19 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    February 20, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Your focus verse brings to mind Jesus’ instruction about prayer…done quietly, privately, in our rooms with the doors shut. Psalm 4:4 helps round out the picture a bit as the need for quietness of spirit (as opposed to a hypocritical, “look at me pray” attitude) is emphasized.

    Our hearts tend to be more attentive and receptive when there are no distractions. At least, this is true for me.
    Hopefully, your time of communion has resulted in refreshment of your spirit.

    • February 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      Thank you Heather. I never even considered the “prayer closet opposed to street corner” angle. I really had very little thought at all.

      I have been struggling with some very difficult family issues. My husband was doing well in school…even made the dean’s list, but is going to have to withdraw for a few months in order to get special braille and mobility training. He is going to start using a cane and check into getting a seeing eye dog. His glaucoma is very bad, and it is possible that they might have to remove the eye which of course would render him completely blind. Whenever glaucoma gets really high there is risk of the eye rupturing and bleeding to death. That is why they had to remove his other eye back in 1997 or 1998. Plus both of our kids(son is almost 24…daughter is 17) have been struggling with anxiety/depression and are on medications. My daughter’s is producing side effects, and she is going to the doctor tomorrow to see about getting hers changed. Finally, I am an only child and my mom’s health is declining…she lost the ability to walk and had to have surgery and she now uses a walker. My dad is caring for her, but his health isn’t really good, and this has been hard on him, too. All of this has made it so hard for me to keep up in college. I had to drop algebra last week.

      I just have not had the strength to do my Bible study the way that I used to do it, and my prayer life has been lots of “groans” and less organized praying. I quickly wrote this post on an impulse after a brief look at that psalm.

      Sorry for going on and on. My family and I are in urgent need of much prayer.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Heather said,

        February 20, 2012 at 9:46 pm

        Theresa,

        Sometimes the difficulties of this life can begin to feel as though they are pressing down with nearly unbearable weight. And there are days when the most prominent desire is to be held tenderly while the tears flow freely.
        Thankfully, the Lord is a good Father who remembers that we are but “dust” and is compassionate toward His children. He knows what we need even before we realize we have the need and His love never fails.

        In prayer for your family.

        Heather

  2. Ann said,

    February 20, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    Theresa,

    I started typing a response, but my page reset itself and I lost the screen. Still, I trust God.

    We are praying for your family. We are praying that Papa will place His arms around you and pull you even closer to Him. We pray the Holy Spirit will pour out such a peace upon you that all your fears and concerns will fall away as you lay yourself at His feet.

    We pray that the great Jehovah Ropha Himself will come and grant a miracle to your beloved. He has done miracles before… He can do it again! May the doctors be confounded at the way He heals!

    We pray for your children and for your parents. We pray for renewed strength from Him as they take it one step at a time. May He show you how to love, pray for and help them according to His design.

    We are physically far away from you, but through Him, we can stand together as twos and threes, as we help you carry these burdens to the Lover of our soul.

    Your love for Him shines through the pain you carry. Your beautiful heart shows how you honour Him. Your ministry to us has blesses us tremendously. We do not think you came by coincidence. We are thankful. Maybe He caused our paths to cross “for such a time as this”. We are standing with you and yours to the glory of His name!

    Our God is faithful!

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • February 20, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      Ann,
      I don’t even know what to say. I am deeply touched. Right now you and my other blog friends are the Lord’s hands. Thank you so much for lifting us up to the Lord. We are needy. Thank you for lifting my heart.

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. February 20, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Heather,

    Thank you so much!

  4. Debbie said,

    February 21, 2012 at 3:34 am

    Our wonderful woman of the Word . . .we love you. This post has me in prayer . . .and tears. Asking Him to hold you and gather you close like that momma kitty did with her baby. Praying for His mercy and healing to wash over you and your precious family.
    Sweet Theresa . . .I do a lot of that kind of praying too. Gonna try to find a song . . .love you so much! Holding you in prayer.

  5. February 21, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Thank you so much, Deb!

    Love,
    Theresa

  6. Linda said,

    February 24, 2012 at 3:34 am

    Theresa… I am so humbled by the comments and prayers of Heather, Ann and Debbie, and I pray in agreement with them that your burden would be lightened, and all your needs be met.

    It just all sounds so hard… Y’know, since we first met I’ve admired you for the way you take on so many challenges with your family, home schooling, reading textbooks to your husband, and writing such a beautiful Bible study. And then college! You have achieved so much. You have a track record for getting things done!

    The preacher who gave the lesson at Whitney Houston’s memorial service, said that when things are starting to seem really bad, and you don’t know where to begin, keep in mind that the devil is lying to you every day, telling you you’re not strong enough, not smart enough, not
    organized or energetic enough. I heard that message and I thought, that sounds just like me…

    So I’ve been praying against those lies… maybe it would help you, too? I’m praying that you will not get discouraged and that your prayer time would be fruitful. You are such a treasure, Theresa. Hugs, and thanks for sharing more of your story. God loves you… He does.

    • February 24, 2012 at 3:54 am

      Oh Linda,thank you so much! You are such an encouragement to me. I know it must be hard dealing with your husband’s illness.When I read the posts on your blog it reminds me of just how faithful the Lord is to care for us, especially when we are sad, tired, or scared.

      Hugs,
      Theresa

  7. February 29, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Theresa, you have a wonderful group of friends here; I know how that helps healing and encouragement in the heart.
    I wanted to say that your Psalm 4 is awesome!
    The verse 8 …I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety, is a verse I claim on my heavily burdened days when I just have to give it up to Him and trust he will work things out as I rest and set my mind on Him.
    He will make all things beautiful in his time. I pray your strength may be renewed day by day and that He may keep you in perfect peace as your mind is stayed on Him.
    God bless you dear.

    • February 29, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Thank you so much. Lately I have not been at my best.I have been so tired and achy. I can’t blame it on school though, because my load is light this semester.

      Your comment is beautiful.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  8. bendedspoon said,

    March 7, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Thank you so much Theresa for the times you comforted me despite your personal struggles. You have a beautiful heart and it’s precious to God.

    What you have shared about your current struggles made me cry. I know how it pains you but I can see God us well embracing you and kept on saying, “I love you Theresa, don’t you forget that.” And when God loves, the outcome is always for the best.

    Hugggggs and love 🙂

  9. Caddo Veil said,

    March 19, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    Dear Sis Theresa, I’m so very glad I came here today and became aware of your prayer needs. It is a “burden of privilege” to keep you in my heart’s thoughts now–praying God’s Presence will be Big and Near in your family. It’s a hard season, but HE will bring you through. God bless you–sis Caddo

    • March 21, 2012 at 7:19 am

      Thank you so much! You have a wonderful blog God Bless you, too. I miss blogging. I hope to post again some time in the next few days.

      Love
      Theresa

      • Caddo Veil said,

        March 21, 2012 at 7:34 am

        Hold onto His hand!

  10. March 25, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    All of my posts with “Transitions” in the title share a little about me and my family. I thought I would re-blog them, so my readers would have the opportunity to get to know me a little better and follow along on the journey I have been on since February of 2010.

  11. Debbie said,

    March 26, 2014 at 12:59 am

    Reading this again now, and thanking Him for getting you through those days, that time. Now I have to trust Him with what you are currently facing,remembering He is a God who saves!
    Love and prayers!


Leave a Reply

