20 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    February 5, 2011 at 6:26 am

    Thank you so much!! You have such a beautiful voice. That you can sing like that without music . . .WOW. And the song is just so you, so beautiful too. Your lyrics sound like they were meant to be a part of the song. It makes me so happy to hear you sing. You know when we get together, on that sunshiny day at a picnic table with lemonade? I think I’ll just hum. 🙂 haha!
    Love you and thinking of you!
    deb

  2. February 5, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Thank you Deb!

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Ann said,

    February 5, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks, Theresa!

    You have a wonderful and clear voice 🙂 Would be nice to hear you sing with First Call 😉 What a beautiful day it will be when all the voices are united singing ‘Holy is the Lamb’!!

    @Debbie – your comment made me laugh out loud. 🙂

    Thanks much for sharing.
    Blessings,
    ann

    P.S – when you sing with someone else, do you normally harmonize?

    • February 5, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      Ann,

      Thank you! That one is a difficult one to sing without music. I had to try several times…I would sing a verse and then the chorus, and then when I would start the next verse I would be able to tell that I was singing it in a lower key than in the previous verse, so I would start all over again, but it just kept happening so I just gave up and left it that way! 🙂 lol

      I have been singing with my husband now for about 24 years. He has an incredible voice, and can do great impressions…Ronnie Milsap, Michael McDonald, etc. He sings 2nd tenor/baritone, and can sometimes falsetto 1st tenor.

      I am a contralto/1st tenor, just a little 2nd tenor, and if I breathe correctly can sing 1st alto but have to be careful or I will screech (and sound like a BeeGee). LOL Basically the two of us would alternate. Have you ever heard of the Isaacs? On a really good day I can sing the blonde’s part, but the brunette’s part comes more easily. I will put a link below to show you what I mean.

      Sometimes when we would sing a duet He would sing the melody(lead) and I would sing harmony either a 3rd or 5th above him, or I would sing the melody and he would sing harmony a 3rd or 5th below me. 🙂

      I can sing both the blonde and the brunette’s part on this particular song:

    • February 5, 2011 at 9:42 pm

      Ann,

      Now I am curious about your question:

      “P.S – when you sing with someone else, do you normally harmonize?”

      Come to think of it I do usually harmonize in church, because the songs in the hymnal usually have the melody on the top of the treble staff (for soprano’s). In that case I either sing the line of notes just under it on the treble staff (alto) or the top line of notes on the bass staff (tenor). But when I sing with my husband it is totally different. He sings and plays piano by ear and we usually transpose them into a different key, and harmonize “by ear”.

      Do you sing harmony, and if you do which part do you sing?

      Theresa

      • Ann said,

        February 6, 2011 at 9:46 pm

        Thanks Theresa,

        That’s a very beautiful rendition of a very beautiful song! I’ll have fun figuring out who I would sound like 🙂

        Good for you to be able to ‘find your own part’ – I think it’s wonderful to have that versatility and to have someone as versatile to sing with. That’s just very nice!

        I sing soprano – more often than not we have the melody so we don’t get to harmonize much.:-) I like harmonizing though. For years I sang alto but for the last 15 or so, I’ve been singing soprano. I’ve sung a first soprano a few times but I confess I don’t like to be stretched. 🙂

        I’ve been trying to get back to the alto side but I have to do voice control lessons as I seem to have become a ‘natural soprano’ . I should have started Feb 2nd but had to postpone. I’m thinking that I really should follow through… Harmonizing by ear doesn’t always work for me as I will sing what I hear 🙂

        My voice has really changed over the years. I haven’t done a solo in a long time. I’ve been thinking of requesting the lead the next time the choir does one of my favourites and I’d really like to be able to do it as confidently as I used to. I think I’ll schedule those lessons. 🙂 !!

