10 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    April 9, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Thanks, Theresa 🙂

    “This should serve as a warning to us that all of us are vulnerable…things that should be black and white can be blended into a murky shade of grey when we lean to our own understanding.”

    Amen. Information we need to keep at the front of our minds at all times. Sometimes we don’t always remember until we trip up. Praying we’ll truly allow Him to order our steps and steer us away from the things that are not pleasing to Him.

    Thanks again for sharing. Looking forward to more!

    Blessings,
    ann

    • April 9, 2011 at 2:38 am

      You are right. I just hate it when I trip up. The odd thing is that I always trip over the same things. I have a speed bump in my neighborhood. I have learned to drive really slowly when I go over it. But the speed bumps in my mind that should keep me from thinking sour thoughts, etc. I just fly right over at full speed. Then I hit the bump and am so upset with myself, and have to tell the Lord I am sorry and ask Him to help me to think thoughts that are pleasing instead. I hope in time I will do better, but I sure am glad He is forgiving and merciful. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  2. Debbie said,

    April 9, 2011 at 6:32 am

    I so loved and really was ministered to by this, Theresa. You always have a way of knowing, it seems. 🙂 The speed bump comparison spoke to me too!!! I know things are coming – those bumps are plain! Thanks for showing that David, who was a man after God’s heart, also flew over a few speed bumps. It helps me not lose heart, but trust Him to transform and change me more.
    God bless you, woman of the Word, and thank you for your prayers for me/us!
    love, deb

    • April 9, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      I am so glad this post ministered to you. We just have to keep praying. There are so many things that threaten to undermine our peace, and our peace is so precious.

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. April 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    The 51st Psalm is one of my favorites. I have read it over and over and over again. “This should serve as a warning to us that all of us are vulnerable…things that should be black and white can be blended into a murky shade of grey when we lean to our own understanding.” That has to be one of the best statements on this subject that I have ever heard. When we look to our own understanding, we can justify almost anything to ourselves. Forgiveness comes when we acknowledge that we have sinned against God. But sometimes, like David found out, that is the hardest part. I like Job 33:27-28. Great post- thanks!

    In Christ,
    Ben

    • April 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

      Thank you Ben.

      This account taken from the life of David teaches so many valuable lessons to me. It teaches me that even God’s blood bought children can go astray and as a result have their heart “somewhat” hardened, have their understanding become “somewhat” darkened, and stumble. Then as a result of those things occurring those children can be sorely chastened. But even while in that miserably sinful state they are still His blood bought children. It makes me so glad that we have an unchanging Savior. Even while David was in that horrible state the Lord was so concerned that He sent Nathan to open David’s eyes, to make David aware of what he had become too blind to see himself. The result of that work that the Lord did “first” caused David to have a broken and contrite heart…the “sacrifice” of “God”, that broken and contrite heart, that cried out confessing its sin, asking for mercy, asking for his sins to be blotted out, asking for cleansing and restoration of joy…that heart that cried out asking to be “upheld” with the Lord’s free spirit …that sacrifice was of God…not the sacrifice of David…that is why that sacrifice was not despised.

      The Lord still works that way. We are prone to wander…Oh we feel it!…Prone to leave the God we love! That is why we give our hearts, and the Lord must seal them for the courts in heaven above.

      In the midst of this path we are on, our earthly existence, there is much confessing that we do, much praying, and much striving, but it is always the Lord Himself that starts and finishes every good work, because we are His workmanship…not our own.

      Looking unto Jesus,

      Theresa

  4. bendedspoon said,

    April 11, 2011 at 6:35 am

    I have been reading David’s adultery from Ann’s blog, Eden and I think in Linda’s blog too. And here it is again. I have been seeing that there’s no escaping with the consequences of sin but now I see another side — that one can be transformed by the grace of God.

    I know the story but my eyes see what my heart feels — I think I have a good heart right now. Theresa you know how this gives me so much hope. Now you made me cry twice in a day. Hugs and blessings to you. I love you 🙂

    • April 11, 2011 at 7:20 am

      Rea,

      The Lord is so faithful. He is faithful to show us when we have sinned and he causes us to feel sorry. Then we cry out to Him and confess our sins, and He always forgives. It is hard for us to understand suffering. Sometimes we suffer because we have sinned, sometimes we suffer when we have not sinned, but are just being mistreated by others because we are Christians. A lot of times when we suffer we just are not sure why it is happening, but we can always know that Jesus always loves and always cares. All who have placed their faith in Him are so precious in his sight.

      I love you too Rea.

      Hugs,
      Theresa

  5. Pastor Glenn said,

    April 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Theresa,
    This was a great post. I am reminded that David, a man after God’s own heart, had a lustful weakness for women; and that Solomon, the wisest man in the Bible, and Samson, the strongest man in the Bible, had the same weakness. That means all of us, no matter how strong or wise or devoted we may think we are, are still vulnerable. Christian men, and especially men in ministry, need to be reminded of this truth often.
    Thanks,
    GG

    • April 11, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      I am so glad that you liked my post.

      I have been married almost 24 years and have been a faithful wife…sometimes have lustful thoughts (and confess them and turn from them when the Lord convicts me just like any other sinful thoughts such as greed, envy, resentment, etc.), but I love my husband very much and have never cheated. I just wanted to state that, in case anyone out there reads this post and wonders if it was the sin of adultery with which I was struggling. My focus wasn’t really on the sin of lust and adultery, but on all sin in the general sense and used this psalm to illustrate that. However, I do agree with what you said in your comment and I am very glad that you shared what you did.

      Basically I just constantly see my weaknesses and sins. Then when I consider that we are supposed to be “New Creatures” I become afraid, and then I have to pray. The teaching that seems to help me the most is what some people call the dual or two-fold nature of believers. I am not looking for an excuse to quit caring about obedience. I hate my sin…it grieves me something awful when I see it (which is every waking hour of the day). I just want to be able to understand why God’s born again children still sin, and I know there are others who struggle like I do, and it is my hope that when I come across comforting scripture that explains the nature of the flesh, the Spirit, and our salvation I like to share them.

      Thanks again for your comment. I like to read your blog. There have been some posts that have really helped me. There is one in particular that I really like. If you go to my blogroll and click on the name of your blog it takes you directly to that post. 🙂

      Sincerely,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

