16 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    May 23, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    Theresa,

    I really don’t feel I have the words to adequately describe how this post spoke to my heart.

    They are troubled as to the question of their daily sins, as if these were disposed of upon a different ground from their past sins.

    Indeed, this belief is quite prevalent in some Christian circles…However subtle, the teaching is that the believer in Christ (with the help of the Holy Spirit) must maintain one’s own good standing before the Lord, but that doesn’t quite match such passagesas the ones you have cited concerning the Lord’s faithfulness and ability to cleanse us.

    Whether or not one subscribes to the view that we must maintain our own state of salvation, the influence of the teaching is quite powerful in its ability to produce a “much cast down and sorely beset” response in my heart when I can see the reality of my sinfulness.

    This article is a beautiful reminder that the foundation and source of my claim to righteousness is always and ever in Christ’s perfection and not my own.

    Thank you!

    • May 23, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      “Whether or not one subscribes to the view that we must maintain our own state of salvation, the influence of the teaching is quite powerful in its ability to produce a “much cast down and sorely beset” response in my heart when I can see the reality of my sinfulness.”

      Heather, I really identify with these words. Prior to 1999 I held that view, because it was taught in the churches I had attended. It is a view that places one in a most miserable state where he or she is tempted to either give up trying to live for the Lord or to deceive oneself and not admit they sin.

      I am so glad you were encouraged.

      Love,
      Theresa

  2. Debbie said,

    May 23, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    What you have written has indeed encouraged my heart. 🙂 I think that God has brought you to Mackintosh. His writings are very to the point of our questions. I loved this of his, Theresa. . .”All is an eternal now with God.”
    The healing part was particularly encouraging too! 🙂 It can get more complicated than I think He intended it. He forgives us, is working for our good, healing and restoring us. Amen!
    love you! God bless you and the Word that He has you bring to us.
    deb

    • May 23, 2011 at 11:45 pm

      Deb, you encourage many every day! I am so thankful the Lord has brought us together through blogging. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. May 23, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Theresa, Thank you for sharing this wonderful post! I’ve not read Mackintosh before, but I may have to get some of his writings. As I read this, I kept thinking of the song “It is well with my soul.” My favorite verse is:

    My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
    My sin, not in part but the whole,
    Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
    Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

    This Jars of Clay version is one of my favorites:

    Peace, Linda

    • May 23, 2011 at 11:52 pm

      Linda,

      It might be hard for you to get them in print, but here is a link where you can read many of his writings:

      http://stempublishing.com/authors/mackintosh/

      That is a very neat version of that hymn. I have a feeling my husband will love it. I am behind the times when it comes to Christian music. Thank you for sharing the link to the song. By the way, that is my favorite verse, too. It applies perfectly. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  4. Ann said,

    May 24, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Thanks, Theresa

    This was the message in church yesterday!! (He didn’t start out here … He started in St Matthew 24 and ended up speaking on the woman caught in adultery).

    It is easier to cast the stones when we’re not the ones on trial. Thankful that His forgiveness is free to all who are ready to accept it.

    I am thankful for the sea of His forgetfulness and the fact that my sins are buried there. I may have to live with the consequences of poor decisions but I don’t have to live with the guilt anymore!

    Blessings,
    ann

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. June 2, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Thank you for this post! I will definitely save that link and read that whole piece. That is something with which I struggled for quite a while. The Lord is so merciful, and His forgiveness is so far beyond what I could imagine! He truly is able to save to the uttermost! Thanks!

    Ben

  6. bendedspoon said,

    June 4, 2011 at 9:40 am

    All I know is it’s easier to move on and do things right when I know that I am forgiven. Only God is capable of forgiving us and not want us to carry the guilt and hold us in our growth for His glory. His forgiveness alone is healing and even the pains are healing — if only we see the real sickness in us that the pain is curing. Huggs and love to you 🙂

    • June 4, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Rea,

      I understand. The Lord does allow his children to suffer. I am thankful that He has promised that He would not allow our suffering to become so bad that we cannot bear it:

      “13For no temptation (no trial regarded as enticing to sin), [no matter how it comes or where it leads] has overtaken you and laid hold on you that is not common to man [that is, no temptation or trial has come to you that is beyond human resistance and that is not [b]adjusted and [c]adapted and belonging to human experience, and such as man can bear]. But God is faithful [to His Word and to His compassionate nature], and He [can be trusted] not to let you be tempted and tried and assayed beyond your ability and strength of resistance and power to endure, but with the temptation He will [always] also provide the way out (the means of escape to [d]a landing place), that you may be capable and strong and powerful to bear up under it patiently.” 1 Corinthians 10:13 (Amplified Bible)

      He throws our sins into the deepest part of the ocean, so He cannot see them. We should do the same, so we won’t have to look at our sins once we have confessed them to the Lord and asked for His forgiveness. 🙂

      “18 Who is a God like you,
      who pardons sin and forgives the transgression
      of the remnant of his inheritance?
      You do not stay angry forever
      but delight to show mercy.
      19 You will again have compassion on us;
      you will tread our sins underfoot
      and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.” Micah 7:18-19 (New International Version)

      “14Like a twittering swallow or a crane, so do I chirp and chatter; I moan like a dove. My eyes are weary and dim with looking upward. O Lord, I am oppressed; take my side and be my security [as of a debtor being sent to prison].

      15But what can I say? For He has both spoken to me and He Himself has done it. I must go softly [as in solemn procession] all my years and my sleep has fled because of the bitterness of my soul.

      16O Lord, by these things men live; and in all these is the life of my spirit. O give me back my health and make me live!

      17Behold, it was for my peace that I had intense bitterness; but You have loved back my life from the pit of corruption and nothingness, for You have cast all my sins behind Your back.” Isaiah 38:14-17 (Amplified Bible)

      ” 26 “Therefore, (AC) don’t be afraid of them, since there is nothing covered that won’t be uncovered, and nothing hidden that won’t be made known. (AD) 27 What I tell you in the dark, speak in the light. What you hear in a whisper, [j] proclaim on the housetops. (AE) 28 Don’t fear those who kill the body but are not able to kill the soul; (AF) rather, fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell. (AG) 29 Aren’t two sparrows sold for a penny? [k] Yet not one of them falls to the ground without your Father’s (AH) consent. [l] 30 But even the hairs of your head have all been counted. (AI) 31 Don’t be afraid therefore; you are worth more than many sparrows. (AJ” Matthew 10:26-31 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

      ” 14But Zion [Jerusalem, her people as seen in captivity] said, The Lord has forsaken me, and my Lord has forgotten me.

      15[And the Lord answered] Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? Yes, they may forget, yet I will not forget you.

      16Behold, I have indelibly imprinted (tattooed a picture of) you on the palm of each of My hands; [O Zion] your walls are continually before Me.” Isaiah 49:14-16 (Amplified Bible)

      I hope these verses bless you the same way that both your blog, and your comments bless me! 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  7. bendedspoon said,

    June 5, 2011 at 1:06 am

    It does! Only what I can bear… Got to remember that and focus my energy on praise before complaining 🙂

  8. June 2, 2016 at 5:15 pm

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    Sometimes we see something that really blesses us but we over time lose sight of it. Then years later find it again just when we need it most. I hope this encourages anyone who might be struggling with assurance.

    • Debbie said,

      June 6, 2016 at 6:40 am

      Thank you for reblogging this ! What an awesome series! :).
      Love and prayers!
      Deb

      • June 6, 2016 at 4:21 pm

        I am so glad you are enjoying it, Deb!

        Love and Blessings,
        Theresa


Leave a Reply

