a beautiful song and testimony. I’m sorry about the confusion, but you know what . . .you are saved! And I rejoice in that. I went to a baptist vacation bible school when real young with a similar experience of going into another room and praying to accept Jesus as my savior. My family didn’t go to church, so it was many years later before I once again gave my life to Him . . .more knowingly this time. Thank you!

  2. July 22, 2010 at 11:02 am

    My family didn’t go much either…but the Lord always seemed to put someone in my path to encourage me to trust the Lord. I am so glad that churches have vacation Bible schools and similar programs for kids.

    It seems like bloggers have been one of my biggest sources of encouragement in recent months. Thank you so much!

  3. March 2, 2011 at 2:26 am

    Theresa, Thanks for sharing the link to this post. What a wonderful song! Your story got me thinking back to when I went to an Assemblies of God church in California in the 6th grade. At a retreat sponsored by that church is when I first decided I believed and accepted Jesus, but there were a lot of intervening years without a thought for God before I was baptized (at 23) and later went to the altar to really give my life to Him. So when was I “saved”? I don’t know either, but I know God has always been with me and kept me safe even when I didn’t pay any attention to Him. Peace, Linda

    • March 2, 2011 at 2:58 am

      That really is something. The first church was in San Jose, California. The second one was about 1,800 miles from there… give or take a few. I believe all of the Bible is special, but for some reason Psalm 139 just comes to my mind so much when I think about space, time and the sovereignty of God. It is interesting that many people can recall a specific date where they made a decision and called on the Lord, but I think “Well, we have to believe in order to call, and when did belief occur?” Our Salvation in a sense, is a process, but like you said, He keeps…He keeps that which we commit to His keeping. I guess that is why we refer to Jesus as the Author and Finisher of our Faith.

      Looking Unto Jesus,
      Theresa

      • March 2, 2011 at 3:02 am

        I forgot to mention that I was probably 22 or 23 when I wrote that song. 🙂


Leave a Reply

