12 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    May 31, 2011 at 3:53 am

    You put so much into your posts, Theresa. You take such care with His word and how you share it with us. I just love that. 🙂
    I also sat up when you shared how mouth was different that stomach. Yes! I would’ve missed that. And my how that changed the whole perspective of what was being said. How filling our mouths with His word will renew us. Precious post, dear lady . . .woman of the word! (see why I named you that? )
    Praying that I do fill my mouth with His good word, and that is also what proceeds out of it!
    love you and am so thankful for you!
    deb

    • May 31, 2011 at 4:02 am

      I am so excited that you understood what I was getting at! I just love it when scripture leads to scripture and treasures are uncovered. And I love your poems. They bless me so much. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

      P.S. I am glad that you have a picture now so I can catch a glimpse of your pretty face. 🙂

      • Debbie said,

        May 31, 2011 at 4:13 am

        You are too much! 🙂 I had to take the picture myself . . .and try to crop as much of it as possible. teehee. Next week, there might just be a shot of my scraggly hair showing. ha! But, I’m so thankful to Him for helping me take time to figure out how to do something that I didn’t know how to do before. And I love to see you and others that give me a glimpse of themselves too. . .so thought I should do likewise!
        God bless you sweet one!

  2. Ann said,

    June 1, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Thank you, Theresa

    I still maintain… 🙂

    God bless you!! What Deb said about how you share His words.

    As I read I thought of the scripture that says the mouth speaks from the overflow of the heart. The mouth seems to be a door of sorts … we really ought to be careful how we treat it.

    Blessings,
    ann

  3. June 1, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    God Bless you, too. That is a good verse. I think about that from time to time. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  4. bendedspoon said,

    June 4, 2011 at 9:04 am

    “Never assume that you know everything.” That’s what came to mind when I read how you dissected each word and surely it came out clearer to me. “God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.” I need to hear that especially now that I am so overwhelmed with a lot of things to do and the devil trying to grab my attention inviting me into depression. Good that I can’t afford to give in!

    ” 1Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives;

    2While they behold your chaste conversation coupled with fear.”

    I seem to only understand the call for subjection to one’s husband but not the rest of the verse. Please dissect it Teacher Theresa. Love you! 🙂

    • June 4, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      Rea,

      It is so good to hear from you! The Lord truly is the strength of our hearts, and that makes me so glad, because He is so strong.

      I am praying for you that the Lord will protect you from the devil’s attacks. Depression and anxiety are so hard. Then there are the plain old difficulties that we meet every day…they are so much harder to cope with when we are weary.

      Let me explain a little about the Bible verses. First I want to say that I use the King James Version a lot for a number of reasons. One reason is for a number of years I attended churches that only used the King James Version. As a result, most of the Bible verses that I have memorized are in that version. When I am having devotions phrases come to my mind from those verses. Another reason that I use the King James Version so much is because I am a romantic woman who likes to read poetry. I like things that are spoken in ways that remind me of William Shakespeare. Whenever I read the Psalms, the King James Version is my very favorite. 🙂

      Sometimes I forget that the King James Version’s old fashioned English can be hard to understand sometimes. I will need to be more careful to include other versions of the Bible more often in the future. My cousin, who is a minister, has mentioned that he does not care for the King James Version. His favorite version is the Holman Christian Standard Bible.

      Okay, let’s look at those two verses again:

      ” 1Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives;

      2While they behold your chaste conversation coupled with fear. 1 Peter 3:1-2”

      Here are the same two verses in a few other versions of the Bible:

      1 Wives, in the same way submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, 2 when they see the purity and reverence of your lives. (This is the New International Version)

      1 Wives, (A) in the same way, submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, even if some disobey the [Christian] message, (B) they may be won over (C) [a] without a message by the way their wives live, (D) 2 when they observe your pure, reverent lives. (E) (This is the Holman Christian Standard Bible version)

