19 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    July 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Thanks Theresa 🙂

    “We might be saved in one moment but we need to be transformed daily, moment by moment”
    Mind renewal – the ongoing process… David was not called ‘after God’s own heart’ because he was sinless…

    Your comment below is giving me much fodder 🙂
    ““How would I feel if someone witnessed me at an inconvenient moment, and then defined me by that moment?””
    This has me thinking : what do I allow to define me? How do I define others?

    Thanks for provoking thought! Off to chew.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • July 13, 2011 at 12:43 am

      “Mind renewal – the ongoing process… David was not called ‘after God’s own heart’ because he was sinless…”

      Ann, that is so true.

      Don’t forget that only the Lord can truly define us…we can’t even define ourselves completely, because our hearts can be deceptive, but the Lord searches and knows us and is acquainted with all of our ways. He is our Potter and He knows what we were, what we are now, and what we will be one day when He takes us home, because we are His workmanship. Anyone else’s evaluation will always be inaccurate. If we have received the Lord as our Savior we, too can confidently say “Surely goodness and mercy will follow us all the days of our lives and we will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.(Psalm 23:6) If David wasn’t presumptuous, then we aren’t either. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  2. Guest said,

    July 12, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I will remember this.

    • July 13, 2011 at 12:45 am

      I pray that it will bless you and encourage you. Thank you for stopping by.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  3. Debbie said,

    July 13, 2011 at 3:18 am

    How I love this, Theresa! I have just come from a time like you mentioned, where my good happy moment thoughts kept getting interrupted. ugh. I tend to usually forget the bad stuff about others. Need to work on not remembering my bad moments and letting them define me! Thinking about being defined by the moment I went to the cross . . .thank you for such a special truth in that!
    God bless you, dear woman of the word!
    love, deb

    • July 13, 2011 at 8:33 am

      I reposted this because I have a friend who recently preached a message that included some thoughts on selective memory. He told me he was going to check my blog out, and I was hoping he might see this one. 🙂

      God bless you Deb.

      Love,
      Theresa

  4. Linda said,

    July 13, 2011 at 3:38 am

    OMGosh, Theresa… I have moments like that, too. Things the old me used to enjoy, and when the moment hits I like to linger there awhile. Shameful, but hard to resist.

    “… cry out to our loving Savior…” Yes, eventually… but I secretly say, I will give this to you God, but I’d like to linger there a few more days. I think I get where you’re coming from… as usual.

    “… transformed daily…” a good reminder for us all. Thank you, and hugs… : )

    • July 13, 2011 at 8:48 am

      “OMGosh, Theresa… I have moments like that, too. Things the old me used to enjoy, and when the moment hits I like to linger there awhile. Shameful, but hard to resist.”

      You know, I was just thinking of painful memories when I wrote this, but I can identify with what you said…happens to me, too, and at the oddest moments. Sometimes I abruptly stop when I realize what I’m doing. Other times I linger awhile. I hate it when that happens because it causes me to feel distant in my fellowship with the Lord. Then when I want to call on Him I struggle with shame and a little fear…want to run and hide and find myself some fig leaves. A friend once told me when you feel ashamed and like running from the Lord run to Him instead and just pour your heart out. He is an unchanging God. He will always want to catch you up in His arms…will even throw a party to celebrate the moment. 🙂

      20 So he got up and went to his father.”But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.

      21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

      22 “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. 23 Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. 24 For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate. Luke 15:20-24

      Love and hugs,

      Theresa

  5. Heather said,

    July 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    It is interesting how we can assume that God is like us in the way He handles our sin against him or memories of past wrongs done to Him by us.

    Your final paragraph offers such a good reminder that we are in a long-term relationship with Christ…one that is to be maintained moment by moment throughout life.

    • July 15, 2011 at 3:01 am

      I am so thankful the Lord wipes them out (Psalm 103)

      Yes, we can be saved where eternity is concerned, but if we don’t obey His calls to us to draw near Him in prayer and study we will lack both peace and good judgement, and consequently miss out on so many of the spiritual blessings that were meant for us to experience in our lifetimes here on the earth.

      I am glad that you were edified. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  6. pbus1 said,

    July 16, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Hello Theresa,

    It’s been a while since I stopped by, but wanted you to know that I liked the thought shared on this post. Thank you. Have a great weekend.

    Paulette

    • July 16, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      It is great to hear from you, Paulette! I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  7. October 23, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    “I am thinking about moments.

    We do like to capture moments; both good and bad…”

  8. October 23, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    Theresa, this is a wonderful way to think, believe and live. Yes, it’s that moment at the cross that defines us–now robed in white. I want to remember this the next time a “memory moment” comes to mind. Thank you.
    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy

    • October 23, 2015 at 5:30 pm

      Thank you, Wendy.

      I just thought of something. It has to do with time and space…. and sorrow. Here we are able to so quickly respond to one another in spite of the fact that you are way up in Canada, and I have only one state (Louisiana) separating me (in Arkansas) from the Gulf of Mexico. 🙂 This post of mine is a re-blog of a re-blog originally posted in 2010. I was in a very different place when I wrote this…a higher place so to speak.

      I cannot tell you how much your tender heart and discerning spirit has ministered to me in these recent months. I suffered a profound loss about a year and a half ago. However, the Lord’s tender mercies have been constant both when I was aware of them and when I wasn’t.

      Restoration is something that could still happen during my lifetime here, or it might not happen until I arrive in heaven. Pray for me that I will continually turn to the Lord and yield to Him in the meantime.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • October 23, 2015 at 8:34 pm

        Hugs.
        Theresa, I will pray for you, and I also covet your prayers in return that I will continue to trust God fully and know and understand the depth and width of His Love. The more we believe and receive the Lord’s love, the more fear is cast aside. I don’t know how anyone can live without Him. I need Him every hour. Dear friend, we are so blessed to believe. xo

  9. October 24, 2015 at 1:11 am

    Wendy, I will pray. Thank you so much for your prayers your blog and your friendship.

  10. Debbie said,

    October 24, 2015 at 2:01 am

    Thank you , wonderful woman of the Word, for reminding me that we are transformed daily, that it is a process! Praying for you tender moments with your Lord!
    Love and prayers and thanks!
    Deb

    • October 24, 2015 at 11:11 am

      Deb, the Lord has used you mightily in my life for so long. Words fail me…I am just so thankful for you…it makes me cry.

      Love,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

