“S” Is For Sunflower

“If I ever doubted as a child that God was real, it must have been only for a moment. I remember thinking of God in literal physical terms when I was little as I learned songs like “He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands”. I would try to picture how big He was…)

Serenaded Softly

sunflower-206091_1280
Sunflower (Helianthus annuus L)
Image credit, pixabay.com

Scripture reference;

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 KJV

I can remember as a child wondering how a sunflower could be real, because it was so big.

If I ever doubted as a child that God was real, it must have been only for a moment. I remember thinking of God in literal physical terms when I was little as I learned songs like “He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands”. I would try to picture how big He was.

I no longer think of Him as a great big giant, but I do still believe He is very big in all of His attributes, and all of His power.

“Sunflowers” by…

View original post 231 more words

10 Comments

  1. April 22, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    I do like that song, He’s got the whole world in His Hands. I used to teach this song to Kingdom Kids class.

    • April 22, 2015 at 8:19 pm

      It just makes you feel so good to sing it, especially with children. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  2. April 23, 2015 at 2:29 am

    P.S. – When I copied your link I misread it as Prone to Wonder. And it reminded me of a hymn I love, “Come Thou Fount”
    “Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love.
    Here’s my heart. O take and seal it; Seal it for thy courts above.”

    • April 23, 2015 at 3:38 am

      Barbara, that is my favorite verse of that hymn, and that is also where I got the name for my blog! That verse describes me to a “T”.

      “O to grace how great a debtor
      Daily I’m constrained to be!
      Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
      Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
      Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
      Prone to leave the God I love;
      Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
      Seal it for Thy courts above.”

      I also have two favorite verses from “Just As I Am” that mean a lot.

      “Just as I am—though tossed about
      With many a conflict, many a doubt,
      Fightings and fears within, without—
      O Lamb of God, I come, I come.”

      “Just as I am—Thy love unknown
      Hath broken every barrier down;
      Now, to be Thine, yea, Thine alone—
      O Lamb of God, I come, I come.”

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

  3. April 23, 2015 at 2:31 am

    My first comment isn’t showing. I said that when I was about 3 years old, one day I told Mama that Superman was stronger than God. My hiney soon convinced me otherwise.
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    with the A to Z Challenge

    • April 23, 2015 at 3:31 am

      It’s there now. I just checked my email and I had three comments that were waiting to be approved. I don’t know why it did that. I thought that once I approved a person’s comment they could come back and comment again and not need me to go to my dashboard and approve it.

      I’m glad you came by any way! 🙂

  4. April 23, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    They shine just like the sun brightning up even the most grey day.

  5. Debbie said,

    April 26, 2015 at 6:03 am

    We planted some before and they were so amazing! They weren’t even in the best places, but still they grew. I am so thankful for you doing this challenge. You have brightened my days with all the blooms!


Leave a Reply

