Fullness of Joy: (Part 1…Fat and Happy)

Originally posted on April 25, 2010 at 12:42 am

Scripture references;

Wherefore do ye spend money for that which is not bread? and your labour for that which satisfieth not? hearken diligently unto me, and eat ye that which is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness. Isaiah 55:2 KJV

Meanwhile his disciples urged him, “Rabbi, eat something.”  But he said to them, “I have food to eat that you know nothing about.” Then his disciples said to each other, “Could someone have brought him food?”  “My food,” said Jesus, “is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.” John 4:31-34 NIV

John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me.  And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace. John 1:15:16

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4:13-14 NIV

On the last and most important day of the festival,  Jesus stood up and cried out,“If anyone is thirsty, he should come to Me and drink! The one who believes in Me,  as the Scripture  has said, will have streams of living water  flow  from deep within him.” He said this about the Spirit,  whom those who believed in Him were going to receive,  for the Spirit had not yet been received,  because Jesus had not yet been glorified. John 7:37-39 HCSB

9And I say unto you, Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.10For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.11If a son shall ask bread of any of you that is a father, will he give him a stone? or if he ask a fish, will he for a fish give him a serpent?12Or if he shall ask an egg, will he offer him a scorpion?13If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him? Luke 11:9-13 KJV

O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him. Psalm 34:8 KJV

Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore. Psalm 16:11 KJV


You know, it is funny how we come up with interesting phrases, and figures of speech. Some get worn out pretty quickly, while others stay with us for a long time. I have two on my mind today. The first phrase on my mind is this one:  “Is your glass half empty or half full?”.  The idea was that it was up to you whether you were going to focus on the positive thing or the negative thing; on what you have or what you lack.  It is true that we have our share of challenges and troubles, but there is always much to be thankful for, too. This is something that all people have in common. However, Christians have it even better. Our glass is completely full… So a better question would be not a question at all, but the statement, “My glass is completely full and flowing over!”

…We are complete in Christ. In Christ we have access to so many things, and I can think of four things right off the bat.  We have access to all things pertaining to godliness, happiness/joy,  hope, and comfort. With that being the case, why do we lose sight of that? Well, it is because even though the Holy Spirit dwells in us, He dwells within earthen vessels that are flawed…to put it in the simplest terms, we are human. That “human” part of us (The Bible refers to it as “the flesh”.)  gives us access to ungodliness, discontent, doubt, and despair. The Bible teaches us to follow the Spirit, but we do give in to the flesh and sin daily, and we always will as long as we are living this life here on the earth, but as we mature in Christ we will be more apt to follow the Spirit.

The second phrase I have on my mind today is the phrase “Fat and Happy”.  I like this phrase. It is not about your liking your figure. LOL…you know this, too, …hopefully.  It is about having your “needs” met and being content and glad.  This, too is a state that all people can experience on a certain level…and once again, Christians are enabled to experience this on a much higher level. We have the privilege of an intimate relationship with our Savior that those who haven’t put their faith in Christ do not possess. In Jesus we can have “fullness of joy”.   This is something  that is so wonderful that there are no words or phrases that can fully describe it. It is something that just has to be experienced to be understood.  Have you ever had mint chip ice cream? Imagine trying to explain that to someone who has never tasted mint, chocolate chips, or ice cream. In order to know that the Lord is good you must taste Him… taste and see.

Some people might ask these questions:  “But how do I ‘taste and see’?”  “How can I have ‘fullness of joy’?”  “If I really ‘do’ have access to all things pertaining to godliness, happiness, hope, and comfort,  how do I acquire them or make use of them?” Well, it really isn’t difficult. These things are very valuable and costly (expensive) things that we desperately need but could never afford. However, if you have believed the simple message of the gospel, and received Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord, your name has been added to a bank account that will NEVER have “insufficient funds” Look at these beautiful Bible verses:

8Unto me, who am less than the least of all saints, is this grace given, that I should preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ; Ephesians 3:8 KJV

“14For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,15Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named,16That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;17That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,18May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;19And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.20Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,21Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen. Ephesians 3:14-21 KJV

I know, I still haven’t answered the question of “How” we get them.  In order to get those things we must believe that what those verses say is true, and we must also ask the Lord for them. Just like we would with earthy riches… if we do not believe there is money in our account we will not go to the bank. We could have a whole lot of money in our account, but if we do not know that a deposit was made we will not go and make a withdrawal. We can even believe we have money in the bank, but if we don’t go to the bank and ask the teller to withdraw it we will not be able to spend it. Look at these verses below.

