16 Comments

  1. Robert Bline said,

    March 2, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I like your comments a lot. It’s amazing the power of the tongue. For both good and bad. On one hand the tongue can help deliver the message of our Lord and Savior to those who are far from Christ, and in the next moment it can tear down a relationship with just a careless comment. Is it any wonder there is so much found in Scripture that addresses this exact subject.

    Oh and yes, I remember the “tattle tale” in my family well.

  2. March 2, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Oh my goodness, cousin…please say it wasn’t me!…but don’t tell on whoever it was! LOL 🙂

    Theresa

  3. Debbie said,

    March 2, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    This is so much for me, something that I have prayed to be better at. I have so little to talk to others about, being isolated, so that I am tempted to tell things that I shouldn’t .. . just so I have something to say, to sound important. eeeekkk. That is so wrong. Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a sweet reminder and an excellent encouragement on what TO say!
    God bless you as you tell the wonderful story of Jesus today!
    love, deb

    • March 2, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      My sweet friend Deb,

      Would you like to know what I tell about you?…

      “She loves to point to Jesus; she sits right at His feet.
      And each time she shares Him tis a comforting retreat.
      Folks need to hear her story, Her poems must be heard.
      They tell the same true story; she shares the Living Word!”

      Love,
      Theresa

      • March 3, 2011 at 1:03 am

        Deb,

        I just wanted to also say that I share your conviction. Sometimes I want people to know that I might have went through situations very similar to theirs, so they will know that I really identify and care, so I want to share about those things that I have been through. Then I think to myself “Is there a way I can do this that the Lord would like?” So I try to be careful and prayerful. Sometimes I succeed, and sometimes I don’t.

        Once in awhile I find myself wishing that I had not shared…some areas always seem a little grey. I think it is all about the attitude of the heart, and even if the hearer reacts badly the Lord will still be pleased that my motives were good.

        Those motives of the heart are really only known by the Lord. He alone can “try the reigns”, then at just the right moment He shows us what our motives are in any given situation. Sometimes our motives are not good, but you know what? Sometimes our motives ARE good, pure, and loving, and the devil wants to trick us into thinking they are not…then just in time the “Comforter” reveals to us where those condemning thoughts are coming from and we in turn are …comforted. 🙂

  4. Debbie said,

    March 3, 2011 at 1:47 am

    Okay . . .that is just too sweet of a thing for you to say! You are going to make me cry. You know, you are right about the devil and I am understanding that constant battle more and more. Not to put my focus there, but just to be aware of it so I can focus more on Him, listen more to Him.
    One particular person that I need to be careful with is my oldest daughter. She listens and watches me carefully. She is used to everyone talking bad about everyone else. I have fallen many times with this. BUT, as I prayed and asked forgiveness, Jesus has come through amazingly and helps me just to not go there while not making her feel bad if she does. 🙂 Is HE good or what???? 🙂
    love you dear friend! You always give me what I need . . .more Jesus love!

  5. Linda said,

    March 3, 2011 at 2:33 am

    I am also guilty of being the tell-er and the tell-ee. And I feel just as sick inside when I know I’m listening to something that’s not for me to hear, and I know it doesn’t honor God.

    I think the hardest part is when it involves other Believers who are talking about each other, and someone wants to draw me in. I get such a bad feeling that I finally started saying, “I don’t think it’s appropriate for us to talk about this unless we invite so-and-so into the conversation.” Sometimes it’s even gossip about the church.

    I’m in a situation like that right now. I finally said this just isn’t appropriate and don’t email me again on this topic. So now I’m the bad guy, but oh well…

    To keep my own mouth shut, I silently say, “you don’t have to tell it.” Just because I know something doesn’t mean I have to give it a voice. And I feel right with Him when I use some discretion and stay quiet.

    Great topic… I think about this stuff alot, and I still struggle. : )

    • March 3, 2011 at 3:10 am

      Linda,

      I really admire your courage to do the right thing. I really do.

      Back in the days when I was less socially awkward I was sometimes in those situations. But for a number of years…I just shrunk back…hid in the ladies room a lot or stuffed my face with all of the yummy food at those places. But like I said in my post I could always have fascinating “discussions” with my family that sometimes crossed lines and became critical…where there’s a will there’s a way…for both good and bad. LOL But I am so glad that the Lord doesn’t give up on us. He convicts and He checks and as we yield He helps us to do the right thing. 🙂

  6. bendedspoon said,

    March 3, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Most of my life I am too lazy to open my mouth so I wan’t able to practice real well being a teller. Sometimes I even feel guilty when I tell my mother to not mind the lives of others if it’s only about negative observations and if we are not helping. But I learned that this thing crept slowly like starting first on TV shows. One summer I heard my daughter say something not so nice about the performance of this and that actor/actress. It was a good opportunity for me to advise to not open the mouth when there’s nothing good to say.

    One day I got home complaining about how mean some of my officemates are for always looking for something negative in practically all things and sometimes making up stories. In short I was the victim. And hear what my daughter said, “Mommy, remember about not opening your mouth when there is nothing good to say”. There I learned my lesson! Thank you!

