13 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    August 14, 2011 at 1:43 am

    Your excitement about words, their structure, and their meanings is a blessing to the rest of us!

    I’ve never heard of delight directed learning, but even as a grown-up I respond to God that way… more chocolate, less chiding, please. Wouldn’t it be great if it was always that way?

    Just tonight, fixing dinner (again), I asked God to help me, to give me wisdom and PATIENCE… then I mumbled that I probably wouldn’t listen anyway until something really bad happened. (nail polish remover?)

    Please pray for me. I’m sinking (again)…

    • August 14, 2011 at 2:00 am

      Linda, I am praying this very minute. There is a song that comes to mind. I couldn’t find a video to embed, but if you click on this link you can still listen for free:

      http://www.myspace.com/babbiemasonofficial/music/albums/standing-in-the-gap-8118728

      Here are the words:

      [Standing In The Gap]

      I heard that you were hurting

      That you were suffering pain

      But I didn’t dare just turn my head

      And look the other way
      For when your heart is aching
      My heart is aching too
      Let me help you bear your burden
      That’s the least that I can do

      I’ll be standing in the gap for you
      Just remember someone, somewhere is praying for you
      Calling out your name
      Praying for your strength
      I’ll be standing in the gap for you
      Right now you may be troubled
      But everything will work out fine
      For the Spirit knows before you speak
      What is on your heart and mind
      So I’ll be interceding
      Til your standing strong again
      The peace that passes understanding
      Is going to be yours, but until then

      So hang on my friend
      It won’t be long
      And you have the strength
      To carry on
      For when two or three are walking together
      It will be a much lighter load
      For isn’t that what a brother and a sister are for

      And don’t forget that Jesus is ever has already prayed for you and is ever interceding in prayer on your behalf (John 17 and Hebrews 7:23-25) and He is always sympathetic (Hebrews 4:15):

      10 In bringing many sons and daughters to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the pioneer of their salvation perfect through what he suffered. 11 Both the one who makes people holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers and sisters.[g] 12 He says,

      “I will declare your name to my brothers and sisters;
      in the assembly I will sing your praises.”[h]

      13 And again,

      “I will put my trust in him.”[i]

      And again he says,

      “Here am I, and the children God has given me.”[j]

      “14 Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might break the power of him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil— 15 and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death. 16 For surely it is not angels he helps, but Abraham’s descendants. 17 For this reason he had to be made like them,[k] fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. 18 Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.” Hebrews 2:14-18

      Linda, I thought of you earlier today and prayed for you. I try to remember to call my blogging friends by name when I say my prayers, because they are very precious to me.

      Love and hugs,
      Theresa

      • Linda said,

        August 21, 2011 at 1:31 pm

        Y’know, while I’m lifting up people I know who are struggling and need a friend to stand in the gap, it never ever occurs to me that someone might be praying for me, too! How wonderful… : )

        Thanks for praying for me, and reminding me the Jesus is always there to help carry the burder.

        Thanks and hugs… : )

      • August 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm

        Linda,

        you are so welcome!

        Love,
        Theresa

  2. Debbie said,

    August 15, 2011 at 2:23 am

    Thank you dear Theresa . . .wonderful woman of the Word! Is this the redone version? Or am I mistaken that this was the post a minister friend counseled you to reconsider some? Whether it is or not, I know that He uses you in a delightful way to teach us. I love learning here!
    And how you ended this post? Loved that too!
    God bless you as you continue to grow and learn with Jesus, and help us to too!

    p.s. Linda, I am lifting you up tonight too. Thank you for sharing.

    • August 15, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      Yes, this is the one I edited. There was one passage of scripture that I originally included, but later omitted because it was “iffy”. 🙂

      I am thankful that it was brought to my attention. I sometimes have a verse in mind that applies to my thoughts, but I will include more than just the one verse, so my readers will see the setting of the particular verse. Sometimes I include too much and then my meaning is obscured..

      Please pray for me that I will draw near the Lord more in prayer as I get busier. Classes start next week, and time management is a weak area of mine. Pray that the Lord will help me to not neglect my time that needs to be spent alone with Him.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        August 15, 2011 at 2:21 pm

        Praying most definitely! And Theresa . . .time management is a problem for me too. I joke that I’m time dysfunctional, but it’s not really funny and it stresses me out and Jesus doesn’t want that. He has been helping me since my house sitting stint and so I know that He will help you too! love you!

  3. Ann said,

    August 15, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Thank you, Theresa

    “We won’t always understand all of the reasons for every thing we will experience here, but we can rest in the knowledge that He uses both the delightful and the not so delightful things for our good…”

    I know I am not a fan of the ‘not so delightful’ things but I fully understand that He is working all things for my good. I try to remember this each time I hit a roadblock, or get a negative report or come across a personality that seems bent on rubbing me the wrong way. 🙂

    I wouldn’t mind being ‘candy fed’ all the time but I know that won’t be any good for me. I need to have to stuff I would rather live without so that I can grow strong and healthy in Him. Besides, it’s not like He’s leaving me on my own to sink or swim. I have His assurance that He will never leave me. Fire, Flood, Frustration or whatsoever are subject to Him anyway 🙂

    The Holy Spirit will give guidance when we miss the mark. Sometimes I don’t respond right away and yet He firmly and lovingly gets me back on track.

    While I don’t relish the chiding, I can see why it’s needed. Praying I will be eager to trust His word and direction. The more I listen and obey, the less I will walk outside His will.

    Blessings much, Theresa.
    ann

    P.S. Praying your strength and Linda’s too.
    (Babbie Mason spoke much to me during my desert period. May God bless her ministry)

    • August 15, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      Ann,
      Thank you so much for the thoughtful comment and for your prayer. I loved your reminder that no matter what the Lord will not leave us alone. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  4. December 3, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “Have you ever heard of “Delight-Directed Learning”? It is a technique sometimes used to help students learn. In a delight-directed study, a child’s interests are ignited and sustained in ways that increase his or her interest in studies.”

  5. Debbie said,

    December 4, 2014 at 1:52 am

    I loved reading and considering this all again, dear Theresa! Praying that I delight more and more in the things that delight Him!
    Love and prayers and thanks!
    Deb


Leave a Reply

