12 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    October 28, 2011 at 6:09 am

    God bless you, wonderful woman of the word! 🙂 You are not only a full time student, but a full time wife, mother, cook, house cleaner, laundry do-er, driver, and friend. 🙂 Loved getting to read this and think on these things. Thank you for sharing!

    • October 28, 2011 at 11:20 am

      You are such a sweet person. I am feeling a little overwhelmed these days. Not just the scheduling part, but also just trying to cope with all of the various mindsets I have been encountering. The past 24 years I have lived a sheltered life. It seems like even the Christian community at large has different attitudes than it had when I was growing up.

      Hebrews 11:13-16 is more and more a passage that I identify with.

      13These all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off, and were persuaded of them, and embraced them, and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth.

      14For they that say such things declare plainly that they seek a country.

      15And truly, if they had been mindful of that country from whence they came out, they might have had opportunity to have returned.

      16But now they desire a better country, that is, an heavenly: wherefore God is not ashamed to be called their God: for he hath prepared for them a city.

      Please keep praying.

      • Debbie said,

        October 28, 2011 at 9:40 pm

        Oh Theresa . . I didn’t even think about this aspect, being so sheltered myself. But I know how these things affect me, when they come along. I am so glad you shared about this, so I can pray more directly into it. May He cover you and keep you in the midst of it all! love you!

  2. Ann said,

    October 28, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Thank you, Theresa

    You may not be physically here as often as you want to, but I am thankful you left your blog up so we can pass by and eat from time to time. 🙂

    Praying He will redeem the times you spend in service to Him.

    Heading off to read the blog you recommended. Thanks for the connections.

    Blessings,
    ann

  3. October 28, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Ann, I am so thankful for your prayers. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  4. internet elias said,

    November 3, 2011 at 4:29 am

    Congrats on studenthood…lol. I started college at age 38 with two preteens and an eight month old. Hubby was wonderfully helpful. Got Master of Science degree with endorement in Mental Retardation. Retired after eighteen years. But I am forever a student of life and of the Word. I never stop learning.

    Am touched by the scriptures: Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit. Psalm 51:10-12 KJV

    And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God. Romans 12:2 KJV

    For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. Philippians 2:13 KJV

    Some months ago I finally asked God to show me my heart. He did. And it has brought me to a serious place. I now understand what it means to ‘work out salvation with fear and trembling.’ Salvation is serious business.

    • November 7, 2011 at 1:57 am

      Thank you for stopping by and sharing. I am glad you liked those scriptures. 🙂

      My understanding of Philippians 2:12 had for many many years colored my grasp of what salvation is…how it is acquired…how it is maintained. There is much I could say about that…have said about that in many of my entries. The sad thing was that it had always been preached in such a way that I was totally shocked when I looked at it one day and finally noticed verse 13. I had previously interpreted it as work “for” your salvation, and work “in order to keep” your salvation. I am very happy to say now that I might work “out” my salvation, but not for it and not to keep it. That work was performed by Christ on my behalf…To God be the glory! 🙂

  5. Linda said,

    November 10, 2011 at 4:17 am

    Mini Wheats and automatic transmission? There’s nothing wrong with being a girl of habit. As for me, I’m hooked on oatmeal.

    I have wondered how your new commitments and schedule would be reflected in you writing. You know, when we love the Lord, He will find us wherever we go, whether it’s the breakfast table or on your way to class.

    I’m just so glad and delighted for the update on what’s happening in your life. I often depend on the teaching of other bloggers, too. I’m grateful for their dedication.

    God bless you and keep you as your journey unforlds. Can’t wait to hear more!

    Love and hugs from your friend!
    Linda

    • November 10, 2011 at 4:49 am

      soooooooooooo glad to hear from you! 🙂

      I know you have an awful lot on your plate.

      Love and hugs!

      Theresa

  6. November 20, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful to be defined by the moment we went to the cross…the moment we believed? (John20:31)

    Theresa, this is truth and power and joy uncontained!
    I had a near death experience as a 15 year old( one of many through my life). What God revealed to me was not my failures, rather it was a picture of all that Christ was to me through my life because of the cross; it was all about Him and His faithfulness, nothing of my shortcomings! All about the gracious presence in throughout each of my days….I stood at His side rejoicing with Him at all His goodness in my life, each day, each hour, each moment…
    no shame… pure praise.
    my life defined by the completed work on the cross …
    thank you for your post.
    …reminded me again of His unending mercies, which are new every morning!
    I am certain God delights to visit with you over Shredded Mini Wheats and your cup of coffee 🙂

  7. December 29, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Good thoughts as usual. Encouraging. And we all need that. Congrats on your student status. I started college at age 38 with two teens and an eight-month old. We had recently relocated to my old hometown to help care for my terminally ill Mom who passed away two weeks later (January 7th). I dropped twelve pounds quickly and was diagnosed with Grief Reaction. Too, we had lost a child two years earlier. In the middle of it all, I returned to college where God had some wonderful experiences waiting for me. I encountered a precious young woman whom I found crying in a bathroom. She was twenty-one and living with a fifty-four-year-old man who had little regard for her as a person. She latched on to me and we spent an hour each day in the Student Union between classes. As I shared Christ with her and extended the hand of love and friendship to her, my own heart healed. She found the courage to leave her situation. She found college less frightening since she had a friend there. I finished there and moved on. I have often wondered about her. But I do know for sure that God orders our paths. I know for sure that much we think is our own plans…is more than that. And for you, being a student is about much more than educational plans. It is part of your life. Thus, God sees you…sees your circumstance. And HE is present in that circumstance.

    Enjoy college. As with all of life, it is not about the destination but is about the journey.

    Again, good thoughts, Thanks. Best wishes!!!
    Carolyn

    P.S. I am now retired after eighteen years of teaching students with severe mental and physical disabilities. Awesome experience in which God placed me as HE ordered my paths.

    • December 30, 2011 at 4:22 am

      That is just so inspiring that the Lord provided you with that opportunity to help her, and that you were a willing vessel!

      Keep me in your prayers.

      Blessings
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

