20 Comments

  1. bendedspoon said,

    February 16, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Theresa it’s heartwarming to imagine you bringing your tangled jewelries to your Dad. Your face must be like my kiddos when in the same case, frustrated and sad — and rejoicing once untangled!

    “Why is it that we postpone taking our troubles to the Lord, and “really” giving them to Him to sort out?” Back then, my reason was I wanted to have the result the soonest and I wanted vengeance! I know God will be too kind to punish those who have done evil towards me!

    Things changed when I decided that I don’t want to be another evil. I have to entrust the entire matter to the Lord and He be the judge. It’s not easy when you’re in so much pain but it’s the easiest way out of pain — trusting Him and not hurting others.

    My life is full of tangles and I would like to blame somebody else for that but that is as good as saying that nothing will change unless they do. So I took responsibility — responsibility of bringing it to Him and doing my doing part like being more patient, understanding, forgiving and trusting.

    Oh if only I am like that little girl, trusting the Father to do the impossible or even the simplest thing like pasting the rose petals! lol

    My life is actually tangled right now. Yesterday I thought the devil had me again when it whispered, “Attack!”. Thank God I heed God to “Be still”. In a few minutes He comforted and assured me of His love. Despite my anxieties in the morning because of the evil hovering over me God gave me peaceful sleep. Now I wish that I am always asleep. This is so unlike in the past when I don’t want to sleep because even in my dreams the devil attacked me.

    Oh my I think I am carried away and might be out of the topic. Please just pray for me, Theresa.

    Thank you for your post. I got to unload! 🙂

    • February 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Rea,

      Don’t worry about getting carried away or going off topic. I have noticed at Bible studies, and Sunday school classes that some of the best “lessons” did not come out of a work book…they came from “digressions”. The Lord uses them in wonderful and unsearchable ways.

      “Oh if only I am like that little girl, trusting the Father to do the impossible or even the simplest thing like pasting the rose petals! lol”

      Oh, I think you “ARE” that little girl! I think each of us here commenting on this post “ARE” that little girl. 🙂

      All through your comment you shared the most wonderful things. You shared what the attitude of your heart was once upon a time. Then you shared that the Lord gave you a new heart that has the capacity to understand His ways. You shared that He made you willing and able to cast your cares on Him. Rea, you remind me of someone. When I read your comment you sounded like someone in the Bible:

      Treasure in Clay Jars

      7 Now we have this treasure in clay jars, so that this extraordinary power may be from God and not from us. 8 We are pressured in every way but not crushed; we are perplexed but not in despair; 9 we are persecuted but not abandoned; we are struck down but not destroyed. 10 We always carry the death of Jesus in our body, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. 11 For we who live are always given over to death because of Jesus, so that Jesus’ life may also be revealed in our mortal flesh. 12 So death works in us, but life in you. 13 And since we have the same spirit of faith in accordance with what is written, I believed, therefore I spoke, we also believe, and therefore speak, 14 knowing that the One who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus, and present us with you. 15 For all this is because of you, so that grace, extended through more and more people, may cause thanksgiving to overflow to God’s glory.
      16 Therefore we do not give up; even though our outer person is being destroyed, our inner person is being renewed day by day. 17 For our momentary light affliction is producing for us an absolutely incomparable eternal weight of glory. 18 So we do not focus on what is seen, but on what is unseen; for what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:7-18 HCSB

      You have so much in common with the Apostle Paul. I am so glad that you unloaded because it encouraged my heart! The Lord uses you to encourage others in so many ways. I am so glad that the Lord gives you peaceful sleep. Here is one more passage that comes to mind as I think about you, and what you shared above:

      Psalm 131

      A Childlike Spirit

      A Davidic song of ascents.

      1 LORD, my heart is not proud;
      my eyes are not haughty.
      I do not get involved with things
      too great or too difficult for me.
      2 Instead, I have calmed and quieted myself
      like a little weaned child with its mother;
      I am like a little child.