        Blessings
        ann

  4. Debbie said,

    February 5, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Hi Theresa!
    Just back again to tell you that I awoke today singing “the Evidence of Love” in my head. I have been struggling these last few days, not keeping my focus on Him like I have to in order for my life to “work”. Your posting this song again was wonderful God timing for me . . .along with getting to hear your voice. I got to hear His too. Thank you so much!
    love,
    deb

  5. February 5, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Deb

    …and getting to hear His voice is the greatest thing of all! I am sorry to hear that you have been struggling the last few days, I am praying as soon as I click on “post comment”. I am so thankful that the Lord has brought ladies into my life to pray for and to pray for me. Isn’t it a miracle?! I am better. Was a little iffy this morning, but right as rain at the moment! 🙂 I hope you will be too. I have also enjoyed reading Vineet’s blog. I just finished reading an exchange of comments by you, Ann, and Him. It made me smile. 🙂

    Love,

    Theresa

  6. bendedspoon said,

    February 6, 2011 at 7:50 am

    I’m so eager to hear another evidence of His love yet it won’t play right now. Got to check it later with those beautiful lyrics. Thank you Theresa for the beautiful evidence that you are!
    🙂

  7. bendedspoon said,

    February 6, 2011 at 11:32 am

    You have a beautiful voice — it matched with your beautiful face! Looking forward to hearing more songs from you and maybe with the hubby too.
    🙂

  8. February 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Thank you Rea. That was so sweet!

    Love,
    Theresa

  9. February 6, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Ann,
    I would love to be able to sing soprano! I wish I could take lessons right along with you! We could sing “Have Thine Own Way”, or “Just As I Am Without One Plea”. I love to harmonize on those two! 🙂

    I haven’t sung a solo in a long time, unless you count the link I put up. I never could sing well with choirs. They would always have those books where just one song would be on several pages. It could be a song I knew by heart, and I still couldn’t keep up. I mostly just sang specials with my husband or an occasional duet, trio, or quartet, where you just close your eyes and press in. It has been almost 3 years now since we left our old church, so most of our singing is either in the house or in the van. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

    • Ann said,

      February 7, 2011 at 2:29 am

      Theresa,

      “Just as I am” was the song they sang the night I came to Jesus! I still cannot remember the name of the minister but the song has never left my memory.

      This verse sticks in my head. Won’t leave. Talk about EVIDENCE OF LOVE!

      “Just as I am and waiting not
      To rid my soul of one dark blot
      To Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot
      O Lamb of God I come!!

      If we don’t get to sing together down here we’ll be lending our voices to that wonderful chorus. Can you imagine what that will sound like? I once participated in a huge voice mass choir – Heaven’s Rehearsal. It was WONDERFUL. All the sounds blending together the way they did – and that was just the rehearsal!

      Blessings and thanks for the reason to sing!
      ann

  10. February 7, 2011 at 3:07 am

    God bless you Ann. I can just feel your joy and your passion for the Lord in so much of what you write both at your blog and in your comments. I pray that you have a wonderful week! 🙂

    Theresa

  11. Linda said,

    February 7, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Hey girlfriend… Just thinking about you, dropped in to say hi and to tell you that I’m praying for you. Your ministry is so precious and powerful, and I admire like crazy all that you do to glorify Him.

    I made my first “link” in today’s post, and it’s to direct people to your blog after they read the Prayer of Salvation. Your teaching is very clear, and I really like the way you start with the basics. I hope some readers will find Him… how great would that be…

    Love and hugs to you. Prayer changes everything. : D

    Linda

  12. February 7, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Linda your heart moves me! I admire you, too! I just have this feeling that the Lord is using you in a big way. I can’t wait to get over there and read again!

    Love and Hugs to you too, and lets keep praying for each other. Right now the prayers of you and the other bloggers are a huge source of comfort.

    Love,
    Theresa

  13. Caddo Veil said,

    July 18, 2012 at 6:55 am

    Theresa–I echo all the thoughts and feelings expressed by the others. How lovely, to hear you sing your song for Him–what a wonderful gift–I can’t thank you enough! God bless you abundantly–love, sis Caddo

  14. November 15, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

    • Debbie said,

      November 16, 2012 at 1:37 am

      What a timely time to share this with us , Theresa! God bless you as you stay aware of His evidence of love all around you .. and in you! love and prayers!


Leave a Reply

