Transitions: (Part 16…Taking Turns)

Scripture references;

 


15 
For thus saith the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel; In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength: and ye would not.

16 But ye said, No; for we will flee upon horses; therefore shall ye flee: and, We will ride upon the swift; therefore shall they that pursue you be swift.

17 One thousand shall flee at the rebuke of one; at the rebuke of five shall ye flee: till ye be left as a beacon upon the top of a mountain, and as an ensign on an hill.

18 And therefore will the Lord wait, that he may be gracious unto you, and therefore will he be exalted, that he may have mercy upon you: for the Lord is a God of judgment: blessed are all they that wait for him. Isaiah 30:15-18 KJV


“Wait, it’s MY turn to move!”  How many of you remember shouting that when you were a kid? Do any of you remember the kid that would take forever to make his move, because he was going over every possibility in his mind? Or were you that kid?   :)

This past year has been……..eventful. But then again, whose hasn’t been eventful?  How far back should I go?

Last August my husband, daughter and I started our school year. Our daughter and I were first semester freshmen, and my husband was a sophomore. He was also working part time at his old job at the restaurant. Our son was working in Missouri. A few weeks later he decided to move back home and study to get his GMAT score up, so he could get into a Ph.D program, so there were four “full-time” college students all under the same roof in our little less than 1,200 square foot home…and none of us had time to clean. At first I tried to do it all myself  like I used to do it, but I started to get behind in school, so I just had to slack off and my sweet husband rolled his sleeves up and took over. I am a lucky lady.

Then my mother started having some physical problems and lost the use of her legs in just a couple months. They ended up doing surgery to remove bone spurs on her neck that were pressing on nerves back in December. My son took the GMAT exam, but didn’t get his score up enough, so he started plan B, which was job hunting. During the spring semester my husband’s glaucoma pressure went way up. Anywhere between 9-12 is considered normal. His was over 50. He had horrible pain and had to withdraw from school and take a leave of absence from work.  They put him on four different drops and it is finally down, but it is dangerous to take the drops, because they can cause heart damage. “Division of Services For The Blind” sent a man almost every week to train him to use a cane. He took my husband to different places around town and made him wear a blindfold and walk with the cane. They have been doing this, because he only has one eye and it is possible that he might lose the rest of his vision. He is back at work now and plans on returning to college this August.

Our son just left today for three weeks of training in another part of our state. He is still working on plan B which is becoming a certified math teacher for grades 7-12.

Our daughter got a summer job as a cashier in a department store, and plans on moving into an apartment with two of her friends from college.

Ever since my summer break from college started a month ago, I have done very little…just housewife/mom stuff and goofing off. My devotions have been suffering. I might as well be honest. I am trying to get it together. Say a little prayer for me, that I will let the Lord take His turn. He has been getting left out to some extent. I pray and read the word a little, but not in the systematic way that I did once upon a time. Does that make sense? I want to get back to the way it used to be.

Love,

Theresa

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here: https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

18 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    June 11, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Oh sweet and wonderful woman of the Word . . .I love you. You are at a different time in your life. And your events have been huge!!! We know He knows all that is going on and is right there with you, showing up each day and night, comforting your heart and mind. Praying with you for just what He intends for you during this time and always . . .lots of love and grace!
    God bless you! love and prayers!

    • June 11, 2012 at 5:32 pm

      Thank you so much Deb. I really wish sometimes that the years would roll backwards to when the kids were little. I loved that chapter of my life so much, and my role was much clearer.

      This chapter is so strange. I forgot to mention that my mom is walking now with a cane. She still can’t drive, but my dad can. Plus the past few months have had a lot of fun moments. I hope I didn’t make it sound like we were all walking around constantly in despair. Each day has had its share of laughter. I think the thing that bugs me most is that we are all a bit worldly…a little crude…we just are who we are. I am so thankful for the love, and grace I have found out here in blog land.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        June 11, 2012 at 6:59 pm

        Love you, Theresa . .. and you in no way made it sound like you were walking around in despair! 🙂 To me, it just sounded like a LOT of WALKING with Him . ..leaning on Him . .. needing Him. You are doing all you can right now, the best you can . . .and that is enough!!! 🙂 hugs and prayers for your day and lots of His sweet blessings!

  2. Ann said,

    June 11, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Dearest Theresa,

    I don’t know where to start, so I will just start in the middle…

    Firstly, what Deb said.

    Secondly, God has blessed you with immense strenght … more than you might care to admit. You shouldered all of that and still kept us blessed with His words. I praise God for you.

    I will be praying for you and your family…. Life experiences are never wasted, but sometimes living through them is hardest part… May His love continue to support and encourage you and keep you afloat in the midst of all this. Marriage and the family are God’s design. He is able to keep you secure and growing.

