4 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    June 25, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Oh boy, Theresa. . .did you HAVE to post this? haha! God is using this to show me something about telling the wrong person the wrong thing. . .which happened to me recently. I may feel like I need to tell someone something, but I really need to go to Him first and see what He says and who He says I can share about it with. sigh. I think He’s been over this a hundred times with me. Oh the patience of our God!
    Thank you so much, wonderful woman of the Word, for being His gentle voice to me today, reminding me that He knows and always listens . . .and that may need to be all the further it goes.
    God bless you as you tell instead, all about Jesus! Still blessed by your time when spontaneous praising broke out!
    love,
    deb

    • June 25, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      Aw Deb…boy I surely know how that feels. I tell when I shouldn’t sometimes. Praise Jesus for His mercy and grace!

      “God bless you as you tell instead, all about Jesus! Still blessed by your time when spontaneous praising broke out!”

      Are you referring to the time I put my car in the shop? That was such a wonderful moment. Isn’t it wonderful How He is always with His children and the unique ways that He gathers them together to praise Him in one accord! Oh how unsearchable are His ways…past our finding out!

      I just love your precious perspective…what the Lord shows you when you go to the word…especially The Old Testament. He shows you glimpses of His attributes and of His perfectly loving heart. Then you in turn faithfully share your loaves and fishes with the multitude! God bless you Gracious, Generous Deb, Woman of Love!

      Love,
      Theresa

  2. Heather said,

    June 26, 2011 at 2:32 am

    I pray the Lord will help me to bridle my tongue….and my mind.

    Oh, this is my prayer as well! Truly, the battle is waged in the heart and mind well before the unwholesome speech ever reaches the tongue!

    Drawing near to the Lord really is the only defense a believer has, too. Flesh-reliant “will power” fails miserably when the temptation to “speak my mind” rears it’s ugly head.

    Knowing Jesus intimately and overflowing with His Spirit is so much more fulfilling than spreading unflattering (even if they are true) stories about other people!

  3. June 26, 2011 at 3:12 am

    “Knowing Jesus intimately and overflowing with His Spirit is so much more fulfilling than spreading unflattering (even if they are true) stories about other people!”

    Aren’t those wonderful moments? 🙂 You know what really makes me glad? It makes me so glad that He delights in healing the spiritually sick. He is the great physician. He Loves to forgive, and to make us whole. He doesn’t ask the lepers to stay away He seeks them out. He seeks me out:

    “1In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the LORD sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple.

    2Above it stood the seraphims: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly.

    3And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, is the LORD of hosts: the whole earth is full of his glory.

    4And the posts of the door moved at the voice of him that cried, and the house was filled with smoke.

    5Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.

    6Then flew one of the seraphims unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar:

    7And he laid it upon my mouth, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin purged. Isaiah 6:1-7”

    “6Seek ye the LORD while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:

    7Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the LORD, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.

    8For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

    9For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

    10For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater:

    11So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

    12For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.

    13Instead of the thorn shall come up the fir tree, and instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle tree: and it shall be to the LORD for a name, for an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.” Isaiah 55:6-13

    “Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy lovingkindness: according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies blot out my transgressions.

    2Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.

    3For I acknowledge my transgressions: and my sin is ever before me.

    4Against thee, thee only, have I sinned, and done this evil in thy sight: that thou mightest be justified when thou speakest, and be clear when thou judgest.

    5Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me.

    6Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward parts: and in the hidden part thou shalt make me to know wisdom.

    7Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

    8Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice.

    9Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities.

    10Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

    11Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me.

    12Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.

    13Then will I teach transgressors thy ways; and sinners shall be converted unto thee.”

    We sin, we’re convicted, we cry out, we are washed, and restored. We ask for strength and He strengthens, and as time marches on we actually experience victorious moments and in increasing measure, but because we walk in the light we still see our sin. It casts a shadow that makes it hard to see all the progress we really are making…that the Lord is making in us. We are all in the same boat. 🙂


Leave a Reply

