9 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    November 29, 2011 at 7:38 am

    There you go again, wonderful woman of the Word! Thank you! I just got caught up in one waterfall after another, of His words and yours, cascading over my soul. Happy sigh!
    God bless you and all the moments that you spend in His holy presence.
    love you!
    deb

    • November 29, 2011 at 11:35 am

      I am so glad it blessed you. Every day you faithfully cast your bread upon the waters. Every day you read the Bible and share the beautiful poems and thoughts that the Lord abundantly pours out on you. Then you read the blogs of others and comment and encourage them….and you pray.I praise the Lord for that…for the fact that people like you actually exist.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        November 30, 2011 at 1:10 am

        Oh Theresa . . .thank you. You see me and don’t laugh or wonder what is wrong with me. haha! I had a bit of a scare or an awakening after getting on fb. Someone that I thought was a Christian friend, but don’t really know that well, well . . .some of the things she posts made me realize how different I am. It kind of shook me. And some other people too. I’m here in such a different place . . .just didn’t realize how far removed I am from what most people’s lives are like and what most people do. Thank you for seeing something in what He has me doing and for encouraging me to keep at it! 🙂
        love you! You are wonder woman! 🙂

  2. November 30, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Navigating in this sinful world does seem to be getting harder. I stumble a lot… 😦

    …but am not utterly cast down. 🙂

  3. December 1, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Resting in Him… utter joy

  4. Heather said,

    December 2, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I’ve been hearing the whisper, too, lately. I want so much to be drawn back into the pure joy of reading and meditating on what God’s word has to say. However, I’ve been distracted, fallen back into the former anxiety over whether I’m being “good” enough. The past several months have felt more like a trek through the desert.

    Your post is a good reminder of the care the Lord lavishes on His children and I think I will follow your example to make time to sit down and read more regularly, even if I can only concentrate on one or two verses.

    • December 4, 2011 at 10:02 pm

      Heather, the day I wrote this I did read and pray some…I pray every day…some days more than others, but always at least a little. The reading part… I read far less from my Bible than I used to (I will be 45 this month and am enrolled for 12 hours this semester.) If all you have time for is a verse or two each day the Lord will sustain you with that just like He sustained the multitude with the loaves and fishes. For some reason, this just came to my mind:

      “1My heart is inditing a good matter: I speak of the things which I have made touching the king: my tongue is the pen of a ready writer.

      2Thou art fairer than the children of men: grace is poured into thy lips: therefore God hath blessed thee for ever.” Psalm 45:1-2

      Just snuggle up beside that baby at nap time and let your heart indite a verse or two…speak a word or two of thanksgiving and praise to Him and…REST. 😉

      Here below is the rest of that Psalm:

      3Gird thy sword upon thy thigh, O most mighty, with thy glory and thy majesty.

      4And in thy majesty ride prosperously because of truth and meekness and righteousness; and thy right hand shall teach thee terrible things.

      5Thine arrows are sharp in the heart of the king’s enemies; whereby the people fall under thee.

      6Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever: the sceptre of thy kingdom is a right sceptre.

      7Thou lovest righteousness, and hatest wickedness: therefore God, thy God, hath anointed thee with the oil of gladness above thy fellows.

      8All thy garments smell of myrrh, and aloes, and cassia, out of the ivory palaces, whereby they have made thee glad.

      9Kings’ daughters were among thy honourable women: upon thy right hand did stand the queen in gold of Ophir.

      10Hearken, O daughter, and consider, and incline thine ear; forget also thine own people, and thy father’s house;

      11So shall the king greatly desire thy beauty: for he is thy Lord; and worship thou him.

      12And the daughter of Tyre shall be there with a gift; even the rich among the people shall intreat thy favour.

      13The king’s daughter is all glorious within: her clothing is of wrought gold.

      14She shall be brought unto the king in raiment of needlework: the virgins her companions that follow her shall be brought unto thee.

      15With gladness and rejoicing shall they be brought: they shall enter into the king’s palace.

      16Instead of thy fathers shall be thy children, whom thou mayest make princes in all the earth.

      17I will make thy name to be remembered in all generations: therefore shall the people praise thee for ever and ever.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  5. Heather said,

    December 5, 2011 at 4:42 am

    Thank you for sharing that Psalm, Theresa. I especially appreciate the elements of the Lord’s desirability and the call to be wholeheartedly devoted to Him.

    Being able to rest in the Father’s arms is so important, isn’t it?…It’s comforting to know we can find peace with Him even when life doesn’t offer much in the way of physical relaxation 🙂

    I pray your heart also is at rest as you seem to be quite busy.


Leave a Reply

