17 Comments

  1. March 12, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Theresa, So thankful that even a sinner like Saul can be brought to the Lord, and that He knows that we know not what we do when we hurt others. To forgive and be forgiven – there is nothing better in all the world. Peace, Linda

  2. Debbie said,

    March 13, 2011 at 1:32 am

    This post, your words and His, has impacted me in a big way. Somehow He always knows when you send out a message, that there are those to whom it is going to be received and taken to heart. That would be me today! (raising my hand . . .me, me!)
    It is something that He has to put before me a lot, to keep me tender and walking in forgiveness each day, His forgiveness of me and mine of others.
    God bless you and the special ministry He has blessed you with!
    love, deb

    • March 13, 2011 at 2:48 am

      Deb,

      It was something that came to my mind the other day. I have a tendency to forgive those who do not profess to be Christians more readily than those who do profess to be Christians.

      I have known this for years, and try to remember that I am not qualified to judge the intent of another Christian’s heart. In the world of churches and Christian groups It always seems to be the ones who are the most exacting and legalistic who have the most influence. The ones who brag about their G-rated lives are also often gossips and have a tendency to be mean spirited and haughty. It has had a bad effect on me… has made me less social and somewhat resentful at times, and has caused me to withdraw socially. I will often times catch myself judging their hearts and motives…when I actually am not qualified, and then I will catch myself doing the things that I hate to see others doing. I always confess it and pray for the Lord to help me to grow in love. Sometimes I am able to nip the bad thought patterns in the bud pretty quickly. I continually pray for the Lord to have His way in my mind, heart, and life.

      I often worry about the Bible verses that say I must forgive others if I want the Lord to forgive me. I will say “Lord I saw that lady being mean again. I am now confessing the sin of having an unkind thought toward her. Please have your way in her heart, mind, and life. Please forgive me for the bad thought. But I still can’t seem to work up a warm fuzzy affection for him/her. Is it necessary to be able to do that in order for my forgiveness to be genuine? Please bless her/him and help her/him, and cause my love for others like that to grow into the type of love you would wish for me to have. Amen”

      The other day I remembered the words the Lord spoke when he was being crucified. I can’t remember if I saw those words in another blog, or if just remembered them out of the blue. But when I did remember it caused me to write this blog entry. I’m afraid that my motives for wanting to better understand this issue are selfish. When I think wrong thoughts and speak wrong words to my family or a close friend, I am so convicted and become worried that I am doing harm to my fellowship with the Lord and am also in danger of judgement and chastisement. So even when I pray for help I am in a sense doing it for me. LOL 🙂

      I am such a mess, but I am so thankful for the Lord’s unfailing grace, mercy, and love.

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. Linda said,

    March 13, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Hey… excited to see a new lesson!

    Since my first time through the Bible, Saul has been my reverse role model, doing every bad thing he could manage, with no regard for those he was persecuting.

    He gave me so much HOPE! God’s love for him, his forgiveness, the man he grew to be… what a motivation for the rest of us who have disappointed the Father… then confessed, repented, and enjoyed full forgiveness for our sins.

    I’m so glad you wrote about this… Hugs : )

    • March 13, 2011 at 4:18 am

      Oh, Linda…I am so glad you are glad. In some ways I feel like I am still this stupid bratty kid who happens to love her Lord. I am so glad the Lord has given me access to you, Deb, and the others. You all are encouraging me that we truly can be changed. All of the blog posts and comments convict and encourage all at the same time! Sometimes I feel like calling for a solemn assembly of all of the people I have ever came in contact with and sinned against with my mind or words, and step up to a podium with microphone and just say, “I’m so sorry. please come here and give me a hug and tell me that you forgive me.”…kind of like a scene from “It’s a Wonderful Life”. I guess in the mean time I can pray and ask the Lord to provide me with the right opportunities and a willing spirit to do whatever He sees as fitting. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Theresa

      • Linda said,

        March 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm

        Of course He will… all you had to do was ask! : )

  4. Ann said,

    March 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Thank you, Theresa

    “If we take the time to consider just how frail each and everyone of us is we are enabled to forgive much and love much and be set free from much, enabled to know a measure of peace and joy that we have never known before.”
    Your post inspires me to ask Him to shine His light inside to flush out the things that need His cleansing.

    From the conversations, I see I’m not the only one He’s used you to help today. Thanks for being obedient.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • March 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      Ann,

      I know what you mean. “Flush” is such an appropriate word. The health food industry says that flushing…sometimes called cleansing detoxes the body. They also sometimes refer to it as “purging”. It reminds me of Psalm 51.

      I am so thankful that we can learn from the Bible that the Lord can save us from our sin. It comforts me when I see that the Lord was willing to pardon people who did horrible things. It comforts me when I am confronted with the fact that many of my thoughts are proud, vain, and petty. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  5. bendedspoon said,

    March 14, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    And I pray that I will understand that they don’t fully comprehend what they are doing…You know how much I need this Theresa.

    Got to talk again to God about this 🙂

    • March 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      Oh Rea,

      Whenever I write these posts I am writing to myself…sharing what convicted me. We are in the same boat. We can pray for each other.

      Love,
      Theresa

  6. June 1, 2015 at 4:51 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “When people hurt others it is sometimes intentional and sometimes unintentional, but even when it is intentional they really are not able to fully comprehend what they are doing. Think about it. If they “fully comprehended it” they would also know that they were hurting themselves…”

  7. Debbie said,

    June 1, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    So thankful that you would repost this one! I noticed in my comment before that I talked about God forgiving me and me forgiving others, but recently I have been overwhelmed by others forgiving me and finding it difficult to forgive myself, but learning! What a wondrous work He does in the act of forgiveness! love you! Deb

    • July 18, 2016 at 10:57 pm

      Deb, I was reading this old post, got down to the bottom, and saw that I failed to reply to you. 😦

      You are a great friend! I am so thankful for you!

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        July 18, 2016 at 11:53 pm

        You have so many wonderful and timely posts to glean from and for God to use in our hearts and lives. Thank you so so so much. Forgiveness is one of those things that I can never hear enough about, nor learn enough about , nor do enough of!
        Praying for your health issues tonight and loving you too!
        deb

  8. July 18, 2016 at 11:58 pm

    Deb, I sometimes wonder how I would have gotten through these past two years without you. ❤

    Love and Blessings,
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