      3 Israel, put your hope in the LORD,
      both now and forever. Psalm 131

      Love,
      Theresa

      • bendedspoon said,

        February 17, 2011 at 12:45 am

        Now I am done weeping and journaling the verses that you have for me! The Treasure in Clay Jars gave me so much comfort, understanding and faith in God. The Childlike Spirit makes me appreciate the way God created me. I oftentimes feel like I am a little child — and hopefully I am not childish 🙂

        Thank you so much Theresa and Deb for your understanding and love. It means so much.
        🙂

      • February 18, 2011 at 6:18 am

        God bless you, Rea.

        Love,
        Theresa

  2. Debbie said,

    February 16, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Rea Sonshine , I know that Theresa will reply to you and let you know you are not out of topic. I just want you to know that I feel and understand what you are going through and am praying too. I love you but not nearly as much as God does.

    Theresa, you showed us such a beautiful analogy with the tangled necklaces. 🙂 And your dad’s response was so kind, so like God’s to us. I don’t know why I wait or think I can’t bring it to Him. Maybe some pride in there, thinking that I got this one, I can do this. Often, sadly, I forget. Such a reflex to just try to do something right away. That’s me too . . .not good at waiting for His timing , for Him to fix it. And trusting . . .that too. Trusting that He is going to fix it in a way that I can deal with, that won’t put me through more pain, embarrassment, shame, whatever.

    As I take things to Him, He has told me not to worry about money. And He has shown Himself so faithful. It has taken quite awhile though Theresa, for me to let Him untangle it . . .to handle it. I keep wanting to grab those necklaces back and do it myself . . .do something, some more kind of work that I could get paid for. Or change the very small savings acct. over so my hubby can’t keep taking out of it. But God, He keeps working on this and tells me to go on about my business of loving and serving Him, loving and caring for my family and friends. 🙂 You are so right. When I just give it all to Him, it’s so sweet. Such a release. 🙂
    God bless you for the special way you always take us to Him, with confidence and love! And thank you for the perfect songs too!
    love, deb

    • February 16, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      Deb,

      The more I read your words the more convicted, comforted, and inspired I get. When I think of praying for you I often want to say “Lord, thank you so much for putting Deb on this earth!” You know so much more than I do. Thank you for being such a special friend!

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. Margaret said,

    February 16, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Theresa,

    Oh how our heavenly Father wants to help us…. He wants us to let Him help us.

    Love,
    Margaret

  4. February 16, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Margaret,

    You are a newer friend, but you bless me, too. You have a great longing to yield and be used by the Savior you love. You implore us to turn, to yield, to draw near with our hearts. I have seen this in both your blog entries and in your comments. For some reason this passage comes to mind when I think about you:

    ” 22And the servant said, Lord, it is done as thou hast commanded, and yet there is room. 23And the lord said unto the servant, Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled. Luke 14:22-23

    That is such a God honoring desire that you have. Thank you for reminding us that the Father wants to help us…wants us to let Him help us…thank you for having that servant’s heart!

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Debbie said,

    February 16, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Theresa . . .your comments to Rea, Margaret and I have brought me to tears today. Thank you. I don’t know how you do this wonderful comforting ministry, but I’m so so glad that you do. I need you. The world needs you letting Him untangle your life before it and us. God bless you and fill you with the sweet assurance of His love today!

  6. February 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Theresa, This is a wonderful post! I smiled when I read about your jewelry box with the little dancing ballerina. 🙂 I had that same jewelry box! I love the picture of you taking the tangled necklaces to your dad to untangle, and the analogy to taking our tangled lives to our Heavenly Father to untangle. I think I’m still trying to fix some of the tangles myself. All of your reasons why we try to do this resonate with me. Mostly, it just seems like I should have it all figured out by now and should be able to fix it myself, not bother God with the “little” things, none of which are as little as I would like to think.