9And I say unto you, Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.10For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.11If a son shall ask bread of any of you that is a father, will he give him a stone? or if he ask a fish, will he for a fish give him a serpent?12Or if he shall ask an egg, will he offer him a scorpion?13If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him? Luke 11:9-13 KJV

13I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life. 14This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. 15And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him. 1 John 5:13-15 NIV

Do the above verses teach us that we can ask for anything like a fancy house or car? No. We must ask “according to His will”, and that means we can ask for the things that “are promised” in scripture. Those who know Jesus as their personal Savior and Lord can ask for the other things that aren’t promised, and sometimes they get them and sometimes they do not get them, but the things that have been promised are always “according to the Lord’s will”, and the Lord will grant their requests.  Godliness, happiness (joy), hope, and comfort  are all promised to we who believe; all we have to do is ask! :)

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here:www.biblegateway.com They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

12 Comments

  1. bendedspoon said,

    March 25, 2011 at 6:25 am

    You have just made me Fat and Happy (I didn’t know the meaning before you shared it)! Thank you for filling me today with God’s Words and Promises!

    I really appreciate your bank scenarios. Earlier, I learned that my son is 1st honor not only in his class but the entire level. I can’t thank God enough for giving my son another reason to smile; for rewarding his efforts. My kiddos are not pressured to have academic honors. They are instead told that if they are happy with what they are getting then so be it but if not they must work for what they want. The blessing is available but it’s for them to claim it; it’s for us to claim it.

    I am so blessed and I can’t imagine how much more is coming if I got to taste and savor the Lord, deeper. Oh yes, “My glass is completely full and flowing over!”

    One more thing, I want too to be able to lessen my food intake and claim,
    “I have food to eat that you know nothing about” — His Words.

    Hugs and love to you, Theresa! 🙂

    • March 25, 2011 at 1:57 pm

      Rea,

      Thank you. I am so glad it blessed you. 🙂 I am also glad your son is doing so well. That is so exciting!

      “One more thing, I want too to be able to lessen my food intake and claim,
      ‘I have food to eat that you know nothing about’ — His Words.”

      I loved it when the Lord said that. I am so glad you are feasting on the manna!

      Love,
      Theresa

  2. Debbie said,

    March 25, 2011 at 6:34 am

    I love this! Especially like the idea of going to my Jesus bank where deposits of joy wait for me! Plus more! Just thinking of the things He’s promised makes me feel so blessed to overflowing. Such a refreshing and encouraging message to carry me through the weekend. . Thank you and God bless you!
    love, deb

    • March 25, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Deb,
      I am so glad it blessed you. I hope you have a great weekend!

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. Margaret said,

    March 25, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Hi Theresa,

    All of this kinda reminded me of Deuteronomy 30:14, “But the word is very near you, in your mouth and in your heart, that you may observe it.”…. We can be very hungry and have food sitting directly in front of us; but unless we bring it up to our mouth and partake of it, it cannot subside our hunger pangs.

    God’s word is readily available, but some only complain of their hunger for God, while refusing to pick up His word and believe….. It’s a puzzle….. Thank you for putting all this together for us.

    Love,
    Margaret

    • March 25, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      Margaret,

      “All of this kinda reminded me of Deuteronomy 30:14, “But the word is very near you, in your mouth and in your heart, that you may observe it.”…. We can be very hungry and have food sitting directly in front of us; but unless we bring it up to our mouth and partake of it, it cannot subside our hunger pangs.”

