19 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    July 25, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    If your answer is “Yes, I fail to grasp certain truths from time to time.”, how does that make you feel?

    I definitely have done this before. And, it is a frightening thing to realize I’ve jumped to a generally unsupported conclusion based primarily on feelings of personal failure and some scripture references which appear to be used to make an argument which goes against what a majority of in-context passages say.

    That sort of shake-up always tempts me to take my eyes off of Jesus and the need to ask Him for direction.

    Thank you for the reminder that nothing I can do or say takes the Lord by surprise.

    .

    • July 26, 2011 at 3:00 am

      Heather don’t let that frighten you. Instead, rejoice and be exceedingly glad that the Spirit brought it to your attention…take it as a wonderful confirmation that the Lord has faithfully shown you these things, and “will” continue to do so… because you are so precious in His sight that He must lead you in the way everlasting! 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  2. Debbie said,

    July 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    I love this song and the comfort of this post, Theresa! How I need that assurance that He knows and does forgive. 🙂
    love you and am praying for you!
    deb

    • July 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

      Deb, thank you.

      I am so so glad you are praying for me. Fall isn’t even here and I already feel like I need to go on a retreat…with you and my other lady blogging friends…

      …to a place where we could munch on chicken salad sandwiches and cookies and stay up really late, and just all let our hair down and share. Then we could all comfort each other, and sing songs and pray and watch a really cute movie and then get up early in the morning and have really great coffee and all go outdoors to a place that has a beautiful view and it would miracuously be around 75 degrees and look like this:

      http://arts-wallpapers.com/DesktopWallpaper/Flowers/imagepages/image15.htm

      I found this photo online. I could just picture a pretty little picnic table nestled somewhere in that scene. Just pausing and looking at the picture and imagining it was almost like a retreat in itself! 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. Ann said,

    July 27, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Thank you, Theresa

    “His oath, His covenant, His blood,
    Support me in the whelming flood.
    When all around my soul gives way,
    He then is all my Hope and Stay.”
    There are days when the flood seems to wash my very feet from under me. So thankful that I stand firm as long as I stand in Him!

    This song holds loads of memories for me.

    The truth of who He is never changes despite the situations we find ourselves in. What a joy in knowing that He is there ready to save us as we call!!

    Thank you for always sharing the way you do. You continue to remind me of the days past when He proved Himself to us over and over again. Knowing what what we know, how can we not love and serve Him?!

    Blessings much,
    ann

  4. July 27, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I am so glad it encouraged you. The Lord eternally saved the souls of all who have ever called on Him, so they would not perish but have everlasting life, and He also continually saves them (delivers them) from the evil that can be found in many situations that they face each day. I love the Lord’s prayer. I pray it daily:

    “9After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.

    10Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

    11Give us this day our daily bread.

    12And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

    13And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen. Matthew 6:9-13”

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  5. Linda said,

    July 29, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Hi Theresa…

    I struggle with the notion that it’s okay to sin, confess, then go out and do it all again. I know we all do that sometimes but I really try to do it in the spirit of repentance. But I also know that I don’t want to stop, probably won’t. Does that make sense?

    Lucky for me, I lead a fairly boring life, my blog being the most exciting thing I do! Can’t get in too much trouble if you never leave the house!

    Thanks as always, and hugs! : )

    • July 29, 2011 at 3:06 am

      I think I understand. There are so many topics that address that. There are so many different works…some are done by the Christian and some are done either for the Christian or to the Christian by the Lord. There is so much there in your comment. I have a tendency to talk too much (ramble on) in the comment exchanges on my blog. I am trying to be a little more careful about that.

      If there is ever anything at all in my posts that seems odd or causes questions or comments to come to your mind please comment. I love to discuss these things. There is so much that I still need to learn and I learn a lot from you all.

      Hugs,
      Theresa

  6. bendedspoon said,

    July 31, 2011 at 1:08 am

    This post is perfectly meant for me today. I do not even have to ask for God to search me and see if something offensive is within. There is and I am struggling. Someone who hurt me is in pain and the words may not be coming out of my mouth but my heart is saying, “Now you know how it is to be in pain.” No, I am not rejoicing in somebody else’s pain but the level of compassion is not at its highest — my heart isn’t synchronized with the rest of myself.

    I need to recount how good the Lord is to me despite all the pains that I have caused Him. How He forgave me, saved me, and continuously love me. Oh no, I am breaking down in tears. I think I will be okay now but got to continue staying within His circle of love and give the same.

    Yours is such a comforting place Theresa. I think I just had the earlier part of the retreat. Now to continue with everyone…Hugggs and love 🙂

    • July 31, 2011 at 2:41 am

      I have been in that place where my compassion is not as high as it should be…still go there from time to time, but then the Lord convicts me and I cry out to Him and then He comforts me. Jesus loves to comfort us. 🙂

      Huggs and love to you, Rea.

  7. January 21, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    The 6th verse of the 23rd Psalm holds a promise:

    “‘Surely‘ goodness and mercy ‘shall‘ follow me ‘all’ the days of my life: and I ‘will’ dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.”

    How could David make such a claim? He did not know what he himself would do in any given moment after he uttered those words, yet he also uttered these words:

    “Before a word is on my tongue, You know all about it, LORD.“ Psalm 139:4

    He did not say “some” word or words. He said “a” word… “any” word…”every” word (both good words and bad words)

  8. Debbie said,

    January 22, 2013 at 4:52 am

    Love you and thank you for sharing this with us, at such a time as this! Dear Ann posted from Psalms 139 today too! God bless you as He knows and loves you today!

  9. Pastor Glenn said,

    January 23, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    “So David’s confidence did not hinge on any good thing he himself might do, or any bad thing he might refrain from doing. His confidence was in the Lord’s goodness…a goodness that is so good that it assured him that he would dwell in the House of the Lord forever.”

    Well said Theresa! The same David also said, “Remember your mercy, O LORD, and your steadfast love, for they have been of old. Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness.” (Psalm 25:6-7)

    Blessings,
    GG

  10. Ann said,

    January 29, 2013 at 4:01 am

    ” LORD, You have searched me and known me.”
    And despite what He knows, He loves me!!!! ….I can’t get past that. And it doesn’t matter how often I read it . 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, Dear Theresa.

    Blessings
    ann

  11. January 29, 2013 at 5:42 am

    ” And all of a sudden I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory.”

    What a beautiful song!

    ” ‘LORD, You have searched me and known me.”
    And despite what He knows, He loves me!!!! ….I can’t get past that. And it doesn’t matter how often I read it’.”

    Don’t get past that! Pray you don’t get past that, and I will pray the same thing for me. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  12. January 30, 2013 at 10:55 am

    My favorite book in the bible dear sister, Psalms! Thanks for sharing such a beautiful post…so very inspriing! God bless, and much love always dear sister!

    • January 30, 2013 at 4:43 pm

      I think the book of Psalms is probably my favorite, too. They describe the Lords, mercy and unfailing love so vividly.

      Blessings,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