    Now that I have decided to open up and share my thoughts and feelings hopefully I won’t forget about the feelings of others. Sometimes I think I fail like when I share some of my problems and experiences to others and mentioning the people concerned. God may know that it’s not my intention to discredit others but I feel that the deed was done so I really need to ask for His forgiveness. I am a teller after all!

    “Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil.”

    Theresa you have blessed me again with this post. I got to examine myself anew. 🙂

    • March 3, 2011 at 2:13 pm

      Rea,

      I still think these matters have more to do with the attitude of the heart. I don’t believe sharing a heavy burden with the Lord and with a friend is the same thing as gossip.

      I am feeling a little bad about this post I have written. I got the idea from the song. I had included the song in a comment on my post before this one…the one with the words about salvation.

      I was thinking about a catchy title and introduction, so I thought I would use “tattle-taling”. I always collect my Bible verses first when I write a post and then it just naturally unfolds. For some reason I ended up with it focusing more on the sins we commit when speaking than on the last paragraph which ironically was my original writer’s prompt.

      Thank you for your kind and gracious words.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • bendedspoon said,

        March 3, 2011 at 3:21 pm

        Theresa I forgot to concur on “Think about Jesus…and “Tell on Him!”. I sometimes fail to do this because I chose instead to keep silent, brush my pain aside, and try to forget about it but then it comes back when I do not tell on Him the soonest!

        “Tell on Him” — does this mean Tell about Him or Tell it to Him? I might have misunderstood it but still I feel it’s best to tell to Him what I am feeling.

        Thank you for all the times that you try to understand my thoughts 🙂

    • March 3, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      Rea,

      I was playing with words. When you tattle on someone you are “telling” someone about something you saw another person doing…usually something bad that might get a person in trouble. Kids like to do this. They see another kid do something mean or break a rule, and they run and “tell” the grown up who is in charge. Usually the word “tattle” is used when talking about kids, but when adults do the same behavior they usually use different words to describe it. I guess “tattling” is a more specific type of “telling”…”telling with a bad motive”.

      When we “tell” others about Jesus…what He did so we could be saved, they call that “sharing the gospel”, or “sharing the good news”. I was thinking How it is both necessary and wonderful to tell about Jesus. So I played with the words little kids use when they know about something bad that was done…”I’m going to tell on you!” and I said “Tell on Jesus” which means to tell about what Jesus has done, and everything He ever did was good, so it would be God-glorifying tattling…good tattling. That is also what the song is saying. 🙂

      It is also good to tell Jesus about the things that are on our mind, though. There is a Bible verse I like:

      “6 Humble (H) yourselves therefore under the mighty hand (I) of God, so that He may exalt you in due time, [d] 7 casting all your care upon Him, because He cares about you. (J)” 1 Peter 5:6 HCSB

      There are so many hymns that talk about “telling Jesus” about our troubles. I will post one in my next entry in just a few minutes.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • bendedspoon said,

        March 3, 2011 at 11:51 pm

        Now I know. Thank you for being patient with my questions teacher Theresa!
        🙂

  7. Ann said,

    March 3, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Thank you, Theresa

    Your posts and the comments gave me much, much, much to think about.

    I remember a lady from her church who passed away some time ago. Her voicemail greeting was a line from the song “Tell me the story of Jesus …” Made us stop and think about what we wanted to leave on that machine!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • March 3, 2011 at 5:18 pm

      Ann,

      “Tell me the story of Jesus,
      Write on my heart every word.
      Tell me the story most precious,
      Sweetest that ever was heard.”

      I just love the old hymns! They make me feel like a little girl again. They take me to a place where I love to stay.

      My cousin Robert said something in his above comment that is really true:

      “On one hand the tongue can help deliver the message of our Lord and Savior to those who are far from Christ, and in the next moment it can tear down a relationship with just a careless comment.”

      Even the most committed Christian can easily go from thinking thoughts that glorify the Lord to thoughts that are sinful in a matter of seconds, and before they even know it find themselves saying what was on their mind. Or we can once again be thinking good thoughts and a person can come up to us and suddenly just blurt out something awful and then stand there staring at us waiting for a reply. It seems like on each side of the narrow path are slippery slopes. I guess that is why I quote these verses so much:

      1I said, I will take heed to my ways, that I sin not with my tongue: I will keep my mouth with a bridle, while the wicked is before me. 2I was dumb with silence, I held my peace, even from good; and my sorrow was stirred. 3My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned: then spake I with my tongue, 4LORD, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am. 5Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah. Psalm 39:1-5

      23The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his way. 24Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholdeth him with his hand. Psalm 37:23-24

      Psalm 130

      1Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O LORD.

      2Lord, hear my voice: let thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications.

      3If thou, LORD, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand?

      4But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.

      5I wait for the LORD, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope.

      6My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning: I say, more than they that watch for the morning.

      7Let Israel hope in the LORD: for with the LORD there is mercy, and with him is plenteous redemption.

      8And he shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities.

      Oops! This comment ended up running long…ended up having my devotion in the middle of my reply here…LOL!

      God Bless you, Ann.

      Theresa

  8. March 4, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Rea,
    Thank you for being patient with my long and wordy responses. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

