11 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    February 8, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Hi sweet Theresa!
    God bless you for reposting this. So, so timely for me. I read it earlier but waited to comment as I often need time to ponder here . . .let your posts sink into me. I like to comment quickly at times, to encourage soon, so you know I’m reading . . .but just know I am always reading, but slow. ha!
    For one thing, we were considering edification today and encouraging one another. How well this fits in with that theme. 🙂
    For another thing, this comforted me. I spoke of struggling of late. It seemed like a cloud was on top of me and I was not my usually self. I didn’t know if it was from God . . .a chastening thing or from satan to discourage me. All I could do was what I knew to do, read my bible and pray. Ask for forgiveness. Ask for help. I could still do that, no matter how I felt. Then today, I was lifted out of it. 🙂 My “tune” was changed and like David, I didn’t do it! It just fit so well with what I had read here!!! I wanted you to know how much it helped, how much He helps us through you.
    God bless you and keep you close to His heart, so even in those difficult days, you still hear His heart beat and love for you!
    love, deb

    • February 8, 2011 at 8:34 am

      Deb,
      I am so glad that the Lord lifted you out. You are so right. We read, pray, ask for forgiveness, and for help.

      Thank you for your encouragement. This week is better than last week for me. Maybe it is all of the prayer. 🙂

      I was afraid at first to share with my newer readers that I struggle some times with the depression and panic attacks. I guess I was worried about what people might think. But then I thought, “What if some poor Christian struggles too and feels ashamed like it meant they were not right with the Lord?”. I just want Christians to be able to rest in the fact that they are the Lord’s workmanship and are precious in His sight.

      God Bless you Deb.

      Love,
      Theresa

  2. Kenisha said,

    February 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Theresa,
    I made it to the end of your post.I had to take my time and read through and ponder before I commented.You have some strong points and its just good to see how you can allow God to use your experience to minister to others,keep it up.

    Life has much suffering,but too often we suffer unnecessarily because of lies we believe about ourselves and our circumstances. We accept as fact the words spoken by an enemy who wants us destroyed.We can become fearful,lonely,depressed,worried,confused and full of self-pity all because of lies we believe.But we can overcome those lies by faith,prayer and the word of God.One of the enemy’s tactics is to try to steal the word from us.He will do that by getting us to question God’s word like he did Adam and Eve in the garden.Did God really say that? Will God really mind If I did that? Then he will try to contradict the word.God didn’t say that. God don’t care if you do that. Thank God that he has given us wisdom where we can pick up the bible and read it,memorize it,so that when the enemy comes in like a flood we can speak a word as God gives us a way of escape.We can cry out to him and rely on the fact that he will answer.

    Lord,you have said in your word that by our patience we can possess our souls (luke21:19) .Give me patience so that I can do that.Help me to keep my “heart with dilligence” for I know” out of it spring the issues of life”(proverbs 4:23).Help me not to be insecure and self-focused so that I miss opportunities to focus on you and extend your love.Thank you lord that in my distress I can call on you.And when I cry out to you,lord,you hear my voice and answer. Lord,you know the needs and evey situation of everyone reading this post,I pray that you will help them to take control of their minds and that the holy spirit will comfort them as you make them stronger to stand against the enemy.He knows that he’s fighting a losing battle and he won’t let up. Thank you daddy, for sending your son because we know the battle is already won.Let God be praise for chains,are being broken,prayers sre being answered,healing,restoration,provision,protection.Thank you father for your words. May every soul find peace and their faith increase right now in your mighty name.You are the best,oh how I love you.I bless you name,you are worthy.

    Kenisha

    • February 10, 2011 at 9:40 pm

      Kenisha,

      I have read over your comment several times, before publishing it. There is much in it that I wanted to consider:

      “19Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak…” James 1:19

      I agree with you about the tactics used by the enemy and that he truly is a defeated foe. Suffering is such a complicated and lengthy subject that books on it have been written by many Christian authors with varying viewpoints. Then there is the subject of the authority of scripture. I for one believe that all scripture is God-breathed and profitable, and we need to pray for the Lord to help us interpret it correctly. Then there is the subject of obedience. God does absolutely care about obedience. Then there is the subject of God’s promises. These are all subjects that could be considered in depth, but even then it is all in part. None of us has perfect knowledge. But the Lord does and that is who we are to trust:

      ” 5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. 6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. 7Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil. Proverbs 3:5-7

      Thank you so much for your heartfelt words of encouragement and prayer. It is my prayer that the Lord have His way in your heart mind and life as you continue on in your efforts to follow Him and minister to others.

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. bendedspoon said,

    February 8, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    Theresa thank you for The Truth, The Rock, and The Father’s Hand. Grateful that it swooped me down away from depressing thoughts the past days and assured me that I’m secure in His love; that I can rest in Him because I am in His good hands.

    Enjoy the day with Him! 🙂

  4. Ann said,

    February 9, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Hi Theresa,

    Thank you for sharing. I read and re-read and each time I saw something different. Thanks for taking the time to write and share this with us.

    Our journeys take us along different paths but He’s always been there with us. The highs are pleasant and easy to share, the lows … not so much. Still He’s been there with us in the highs and the lows and each experience brings an opportunity to share His love. He’s taken us this far and He’ll take us farther still. It’s great to know that whether we are in ‘The Pit’ or on the mountain top, He’s never far away!

    Praying He will continue to use our experiences to bring others closer to Him. Sometimes it’s easier to bury the head in the sand than admit we need help. We don’t need to go it on our own at all – the Lord does incline!

    “I can visualize a pit with slimy sides, and how helpless and afraid one would be if they were in one. One can stumble and fall in one, or an enemy could capture you and throw you in one…”
    Praying we will remember He’s right there with us even when we can’t ‘see’ Him. Not a fan of the Pit but thankful He provides a song even there. He will incline and hear and give us a reason to sing 🙂

    God bless you and thanks again for sharing.
    ann

  5. February 9, 2011 at 5:47 am

    I love reading these passages. The Lord is so good. I’ve been in far too many pits (mostly of my own doing), but when I have cried to Him, He has always helped me and forgiven me. He has set me on a rock and that is something I need to be reminded of every day. Thanks so much for today’s reminder. 🙂

    Standing on the Rock,
    Ben

    • February 9, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      Ben,
      If you liked these passages I think you will really appreciate part 2.

      Theresa

  6. February 9, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Ben,
    I’m glad you liked it. “I dare not trust the sweetest frame but wholly lean on Jesus’ name”. 🙂

    I hope you have a great day.

    Looking unto Jesus,
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