    Something in one of the scriptures you quoted started the song “I wait for the Lord” by Jeremy Camp. I’m going to attempt to paste a youtube link in this comment, but I’ve never tried this so I hope it works.

    Thank you for your heartfelt words today and for helping me remember to wait for the Lord to untangle my “necklaces.” Peace, Linda

  7. February 16, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Linda,

    Thank you for your comments and the song. So many things hold us back. It makes me so thankful that the Lord is patient. Now I am scrolling to look at my scripture references again! Oh, I see…Psalm 130…and also John 10:27-30…no lagging behind, no rushing ahead…in order to follow we have to wait. 🙂

    I like the way Jeremy Camp used this passage along with the “wait for the Lord” and “trust in his word”:

    “Thou shall not live on bread alone
    But by every word of God
    I will not live by bread alone
    But by every word (yeah)”

    Sometimes when I pray the Lord’s prayer and come to the petition “Give us this day our daily bread” I pause and acknowledge those words the Lord uttered when he was being tempted in the wilderness, and ask for the spiritual bread as well as the physical bread.

    So far since no males have commented I think I am safe when I say that we are all little girl’s learning to wait and to hope on the Lord!

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. Linda said,

    February 17, 2011 at 4:16 am

    I read your story over breakfast and walked around with it on my heart all day. Your words made me smile… you paint such a precioius picture of what that young, tangled Theresa must have been like! : )

    What I figured out is that the main reason I don’t give God my tangled troubles right away, is that He’s helped me so much– done everything for me, carried me– that I want to try to do it myself and make Him proud of me. I try so hard to apply Biblical principles and to seek wisdom from more mature Christian women.

    Is that ego? Pride? Immaturity? When I was at the grocery story contemplating this, I know my heart is right even if my skills and wisdom are lacking. If I would have started going to God sooner in life, things would have been much better for me. So now, that’s my lesson for the future, too. I need Him way too much to risk going it alone.

    I learned alot today. I’ll always remember the delight of getting up and reading your sweet words! : )

    Hugs…

    • February 17, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Linda,

      You are such a blessing. I feel the same way about you, and that is why I subscribed to your blog. Sometimes I am so anxious to see if you have written anything that I pop by and get to read your posts before I even get my email notification! LOL 🙂

      “What I figured out is that the main reason I don’t give God my tangled troubles right away, is that He’s helped me so much– done everything for me, carried me– that I want to try to do it myself and make Him proud of me.”

      You have that desire to hear Him say “Well done”. That is a desire that comes from someone who Has made Jesus her “delight”.

      ” If I would have started going to God sooner in life, things would have been much better for me. So now, that’s my lesson for the future, too. I need Him way too much to risk going it alone.”

      I think all “true believers” (those who understand that we really are saved by grace) feel that way. The Lord is sovereign…He implores us to study the Bible…to learn of Him, and He promises to be a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path, but what he reveals are merely glimpses, we see only in part…His ways are past our finding out!:

      33O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

      34For who hath known the mind of the Lord? or who hath been his counsellor?

      35Or who hath first given to him, and it shall be recompensed unto him again?

      36For of him, and through him, and to him, are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen. Romans 11:33-36

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Linda said,

        February 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm

        Now what we would we do if we didn’t have your blog to get together and ponder these things? : )

        Just to see that other women think the same thoughts, feel the same way, and struggle, too.

        I know you write for the glory of God, and your knowledge of His Word and His wisdom shines through. But on a personal level, it sure is a blessing to me.

        Thanks for your comments, and hugs to you!

    • February 17, 2011 at 4:51 pm

      Linda,
      I got up reasonably early, but I am late getting breakfast. Guess whose words I’m going to carry around with me today?! 🙂

      Hugs to you!

  9. Ann said,

    February 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Theresa

    This is such a REALLY beautiful piece! Thank you so much for sharing!!

