12 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    June 7, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    Thank you, Theresa! This is something that I need to remember often! What a blessing you are to share it with us and make our days all be mother’s day.
    God bless you and all you do for Him.
    love, deb

    • June 7, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      God Bless you, too, Deb! This is dedicated to all my blogging friends who are moms. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  2. Ann said,

    June 8, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Thank you, Theresa

    Sometimes we do forget the impact of the ‘little things’

    What Deb said.

    Blessings,
    ann

  3. bendedspoon said,

    June 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    It’s so heartwarming to know and challenging at the same time that we are a channel of blessings to our family. There may be times that we feel like quitting but life isn’t meaningful without being of service to others and where else to begin it but at home — with the family.

    Prior to having my own family I only saw my Mama as a good mother/wife but now that I am a mom/wife myself it all changed — she’s such a great mother/wife!

    Thank you Theresa for sharing this. God bless you for being a great mom/wife 🙂

  4. Heather said,

    June 10, 2011 at 2:01 am

    This really is a lovely contemplation! How often I have fretted that I’m not doing enough for the Lord because I’m home most of the time with the children instead of passing out Bible tracts or working in an orphanage or with homeless people.

    While I know it is always desirable to be looking for ways to serve the poor or hungry or fatherless, I forget that the call to know Christ personally and offer my faithful service in everyday life is foundational. I’m not sure why I tend to think I need to be doing “big things” if I have not yet mastered the “little things”.

    • June 10, 2011 at 2:31 am

      Heather,

      Would you like to know something? I was watching t.v., and decided I wanted to come in here and get on the computer, and before I got in here my thoughts went to you. I have had you on my mind off and on all day…you are too hard on yourself. Would you like to know how I know that? It takes one to know one. 🙂

      If I had to slap a denominational label on myself I guess I would say that I am basically a little Baptist girl from Arkansas, but I did recently spend some time off and on over the past 3 years in an Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. They really stressed learning the catechisms in the Westminster Confession of Faith which is no small undertaking. I don’t remember a lot but there was one thing I definitely agreed with…with all of my heart…never forgot it:

      “Q. 82. Is any man able perfectly to keep the commandments of God?

      A. No mere man, since the fall, is able in this life perfectly to keep the commandments of God, but doth daily break them in thought, word, and deed [a].
      [a]. Gen. 8:21; Rom. 3:9ff, 23”

      We do that by thinking, saying, and doing what we should not, and by failing to think, say and do what the Lord would have us to think say and do.

      But up until 1999 I did not realize this was true for Christians. I had been taught things about “The New Creature” that were incorrect, and caused a whole lot of hurt to my soul.

      In spite of what I have learned over the years I still fall into that trap of condemnation. It is very good to strive to be the best that you can be out of a heart that longs to hear the words “Well done thy good and faithful servant”. It is also good to be honest about what our flesh can be like, and willing to confess our faults one to another, but we must never forget how precious we are in His sight.

      Love,
      Theresa

  5. Heather said,

    June 10, 2011 at 3:47 am

    Thank you, Theresa. I much appreciate your kind words of encouragement.

    It is interesting that you would bring up the dual nature of the believer. About the time I discovered your blog, I ran into some teaching that emphasized the verse in 1 John that states that a believer does not sin. The way it was presented was as though a true Christian eventually becomes “sinless” in this life rather than gaining victory over revealed sin that has been repented of. Then, nearly everywhere I looked, that perspective seemed to repeat itself. The fact that I still struggle in so many areas has really shaken me up.

    I probably am too hard on myself and need to remember that my sins are not uniquely more sinful than anyone else’s.

    Anyway, thank you again. The past few years have been really rough as it seems I lose my spiritual balance almost as quickly as I find it.

    • June 10, 2011 at 4:09 am

      “The way it was presented was as though a true Christian eventually becomes “sinless” in this life rather than gaining victory over revealed sin that has been repented of. Then, nearly everywhere I looked, that perspective seemed to repeat itself. The fact that I still struggle in so many areas has really shaken me up.”

      This teaching that a true Christian eventually becomes “sinless” in this lifetime on the earth was in the Nazarene Church I attended for about a year back in the mid 90’s. It is called “entire sanctification”. I had a long talk with the pastor there about it. It basically is the idea that it is a second work of grace after salvation that can happen either instantaneously or progressively, and once it has been worked that Christian will not sin again during their life time here on the earth. I remember that even though I did not believe in Eternal Security or Perseverance of the Saints (whichever name you give it) at that time I still was shocked that anyone could believe “Entire Sanctification”.

      When you say “every where I looked, that perspective seemed to repeat itself.” do you mean every church, or every place you looked in the Bible? Oh Heather, that is so sad…it undermines the believer’s peace. What I believed was just as bad, though…thought I was God’s little “Foster Child”…didn’t understand the significance of my adoption.

      I understand about the struggle. The enemy still works on me trying to tell me I have been disqualified one way or another…he is good at doing that no matter what theology you hold. It is rough.

      God Bless you, Heather.

  6. Heather said,

    June 10, 2011 at 4:51 am

    When you say “every where I looked, that perspective seemed to repeat itself.” do you mean every church, or every place you looked in the Bible?

    My husband knows someone who is drawn to Seventh Day Adventism. This individual shared several tracts and papers with him in order to get some feedback. I read someof them and the view presented was very similar to what you called “entire sanctification”. After reading some online commentary which also emphasized sinlessness, I seemed to be magnetically drawn to select Bible passages which appear to say the same thing.
    The concept that I am a “foster child” rather than “adopted child” has taken hold in my heart as well and every failure starts me worrying that I’ll be rejected for having sinned one too many times.

    The really frustrating part is that these things mainly pull on my emotions rather than influence my intellectual understanding of what the greater portion of Scripture says when read in context.

    The enemy still works on me trying to tell me I have been disqualified one way or another…he is good at doing that no matter what theology you hold. It is rough.

    I pray that the Lord will continue to strengthen you as you seek His truth.

    It is comforting to recall Jesus’ own words that He never turns away any who come to Him and that “seventy times seven” forgiveness was not simply an instruction to His followers but the reality of God’s forgiveness.

    • June 10, 2011 at 10:30 am

      “I pray that the Lord will continue to strengthen you as you seek His truth.

      It is comforting to recall Jesus’ own words that He never turns away any who come to Him and that “seventy times seven” forgiveness was not simply an instruction to His followers but the reality of God’s forgiveness.”

      Thank you Heather.


Leave a Reply

