14 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    July 16, 2011 at 5:56 am

    Thank you so much for talking about chiding and discipline . . .and delight directed learning. 🙂 You blessed me with showing how God is never cruel or misguided in His discipline. There was something just so special for me, thinking about that.
    God bless you and all the ways He directs you in your delight of Him!

  2. July 16, 2011 at 6:02 am

    God bless you Deb!

    Love you much,
    Theresa

  3. Ann said,

    July 16, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Thank you for sharing, Theresa.

    I like this very much:
    “It is true that the Lord uses different approaches when it come to teaching us the things we need to learn. We won’t always understand all of the reasons for every thing we will experience here, but we can rest in the knowledge that He uses both the delightful and the not so delightful things for our good, because He delights in us.”

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. July 16, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I’m glad you liked it. I hope you have a great weekend!

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  5. Linda said,

    July 19, 2011 at 3:40 am

    “Do not despise the Lord’s instructon, and do not loathe his discipline.”

    I’m a little bit mad at God right now becuase I have had the curse of Alzheimer’s Diseased dumped on me and I don’t think I deserve it.

    I know he will teach me all that I need to know, but I don’t want to do it. It’s too hard, too depressing, and sometimes I wish I could wake up in somebody elses life.

    Yikes. That sounds pretty harsh. Thanks for always being a good listener!

    Hugs to you, Theresa… : )

    • July 19, 2011 at 4:21 am

      Linda, I feel so bad about what you are going through. I know that this post of mine is about chiding/chastisement. But not all suffering and hardships are the result of sin. Do you remember the story about the blind man that was healed?

      “Jesus Heals a Man Born Blind

      1 As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. 2 His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”
      3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. 4 As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. 5 While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

      6 After saying this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. 7 “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam” (this word means “Sent”). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing.” John 9:1-7

      I just want you to know that I care. I wish so badly that you lived nearby, so we could have a cup of coffee. I have been praying and will keep praying. You can vent to me any time. I would be terrified if I were in your shoes…because I am a big baby when it comes to stuff like that.

      Love,
      Theresa

  6. Debbie said,

    July 19, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Just jumping in here. Missing me some Theresa time and Linda time too.
    Linda . . .it doesn’t sound harsh to me, it sounds real. Thank you for being real. When my daughter was still in public school, and things were getting nasty . . .and I don’t do nasty very well or handle it well either . . .I think I told someone the same thing. I just wished I was someone else, somewhere else. Love to you and prayers too. I wish you didn’t have to do this, but that’s not going to help you. So I will pray for Him to strengthen you and give you all you need each moment of the day as you live in it.
    love, deb

    Theresa , your blog is better than facebook. 🙂 Thank you! Love to you and yours and God bless your open-heart for Him.
    deb

    • July 19, 2011 at 4:23 am

      Deb you are such a sweet heart. You and Linda both are. I am so thankful for my sisters in the Lord. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        July 19, 2011 at 11:34 pm

        Don’t be too hard on yourself, Theresa. None of us saw anything questionable or wrong! We know your heart and read it how you intend it. . ..with love and love of Him. God bless you, dear wonderful woman of the Word.
        love in Jesus!
        deb

  7. July 19, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Deb, Ann, and Linda:

    I have a very kind friend who is a minister who questioned me about some of the content of this post. When I went back and read it I saw that the construction of some of my sentences made it seem like I was saying some things that I never intended to say. I always go back and proof read several times, but somehow I failed to do that effectively in this post.

    In light of that I deleted it all and will rewrite it (Lord willing) later. Please accept my apology. I will try to be more careful in the future.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • Ann said,

      July 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm

      Theresa,

      I have been turning this over in my mind.

      I can’t add much to what Deb said… I can’t recall seeing anything wrong with your posting – I don’t comment for the sake of commenting and if I had seen a red flag I would have sought clarification. I generally enjoy your posts and the way your passion for Him shines through in your writings.

      I may not have seen any ‘question marks’ but I appreciate your desire to always reflect His direction in what you present to us. Thankful you have a dear friend who could help you see a different perspective (even though we didn’t) 🙂

      God bless you as you seek to live His will.

      blessings much,
      ann

  8. July 21, 2011 at 12:23 am

    I copied and pasted the portion that I deleted into my drafts. I made some grammatical errors in some sentences that could have caused someone who was reading to misunderstand. You all have read so much of my posts that you probably have a feel for my writing, and would interpret in light of other things I’ve written where a stranger might interpret differently. I will edit it and repost it (Lord willing as soon as I can.

    My husband hurt his back again today so I have some chores to do tonight. Please keep us in your prayers. Thank you so much.

    Love,
    Theresa

  9. bendedspoon said,

    July 23, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Bless the Lord for His wonderful creations such as you Theresa. Your place has been a haven of love, understanding, and acceptance. God’s heart and yours are all over.

    This post blessed me so much. I have gone through delight-directed and not so delight-directed learning and the only thing that keeps me going especially on those not so delightful moments is the thought that behind everything is a loving God. That I am like a child who might not grasp the importance of the extent of discipline but trust that with real love comes utmost concern.

    Hugggs and love to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