    Much love and blessings,
    ann

  3. June 11, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Ann, thank you so much. I go to church some times, not as regularly as I did once upon a time. The friendships I have with you and Deb and the other bloggers I have met. You all really feel like my church, I’m not saying there isn’t some good in churches, but there is so much yucky stuff in them…so many agendas. To be completely honest churches are exhausting. I don’t think it should be that way. But what we bloggers share is very different…very precious to me.

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. bendedspoon said,

    June 11, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Oh my…I don’t know what to say but here’s what immediately comes to mind Theresa Anne — “There is an ant!”

    Everyone knows that an ant can carry as much as 50 times their body weight but not all might know that the queen ant doesn’t boss the workers around — they decide the task they will be doing based on skills and cues from the surroundings. Ants are valuable — they cultivate soil, circulate nutrients and disperse seeds.

    You have carried it so well. When you changed your profile photo I thought — “She’s blooming!” And surely you are — blooming with grace, strength and hunger for the Lord. Isn’t that precious and beautiful?

    So much for not knowing what to say. You are precious and beautiful!

    I believe Philippians 1:6 for you and I’m praying for you and your loved ones. Huggggs 🙂

    • June 12, 2012 at 2:11 am

      Rea, you are such an encouraging person, and you are so bright. I am so thankful for you.

      Love,
      Theresa

  5. Linda said,

    June 17, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Thanks for being so honest. Gosh, what a year it’s been for you all. Your strength encourages me so much, Theresa. Glad we’re friends. Hugs

    • June 17, 2012 at 3:50 am

      Thank you Linda, but I really don’t feel strong or courageous. The first few weeks with my husband’s trouble was challenging, but he has stabilized, and my mom is walking with a cane now…still not driving. The thing that bothers us most is the drops. He still is having some nightmares, but life is feeling much more normal.

      I’m glad were friends, too.

      Love,
      Theresa

  6. June 21, 2012 at 9:09 am

    I’m new here, but was stopped by your honesty. So, if it’s okay, I’ll share something I heard at church last week. We had a guest pastor, and I was thinking If I knew the Pastor wasn’t going to be here, I would’ve skipped too. (That’s the honest uncharitable me.)

    But when she(the guest pastor) started sharing a message of acceptance. “All are welcome. Here. Now. Accepted in God’s sight.” It felt as though a breath of fresh air blew through. It felt as though all those crummy thoughts of should-of, why didn’t I, I don’t deserve…, I can’t…. etc. The thoughts fell away. I remembered again God knows ALL of my shortcomings and still loves me anyway. Maybe the gentle nudge I received to listen to the “good stuff of god’s unfailing acceptance,” rather than the yucky critic in my head who is constantly judging is a message for you, too? I’m sorry if I stepped over the bounds sharing this. You sound like a wonderfully busy woman with a great, sensitive heart. Kris.

    • June 21, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      Kris, thank you so much! The past two days have been so hard. My husband had another episode with his eye yesterday afternoon. Then my son called on the phone needing our help. He was having a terrible crisis. My daughter has had a bad few weeks, too…crippling panic attacks. I am so glad you commented. I was about to cry and checked my email and there it was!

      Love,
      Theresa

      • June 22, 2012 at 2:24 am

        Well, I’d say…go ahead and cry. It usually dumps a bit of emotion out of the bucket for me, but then have a smile at the quinky dink that you’re getting notes just when you need them. Amazing itsn’t it? Hope today is better.

  7. Debbie said,

    June 22, 2012 at 2:35 am

    I’ve been praying for you today, and now I know why. love and hugs and continued prayer.

  8. Pastor Glenn said,

    June 26, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    I haven’t checked in for a while. Vacation put me behind on reading. Nor have I responded to the last question you asked me. I haven’t forgotten you though. Your honest is refreshing.
    Remember God’s great compassion, as you quoted in Isaiah 30, one of my favorite passages. We tend to rush off on our fast horses when God wants us to wait on him, but he is compassionate on us. He knows the circumstances we face, and carries us through them. He doesn’t judge us by whether we have a daily quiet time, but by the righteousness of his Son.
    Keep trusting!
    GG

    • June 26, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Thank you so much! I haven’t read from the Bible yet today. I think I will go look again at Isaiah 30.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  9. September 17, 2013 at 6:14 am

    […] Then my husband started having problems with his back. He also broke his foot while on campus, and his glaucoma got  started getting worse, so he had to quit school. You can read about all of those things here https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/transitions-part-13-established-steps/, and here:  https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/transitions-part-16-taking-turns/ […]

  10. March 25, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    All of my posts with “Transitions” in the title share a little about me and my family. I thought I would re-blog them, so my readers would have the opportunity to get to know me a little better and follow along on the journey I have been on since February of 2010. This particular post marks a season or transition into a season that has been hard. However, the Lord has been there . The gaps between posts both in this section of my blog and my blog in general were times of great difficulty, and even despair. Today we still have some challenges and burdens like most people do, but we are doing much better.


Leave a Reply