      1Likewise, wives,(A) be subject to your own husbands, so that(B) even if some do not obey the word,(C) they may be won without a word by the conduct of their wives, 2when they see your(D) respectful and pure conduct. (This is the English Standard Version)

      1IN LIKE manner, you married women, be submissive to your own husbands [subordinate yourselves as being secondary to and dependent on them, and adapt yourselves to them], so that even if any do not obey the Word [of God], they may be won over not by discussion but by the [godly] lives of their wives,
      2When they observe the pure and modest way in which you conduct yourselves, together with your [a] reverence [for your husband; you are to feel for him all that reverence includes: to respect, defer to, revere him–to honor, esteem, appreciate, prize, and, in the human sense, to adore him, that is, to admire, praise, be devoted to, deeply love, and enjoy your husband]. ( This is taken from the Amplified Bible)

      As I was reading these different translations both an old fashioned saying and some more Bible verses came to my mind.

      Here is the saying:

      “Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words.”- St. Francis of Assisi

      Here are some passages of scripture that apply:

      1 There is an occasion for everything,
      and a time for every activity under heaven: (A)
      2 a time to give birth and a time to die; (B)
      a time to plant and a time to uproot; [a]

      3 a time to kill and a time to heal;
      a time to tear down and a time to build;

      4 a time to weep and a time to laugh; (C)
      a time to mourn and a time to dance; (D)

      5 a time to throw stones and a time to gather stones; (E)
      a time to embrace and a time to avoid embracing; (F)

      6 a time to search and a time to count as lost;
      a time to keep and a time to throw away;

      7 a time to tear and a time to sew;
      a time to be silent and a time to speak; (G)

      8 a time to love and a time to hate;
      a time for war and a time for peace. (H) Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

      15But in your hearts set Christ apart as holy [and acknowledge Him] as Lord. Always be ready to give a logical defense to anyone who asks you to account for the hope that is in you, but do it courteously and respectfully.(A) 1 Peter 3:15 ( the Amplified Bible)

      11 so My word that comes from My mouth
      will not return to Me empty,
      but it will accomplish what I please,
      and will prosper in what I send it [to do].” (O) Isaiah 55:11 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

      Then he said to me, “This is the word of the LORD to(H) Zerubbabel:(I) Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the LORD of hosts. Zechariah 4:6 (English Standard Version)

      13And lead (bring) us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen. Matthew 6:13 (the Amplified Bible)

      Rea, I know this comment of mine was awfully long. I hope the scriptures I shared will encourage your heart as much as they encouraged mine.

      Much Love and big hugs, to you my precious and dear friend,

      Theresa

  5. bendedspoon said,

    June 5, 2011 at 1:03 am

    This blessed me so much though you made me cry! I think I love my hubby more not because of what he has done or not but because of what God commanded me to do, to honor him as my husband. It’s hard to hate someone whom you honor 😉 God bless you for enlightening me 🙂

    • June 5, 2011 at 1:35 am

      I am so glad the Lord loves us. We have Him, and He puts people in our lives that comfort and encourage us like He does.

      God bless you, Rea

  6. June 8, 2016 at 4:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    “In Psalm 34:8 we have “taste and see”… We must sample or try in order to see… to perceive. When I pause and consider that, it causes me to think about “Who satisfieth thy mouth” from Psalm 103 and I get that the part of us that tries things, that considers things is satisfied. The Lord is good, and His word is good. It is not bitter, and it does nourish. The Lord is my portion and if I take the time to contemplate that I will always find that He is good…”

    • Debbie said,

      June 12, 2016 at 2:08 pm

      Thank you so much for sharing this again! He has given you such a gift, the way you know His word and how it comes to mind and then you share it, to comfort and encourage us!
      Love you!
      Deb

      • June 12, 2016 at 10:58 pm

        Thank you so much, Deb! I believe you have that gift, too.

        Love and Blessings,
        Theresa


Leave a Reply

