12 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    April 6, 2011 at 2:35 am

    My prayer time often goes along the lines of yours too. So thankful that He keeps us at it, keeps us there until we listen and get to share that time of communion with Him. 🙂
    I am so looking forward to you going through this Psalm. It’s a very touching one, so honest and that is the way I want to be before Him too.
    God bless you and yours and all your days with Him!

  2. April 6, 2011 at 3:00 am

    Thank you Deb. God bless you, too. 🙂

  3. Ann said,

    April 6, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Thank you, Theresa

    I find this Psalm particularly interesting. Nice of you to share.

    I often think of David and the events leading up to this piece of writing. Although his reasons for praying may be different from ours, it’s truly a great blueprint for a prayer of repentance. Thank you for the ‘heart check’ reminder.

    “Purge me. Wash me. Create … a clean heart” Oh boy…’Purging’ is not a pleasant experience at all. He must have felt horrible after the reality hit him. I can’t imagine what I would have done if I had been in His position but I’m thankful mercy still flows.

    Glad you’re working through this Psalm. I too am looking forward to the rest. 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

    • April 6, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      “I can’t imagine what I would have done if I had been in His position but I’m thankful mercy still flows.”

      Praise the Lord! His mercy flows. 🙂

      Purging surely is painful, too, but the result is to be made every wit whole…it is so worth it.

      I find it interesting that like Paul said in Romans 8 that we don’t know what we should pray for but the Spirit prays with groans,and even David himself knew that before a word was on his tongue the Lord knew it altogether, yet He still was compelled to pour his heart out and at times would express himself with many descriptive words.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  4. Margaret said,

    April 6, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Theresa,

    When I think about how easily our mind can wander during prayer, I think of the disciples in the Garden of Gethsemane….. They kept on falling asleep, even though Jesus asked them to stay awake in prayer so that they wouldn’t fall into temptation….. So many worldly concerns tempt us to think only of the concerns and forget about the power and authority of God…..

    Our Lord has promised to strengthen us as we continue to go to Him for the help we need.

    Love,
    Margaret

    • April 6, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      “So many worldly concerns tempt us to think only of the concerns and forget about the power and authority of God”

      It’s true. In my case it is sometimes the worldly concerns that divert my attention, but many times it’s the burdens that the Lord put on my heart to pray about…the particulars of those situations, that will pop up in my mind and carry me away for a moment when I am praying. They might even be the memory of an incident where I thought bad thoughts or spoke bad words about a person… then when I am interceding for them the incident might still come to mind even though I have already apologized to the person and to the Lord. In that brief moment I might relive both the incident and the feelings of guilt and shame. In my case I rarely forget about the power and authority of God; I instead am all too aware of that and at the same time all too forgetful of the grace, mercy and tender compassion of my Savior and Lord.

      At times like that I am so glad that I have hidden the word within my heart. Just in the knick of time the word in my heart comes to my mind and helps me when the enemy attacks me with condemning accusations.

      Love,
      Theresa

  5. April 7, 2011 at 12:41 am

    Theresa, I don’t always include the Lord’s Prayer as part of my prayer, but for some reason this morning I did. Perhaps because I was becoming distracted, too. The verse that I always use to bring me back to quiet, to listening to Him instead of letting my mind wander is “Be still and know that I am God.” It seems to be the only thing that truly quiets my mind. I have also found that praying on my knees helps me stay more focused than when I pray in any other position, though it is not a fail safe either. Thank you for sharing and I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Psalm 51.

    By the way, did you see my post last week about our assurance of Salvation? http://lindakruschke.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/thanks-john-for-the-assurance/. I thought of you when I wrote it. Peace, Linda

    • April 7, 2011 at 3:52 am

      ““Be still and know that I am God.” It seems to be the only thing that truly quiets my mind.”

      I have always liked that verse. It always causes me to see the Lord in His majesty, holiness, and sovereignty. I will try reading that verse some time when I pray.