    “He is always near; in fact we are right smack in the palm of His mighty yet tender hand. He longs for us to bring to Him all of our hurts, fears, cares, and concerns, and our guilt and shame that we have carried in our hearts until they have almost burst, and empty that tangled heap, so he can take it and untangle it.”

    I identified so much with the tangled treasures. Thank you so much for bringing us this piece. It’s so deep and I am SO thankful that He takes the tangled messes we bring and lovingly heals and makes new.

    Sister, praying He’ll continue to bless your ministry. There are so many who need to hear what He’s placed in you 🙂

    The comments …. my word. Such depth. Such a confession of who He is in our lives and how much we need the ‘Father Heart’ of our Papa!

    Thanks for the songs. First call is a group I like much and my grandmother always sang “I must tell Jesus”. I didn’t understand much of what she was singing until I started trying to untangle my issues on my own. Thankful He received me as I was and made ‘something beautiful’ of the mess I brought to Him.

    That’s the reason I sing and shout and dance the way I do! To watch Him unravel all that mess and make it work … there are no words to describe how absolutely marvelous and wonderful He is. To forgive me, regardless. To heal me, despite the extent of the damage I’d done to myself. To give me a heritage despite my shameful lineage. That has got to be Love!!

    Blessings,
    ann

  10. Ann said,

    February 17, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    P.S.

    Psalm 139 again!

    🙂

  11. February 18, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Thank you, Ann. One thing the Lord loves is a thankful heart. We really do have so much for which to be thankful. I am thinking about a little rhyme:

    “In Adam’s fall we sinned all.”

    We come into the world with that old depraved nature, but then, like you said, when we are saved He makes us beautiful…and He makes our lives beautiful and gives us eyes to see that which is beautiful, because He is beautiful for situation!

    Aren’t Grandmothers special? I loved mine so much…lost her a few years ago. I would give anything to have her with me again, but I’m glad she is in heaven and not suffering anymore.

    I like this verse of that hymn:

    “Tempted and tried I need a great Savior,
    One who can help my burdens to bear;
    I must tell Jesus, I must tell Jesus:
    He all my cares and sorrows will share.”

    Oh Ann! I was just looking at the last paragraph of your comment and thought of another song. I am so glad you are a singer and lover of songs. Have you ever heard this song by Dottie Rambo:

    Here are the words:

    If That Isn’t Love

    Words and music by Dottie Rambo

    He left the splendor of heaven,
    Knowing His destiny,
    Was the lonely hill of Golgatha,
    There to lay down His life for me.

    If that isn’t love;
    The ocean is dry,
    There’s no stars in the sky,
    And the sparrow can’t fly.
    If that isn’t love;
    Then heaven’s a myth,
    There’s no feeling like this,
    If that isn’t love!

    Even in death He remembered,
    The thief hanging by His side;
    There He spoke with love and compassion,
    Then He took him to paradise.

    If that isn’t love;
    The ocean is dry,
    There’s no stars in the sky,
    And the sparrow can’t fly.
    If that isn’t love;
    Then heaven’s a myth,
    There’s no feeling like this,
    If that isn’t love!

    Keep singing and dancing and ministering, and I will harmonize with you in Spirit. 😉

    Blessings,
    Theresa

    • Ann said,

      February 18, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      🙂

      Nice link, Theresa.

      Haven’t heard that one in a while 🙂

      I was an itty-bitty girl when I first heard this one. My teacher used to sing it to herself a lot 🙂 ( My friends sometimes tease me that I often unexpectedly burst into song … now I’m thinking that influence likely came from the women around me. 😮 ! )

      One of these days we’ll all be dancing and singing and shouting together in that massive choir. Until then, we’ll do it across the miles. So wonderful to have a common Connector.

      Thanks for giving me another song today. ( Funny!! the TV is showing a cartoon show… as soon as I finished typing the previous line, one of the characters shouted “That’s the greatest love of all!” I don’t know what preceded that statement but isn’t that something?)

      Blessings,
      ann


Leave a Reply

