27 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    August 16, 2011 at 2:25 am

    One of my favorite hymns…and your marble illustration gives an interesting perspective.

    The Lord’s sovereignty is so clearly relayed in the Romans 8 passage, isn’t it? It can be such comfort to be able to rest in the fact that the Lord is doing the work of calling, justifying, conforming etc.

    • August 16, 2011 at 12:44 pm

      Heather,

      It really is comforting.

      I am thinking about you and that new baby that will be here before too long. I am praying that the Lord comforts you in new ways each day! 🙂

  2. Debbie said,

    August 16, 2011 at 7:15 am

    My family loved Aggravation! I would play it with my mom, dad and next older brother. 🙂 Such memories! And I wondered where you were going with it . . .
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the word, for sharing His word on us having a place, a part to play, under His control, by His design, in His own time. I love thinking about us being living stones. 🙂
    love you!
    deb

    • August 16, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      I almost deleted this post. I can be a perfectionist. 🙂 I was just a little bit sloppy bringing it all together. Then I thought about how as long as the message in it was true it would be okay to keep it. I am glad it brought back happy memories for you.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        August 17, 2011 at 5:33 pm

        I didn’t find it sloppy at all! I love how you brought it together, about those marbles rolling around and going where they weren’t suppose to be. And how it could all get snatched up and taken away too! Wonderful analogy! And you gave me a special gift in your reply . . .as long as the message in it is true, it’s okay to keep. Thank you so much for that wisdom. How often do I cringe when I go to post? Often! Nearly every day!
        God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word, and the wisdom He gives you to share with us!

  3. Ann said,

    August 17, 2011 at 3:15 am

    Thank you, Theresa

    This hymn has been playing in my head since I first read your post. Thank you for sharing it.

    “when the time is right we are all reminded that we do not belong to ourselves, but to someone else who has the authority and power to do what He wishes.”
    I remember my rolling days… thank God that He brings stability and definition and thank you for such a wonderful illustration!

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • August 17, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      I am glad you liked it. I love the old hymns . Many of them are filled with great theology.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  4. bendedspoon said,

    August 20, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I love how you demonstrated reality with that game. I hope we have that game board in here and take the opportunity to teach valuable lessons to my kiddos and have fun as well!

    A slight movement may cause a slight shift but we may never know the extent of change it will create but God knows. We are the details, He is the whole 🙂

    • August 21, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      “We are the details, He is the whole.”…Did you come up with that or is it another of your favorite quotes by someone else? I loved that! It was very profound. 🙂

      I am so glad that God knows everything and has promised to care for us.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • bendedspoon said,

        August 22, 2011 at 1:15 pm

        Theresa, it just popped in my mind while reading your wonderful post — marbles are small (details); whole (homonyn of hole). God actually shoot it in my mind — we had fun for countless times 😉

  5. Linda said,

    August 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Almost deleted it? I’m sure glad you didn’t…

    I wonder if the marbles get wiser and more patient over time. I don’t even try to win the game anymore, because competing with other marbles,.. those who have more experience and drive, are probably going to win…. but to what end?

    I love that God chose me and made my the way I am. Loving wife, good dog-mom to Niles, the one who cuddles and comforts my little family during a storm.

    I once was a rollling marble on a board game, but now I’m found!

    Hugs… : )

  6. August 21, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Linda,

    I’m glad He chose you and made you the way He did, too…which is perfect and wonderful (Psalm 139)…especially your Spirit or inner man. 🙂

    He took us out of the game of “aggravation”, and put us in the game of new “life”. 😉

    Hugs,
    Theresa

    • Linda said,

      August 28, 2011 at 2:41 am

      Hey… just jumping in with another comment regarding a question you asked me awhile back.

      Advice for school: Don’t be too hard on yourself, and don’t have expectations that are unreasonable for you or anyone else.

      Thought you might need to hear that about now.

      You are awesome! Remember that… Hugs, : )

  7. Pastor Glenn said,

    August 22, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Theresa,
    Great illustration. Remember it’s not the marbles that win, but the Player who moves them. To Him be all the glory!
    GG

    • August 23, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      Thank you Pastor Glenn. To God be the glory! He works in us both to will and to do of His good pleasure. 🙂

      Sincerely,
      Theresa

  8. JD said,

    August 24, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    . . .love that hymn . . my wife and I memorized it when we were first married.

