21 Comments

  1. March 20, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Did you notice the use of the phrase “shall be”?…not “could be”, not “might be”, not “hopefully shall”, but “shall be”!

    Did you notice the use of the phrase “he did”…”he” did…he “did”? What did the Lord do? “Who” did He do it to? Do you see how weighty verse 31 becomes when you see that the subject of 28-30 (“them”…”the called”…believers of all ages) is receiving action carried out by the Lord instead of carrying it out themselves. We learn in grammar that subjects not only act (do actions), but sometimes are acted upon (receive actions). 🙂

  2. Margaret said,

    March 20, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Hi Theresa,

    Judging from all the fulfilled prophesies of the Old Testament that came true in Jesus Christ, I reckon that Jesus is Lord and God over all, our Savior, Redeemer, and King — not to mention Judge.

    We can be so glad that by faith Jesus reckons us to be His own dear children, who will live eternally with Him in heaven. 🙂

    Love,
    Margaret

    • March 20, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      Hi Margaret,

      I am so thankful that Jesus is a just judge. He is able to see the heart and that is a great comfort to me!

      “We can be so glad that by faith Jesus reckons us to be His own dear children, who will live eternally with Him in heaven.”

      I am glad, too. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. pbus1 said,

    March 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Hello Theresa,

    Therefore, I can reckon, or conclude, that the sufferings of this present time, are not worthy to be compared with the glory that shall be, or assuredly, be revealed in us! Bless His name! There’s no need to worry, wonder, or ponder whether or not the sufferings of this present time are going to be worth it all! If God said it, that settles it! For, when I see Jesus, Amen! All of my trials, will be over, when I see Jesus, Amen!

    That is one of my favorite scriptures! 🙂 God bless you!

    Paulette

  4. Debbie said,

    March 21, 2011 at 2:47 am

    Loving the post and the comments! 🙂 Loving you letting out that teacher/ponderer in you, for His glory and our benefit! Loving the “shall be” and “He did” and being acted upon by Jesus today.
    God bless you and all the ways He reckons His saving grace in your life!

    • March 21, 2011 at 2:54 am

      God Bless you, too, Deb. I hope this week brings some special moments of rest.

      Love,
      Theresa

  5. Linda said,

    March 21, 2011 at 3:11 am

    I found alot of hope in this lessoon, and read verses in a more powerful way than I’ve understood them before. But that always seems to happen here…

    “… but hope that is seen is not hope.” That’s a good reasurance for me in my prayers for the suffering people around the world tonight.

    I like how you dig so deep into the Bible, picking out words like “reckon” and making perfect sense out things I just ignore. I’ll remember that one!

    Hugs to you… : )

    • March 21, 2011 at 3:30 am

      Linda,

      Thank you. Grammar means so much to me. Boy I sure wish we lived close enough to meet at a little cafe and drink coffee, and visit. It seems like earlier today when I wrote this entry was ten years ago. I have so much on my mind. You seem like such a kind and understanding person…and really sharp, too.

      Pray for me. I need guidance. My kids think I need to go to college, because if my husband should get hurt or loses the rest of his vision before he has a chance to get a degree we will need me to be able to do something for a living.

      Hugs,
      Theresa

  6. Ann said,

    March 21, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Thank you, Theresa

    I reckon that He is concerned about the things that concern me – even when the odds are stacked against me!

    Thank you for pointing us to the tiny things we sometimes don’t think about as much as we ought to.

    Praying we’ll all be ready for that great day of reckoning!

    Loving the comments too. I reckon we all got something different (yet so wonderful ) from this post 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

    • March 21, 2011 at 4:38 am

      I reckon so. 🙂 I pray this week will be full of reminders of just how much the Lord cares.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

    • March 26, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      Ann,

      I am so glad that His word will not return void like it says in Isaiah 55. I always put the scripture first in my posts. They are my proof text for the things the Lord shows me in my times of study. My main point in this post is that if we have called on the Lord…received Him as our Savior all of these things the Lord performs are not possibilities for his blood bought children…they are certainties.

      The Lord reveals what He must when we study the word. Even if we don’t always see the same things I am thankful that there are things that are mutually seen. It is true…your concerns “do” matter to Jesus.

      “4And when the chief Shepherd shall appear, ye shall receive a crown of glory that fadeth not away.

      5Likewise, ye younger, submit yourselves unto the elder. Yea, all of you be subject one to another, and be clothed with humility: for God resisteth the proud, and giveth grace to the humble.

      6Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time:

      7Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

      8Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

      9Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.

      10But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.

      11To him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen.”

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  7. bendedspoon said,

    March 21, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Thank you Teacher Theresa for yet another great lesson with the Lord!
    I reckon that He will lead you where you can share His awesomeness in greater extent! Much love to you 🙂

  8. March 26, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    That is a good word- those scriptures are so encouraging and comforting. I am glad that the Lord speaks with such certainty. Thanks!

    Ben

    • March 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      I am glad, too Ben.

      It is true that we are held accountable for the things done in the body, and we will suffer many things, but it is a wonderful comfort to know that we called on Him because He called us first (Romans 10:13, and 8:28-31), and if we “were and are” the recipients of justification we also “were and shall be” the recipients of glorification (Romans 8:28-31), because The Lord does not perform one of those works without also performing the other works…what a wonderful hope to which the Lord’s blood bought creatures are subjected! (Romans 8:20) 🙂

      “9That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

      10For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

      11For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.

      12For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him.

      13For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” Romans 10:9-13

  9. Linda said,

    March 27, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Imprecatory… Now that’s a word.

  10. Heather said,

    June 25, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Hi Theresa,

    Thank you for sharing the link to this post. It is interesting to me that my own use of the word “reckon” tends to indicate that I’m making a guess–and possibly an uneducated one at that. But that does not at all appear to be the way it is used in this context.

    I recently was reading in Romans 6 and came across a footnote that states that the instruction to “reckon” ourselves as dead to sin carries the idea that we are to calculate, based on the presented evidence (Christ’s substitutionary atonement, resurrection, and God’s faithfulness) and come to the conclusion that sin no longer is master…and Christ is. Mathematical calculation is not a matter of guesswork, but a precise science with only one correct answer per equation!

    This is something I need to spend more time considering….Thank you again. 🙂

    • June 25, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      God Bless you Heather.

      Father,

      Please cause Heather to see in your Holy scriptures and in turn hearing by the word…your precious word just how much you love her, how thoroughly you have searched her and known her. You tell us in the book of James that:

      “16Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

      Oh Father, if this is true…how utterly effectual are the prayers of your Holy Son Jesus when He prayed for us in the garden in John 17 and how He is ever interceding on our behalf, and how His prayers and all His petitions are according to your will…that you are always in agreement. Holy merciful, gracious Father, restore unto Heather the joy of her salvation, and the assurance that you will perform all that you have promised to perform. Lead her not into temptation, but deliver her from evil. For Thine is the kingdom, and the power and the glory FOREVER!

      In Jesus name I pray. Amen

      Heather, meditate on this. It is not presumptuous.

      And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6 ESV

      Looking unto Jesus,

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Heather said,

        June 25, 2011 at 11:03 pm

        Thank you for offering prayer on my behalf, Theresa. While I’ve done much pleading for the Lord to “help my unbelief”, I do trust that a period of pruning or breaking is meant to result in healing and bearing of good fruit.

        I pray that the Lord will also bless you as you continue to seek His will in your own life.


Leave a Reply