      That is so true. I think it is the same way with the lost. They need the Lord, but often do not realize it. I bet the Apostle Paul had that Deuteronomy verse in mind when he made this appeal:

      “4For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth. 5For Moses describeth the righteousness which is of the law, That the man which doeth those things shall live by them. 6But the righteousness which is of faith speaketh on this wise, Say not in thine heart, Who shall ascend into heaven? (that is, to bring Christ down from above:) 7Or, Who shall descend into the deep? (that is, to bring up Christ again from the dead.) 8But what saith it? The word is nigh thee, even in thy mouth, and in thy heart: that is, the word of faith, which we preach; 9That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. 10For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. 11For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed. 12For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him.” Romans 10:4-12

      I am so glad the word is readily available…both the written word and the Living Word. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  4. Linda said,

    March 27, 2011 at 2:26 am

    This was just overwhelming tonight. I really studied and let your lesson wash over me. So many of your verses were ones that I learned early on reading my first Bible. Somehow, this made me very emotional, and my prayers tonight will reflect your lesson. I didn’t know I needed this so much… so sweet, such nice memories.

    I like your reminder that we need to pray according to God’s will. One of the first things that usually happens when someone joins AA, is that they pray for a house, a car, a way out of their jail time, a hot girlfriend. Yup.

    We pray the Lord’s Prayer after every meeting, and focus on the Sermon on the Mount where Jesus teaches the apostles to pray… “thy will be done.” The old timers always point out that we sell ourselves short by praying otherwise, because God may have more for us than we could ever ask or hope for. (Ephesians 3:20, which is so awesome! Such an encouragement!)

    This sends an important message about how we need to pray beyond the doors of a church or Bible Study. The hurting need to hear this more than anyone, and the accounts of God’s grace from those folks a few years later is such a stong testimony to those who are just starting out.

    Isn’t that great? I can’t wait to get home to my AA friends in Ohio, where I am considered the “religious one”. LOL… What an honor and an exciting ministry!

    My glass is all the way full tonight, and I’m using your examples for all the ways I am grateful!

    Thank you for your discipline and devotion to your teaching…

    Hugs to you… : )

    • March 27, 2011 at 2:45 am

      Linda,

      Your comment really touches me. I just told you in a comment on one of your recent blog posts that you are a special lady. Now I am telling you that again here. Do you remember awhile back reading my post about grasping things? My mind is like a nonstick skillet. I forget so easily…I guess that’s why the Lord hides the important things in our hearts for us, so when we really need them the Holy spirit brings them to our minds (renewing of our minds).

      “16And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; 17Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.
      18I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.” John 14:16-18

      “4For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.” Romans 15:4

      Big Big Hugs to you… 🙂

      • Linda said,

        March 27, 2011 at 3:40 am

        Thank you for those verses… I’m going to remember to thank God for the Holy Spirit tonight.

        Also, I saw your recent comment and already replied. It’s hard to put away my laptop… don’t want to miss anything!

        Hugs back… : )

  5. Ann said,

    March 27, 2011 at 3:27 am

    Thanks, Theresa

    I am pleased to be ‘Fat and Happy’ in His eyes. 🙂

    There was so much in this post. Nice!! What’s the point of having access if I never use it? Taste, ask, try … He gives us all the clues and still we wander off empty handed at times. Tap into the source, He says … Try Me!

    Pray according to His will may not get me what I want but it will certainly get me what I need. Thanks for that 🙂

    Thanks for all the great reminders and the lovely new lessons 🙂 (Based on the conversations, we’re all happily ‘feeding’.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • March 27, 2011 at 4:28 am

      Ann,

      You are so fat! Now that is a great thing. 😉

      I can see how you are like Christ in that you, too have meat that others know nothing about…It is your Spirit’s delight to do the will of Him who created you, who also made you alive in Christ, of Him who searches knows and loves you, of Him whom you love to serve. It is also your heartfelt desire to finish the race, finish that work He has given you to do.

      …Fullness of Joy that is what we long for…that is what I am praying for…for me for you, and many others…and that would be a prayer according to His will! 🙂

      God bless you Ann!

      Love,
      Theresa

  6. January 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    Some people might ask these questions: “But how do I ‘taste and see’?” ”How can I have ‘fullness of joy’?” ”If I really ‘do’ have access to all things pertaining to godliness, happiness, hope, and comfort, how do I acquire them or make use of them?


Leave a Reply