    • August 24, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      It truly is a beautiful hymn. There are so many hymns that I love. It would be rally hard for me to pick my favorite. 🙂

  9. Ann said,

    August 25, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Hi Theresa

    Here’s something you may find helpful 😉

    Blessings,
    ann

    Top Ten Tips for College Success

    Each year, at this time, a new group of students heads off to the exciting and challenging experience of pursuing their college education. The first year can be a difficult adjustment. They’re faced with more independence, more challenge and more responsibility than they’ve ever had. Many succeed, but many don’t. Based on my clinical experiences with bright, capable students who have dropped out of college or have been placed on probation, I have put together some guidelines for success from my book “How to Parent So Children Will Learn” (Great Potential Press, 2008). These guidelines can ensure a college student’s success. Before school begins, I usually include in this column a reminder to new students. You may want to read these yourself or give them to a new college student you know and love. Here are my top ten tips for college success

    1. Never miss a class, no matter how boring or irrelevant you believe it to be. You’ve paid for this education, so you might as well get your money’s worth. The lecture or explanation you miss may become the exam question you don’t quite remember learning or the surprisingly inspiring idea that leads you to a career. Students who have dropped out usually initiate their problem by increasingly missing classes.

    2. Plan to study at least two hours for each hour of class time. Colleges recommend this guideline; take their advice literally. If you procrastinate early, it will be impossible to catch up at the end of the semester

    3. Structure your study time on a calendar or organizer for at least one week ahead of time. Visualizing the time allocated for study will lessen the tension you feel.

    4. If you’re struggling with course content, find help before you fail. Writing labs, tutors, study groups and counseling abound on college campuses. No one is going to take you by the hand and offer you help; you will have to initiate the search, but there is plenty of willing and free help available. Even students who earn A’s often seek tutoring.

    5. You could be disappointed in your grades, even when you’ve studied hard and have always been an excellent student. Try not to think about comparing yourself to others who may have received better grades. That will only make you feel less adequate. Instead, concentrate on studying more effectively and efficiently to do your best. A-grade students may have helpful study pointers you can learn. Be sure to use the study guides provided by your professors.

    6. Schedule exercise time at least three times weekly. Daily exercise is even better. Exercise will help you feel alert and in control while also providing you wonderful tension release.

    7. Plan for brief social time daily and a little more on weekends. Good college students do not take whole weekends off. Don’t over-allocate your social time. There will always be more than you plan for. Remember, alcohol and other drugs don’t mix well with study. Marijuana absolutely adversely affects motivation!

    8. Develop and keep regular healthy eating and sleeping habits as much as possible. Fatigue and poor nourishment will only increase your feelings of being overwhelmed.

    9. Many college students temporarily struggle with anxiety and depression while in college. Free counseling services are typically available on campus. Don’t hesitate to go for help.

    10. Finally, don’t even consider dropping out of college. Your college degree will make a positive difference for you the rest of your life.

    For a free newsletter about selecting a college or college readiness, send a self-addressed, stamped envelope to the address below.

    Dr. Sylvia B. Rimm is the director of the Family Achievement Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio, a clinical professor of psychiatry and pediatrics at the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, and the author of many books on parenting. More information on raising kids is available at http://www.sylviarimm.com. Please send questions to: Sylvia B. Rimm on Raising Kids, P.O. Box 32, Watertown, WI 53094 or srimm@sylviarimm.com. To read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate website at http://www.creators.com.

    COPYRIGHT 2011 CREATORS.COM

    • August 25, 2011 at 7:23 pm

      Thank you so much Ann! That was so thoughtful. Those are great tips. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  10. September 4, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    1To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: Ecclesiastes 3:1 KJV

    I find it interesting that there are some things that are always right or wrong. But there are other things that are right on one occasion yet wrong on another occasion, because they have to do with timing.

  11. September 5, 2012 at 2:17 am

    And as i tasted of your table of spiritual delights my heart was made full by the treasure laid before me. And though i could easily become a glutton…it was sure mean’t to eat small morsels in tender moments where their power would find a home in my spirit bringing great joy and happiness ….you are a wonderful blessing. Thanks dear sister!

    • September 5, 2012 at 2:33 am

      Thank you so much!I am so glad they blessed you.

      Blessings in Christ,
      Theresa

  12. Debbie said,

    September 5, 2012 at 6:27 am

    I loved getting to re-read this. Your posts are so full and timely and timeless! This was a great season for me to be reminded not to be aggravated or frustrated about the little stuff. . .He has a bigger game going on. God bless you, our wonderful woman of the Word! love and prayers for you and yours!

  13. jelillie said,

    September 5, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    This is such a beautiful hymn…one I have not sung in a while. Perhaps it is time to revisit it with our congregation!

    • September 5, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      I love the old hymns. They are almost always a source of sound theology, and because they are songs they can be memorized very quickly. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Blessings,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