      I have the oddest prayer habits. I have no idea how I picked them up, but in the day time before my reading of the Bible I like to open the curtains in my bedroom, and kneel facing the window. I bow my head and close my eyes when I begin to pray, but I pause and look at the blue sky that peeks through the spaces between the branches in the oak and sweet gum trees. Then I pray some more. At night I just crawl in my bed and pray there, and as I wake up off and on I pray more. My mind does not wander as bad when I pray at night, because I have this urgent need to pray…the night brings thoughts of sad, scary and creepy things, and I pray a lot. But it is when I am kneeling during the day that I am distracted the most. Isn’t that something?

      I read your post it was very good. There was one line that we might see just a little differently, but it was a very encouraging and biblically sound teaching on assurance in my opinion.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  6. bendedspoon said,

    April 7, 2011 at 10:43 am

    Thank you so much Theresa for being honest that sometimes your mind wanders too during prayer. Oftentimes I keep my prayer short because of that. When I thank God for my kiddos, my mind will see images of them from infant to the future. When I thank God for the food, my mind sometimes made me think of the whole week menu and the capers that I have to buy and I can taste the pasta and….

    I oftentimes end up saying sorry to the Lord and I even have the nerve to chuckle then I say, “I love you Lord!” Then I go to sleep thinking, “Will God take me seriously?”

    I know He will 🙂

    • April 7, 2011 at 1:34 pm

      Rea,

      I am so glad you commented. I am the same way. I am so glad the Lord takes us seriously. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  7. April 8, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    take a look …Jesus is coming back…soon…http://tinyurl.com/knowforsure

    • April 8, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      Thank you for the link. I watched the video and read the article. It is true that each day the Lord’s return is closer than the day before. It is also true that the Lord told us that there would be signs that Christians could and should watch for, so that the generation of people that would be on the earth at the time that “Great Tribulation” occurs would be able to recognize and understand that the generation as spoken of in Matthew 24 had indeed arrived.

      Some Christians believe they will be raptured (caught up and taken to Heaven) before the “The Great Tribulation” begins, some Christians believe they will go through a portion of it, and some Christians believe they will go through all of it. The second group contains many different opinions concerning the length of time that Christians will be here during “The Great Tribulation”.

      I am not an expert. I believe that all of the scripture in the Bible is true. I also know that there are many people who have devoted themselves to the study of end-time prophecy, and that they often disagree.

      Here is what I do in response to that. I pray, read my Bible, and watch for “seasons”, but I am also wary of those who try to predict the day or the hour of the Lord’s return. I try to remember that no matter where we are in the the Lord’s timeline, we could die at any moment…no one knows how long their earthly life is. With that in mind I strive to continually draw near Jesus in prayer and to also obey Him the best I can, because Christians will face the judgement seat of Christ, and I want to receive a reward that day. This knowledge also makes me so thankful that when a person receives the Lord as their Savior they “Pass” from death to life, and are “saved” from the possibility of spending an eternity in Hell. It makes me so thankful that the Lord doesn’t merely save people, but He saves “to the uttermost” (Hebrews 7:25). It makes me glad that although there are good works for me to do, I am not saved by them… I am saved by Jesus.

      “1And you hath he quickened, who were dead in trespasses and sins;

      2Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience:

      3Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others.

      4But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us,

      5Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;)

      6And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus:

      7That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus.

      8For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

      9Not of works, lest any man should boast.

      10For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:1-10

      “32Now learn a parable of the fig tree; When his branch is yet tender, and putteth forth leaves, ye know that summer is nigh:

      33So likewise ye, when ye shall see all these things, know that it is near, even at the doors.

      34Verily I say unto you, This generation shall not pass, till all these things be fulfilled.

      35Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away.

      36But of that day and hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only.

      37But as the days of Noah were, so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.

      38For as in the days that were before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day that Noe entered into the ark,

      39And knew not until the flood came, and took them all away; so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.

      40Then shall two be in the field; the one shall be taken, and the other left.

      41Two women shall be grinding at the mill; the one shall be taken, and the other left.

      42Watch therefore: for ye know not what hour your Lord doth come.” Matthew 24:32-42


Leave a Reply

