Sins and Their Effect on People

Originally posted on January 14, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Scripture References;

Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy lovingkindness: according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies blot out my transgressions. Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin. For I acknowledge my transgressions: and my sin is ever before me.  Against thee, thee only, have I sinned, and done this evil in thy sight: that thou mightest be justified when thou speakest, and be clear when thou judgest.  Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me. Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward parts: and in the hidden part thou shalt make me to know wisdom. Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice. Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities. Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.  Psalm 51:1-12 KJV

Now when Jesus was in Bethany, in the house of Simon the leper, There came unto him a woman having an alabaster box of very precious ointment, and poured it on his head, as he sat at meat.  But when his disciples saw it, they had indignation, saying, To what purpose is this waste?  For this ointment might have been sold for much, and given to the poor. When Jesus understood it, he said unto them, Why trouble ye the woman? for she hath wrought a good work upon me. For ye have the poor always with you; but me ye have not always. For in that she hath poured this ointment on my body, she did it for my burial. Verily I say unto you, Wheresoever this gospel shall be preached in the whole world, there shall also this, that this woman hath done, be told for a memorial of her. Matthew 26:6-13 KJV

And one of the Pharisees desired him that he would eat with him. And he went into the Pharisee’s house, and sat down to meat. And, behold, a woman in the city, which was a sinner, when she knew that Jesus sat at meat in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster box of ointment, And stood at his feet behind him weeping, and began to wash his feet with tears, and did wipe them with the hairs of her head, and kissed his feet, and anointed them with the ointment. Now when the Pharisee which had bidden him saw it, he spake within himself, saying, This man, if he were a prophet, would have known who and what manner of woman this is that toucheth him: for she is a sinner.  And Jesus answering said unto him, Simon, I have somewhat to say unto thee. And he saith, Master, say on. There was a certain creditor which had two debtors: the one owed five hundred pence, and the other fifty. And when they had nothing to pay, he frankly forgave them both. Tell me therefore, which of them will love him most? Simon answered and said, I suppose that he, to whom he forgave most.  And he said unto him, Thou hast rightly judged. And he turned to the woman, and said unto Simon, Seest thou this woman? I entered into thine house, thou gavest me no water for my feet: but she hath washed my feet with tears, and wiped them with the hairs of her head. Thou gavest me no kiss: but this woman since the time I came in hath not ceased to kiss my feet. My head with oil thou didst not anoint: but this woman hath anointed my feet with ointment.  Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little.  And he said unto her, Thy sins are forgiven. And they that sat at meat with him began to say within themselves, Who is this that forgiveth sins also? And he said to the woman, Thy faith hath saved thee; go in peace. Luke 7:36-50 KJV

I am thinking about two passages that speak on the subject of sin.

Here is some background on Psalm 51:

It is a Psalm of David. It is said that King David was a man after God’s own heart. There is much written about his life in the Old Testament. Yet this King who already had plenty of wives took the wife of a loyal man who had done him no harm and committed adultery with his wife and then had the man killed in hopes to hide what had been done. Then Nathan the prophet confronted him and he confessed his sin and wrote that Psalm.

Here is some Background on Luke7:36-50:
The Pharisees were members of an ancient Jewish sect that emphasized strict interpretation and observance of the Mosaic law in both its oral and written form. They would not classify themselves as sinners, but Jesus repeatedly confronted them with the fact that they were sinners.

The conclusion I draw from this is that people sin; both those who have put their trust in Christ and those who have not. Once a person has put their trust in Jesus they will become more and more aware of their sins, and this will drive them to Him as their source of forgiveness and strength. As a result they will “love much”, and become more and more aware of the fact that “they are loved much”.

Here is a link you can click on and listen to a beautiful song that illustrates this truth I have been speaking about:

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

39 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    February 1, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Thanks, Theresa

    I love that song and the way it puts things into perspective. The Bible says each heart knows its own sorrow and none can share its true joy – Prov 14:10 Those looking on didn’t know what Jesus meant to her but she felt the need to give the very best she had as thanks for what He’d done for her.

    I’m thankful for His blood which covers my sins.

    Thanks again for sharing. Thought you’d like this song too 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5fJgKyeS1c&feature=related

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. February 1, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    I am thankful too… when we come to realize How great His mercy and love for us truly is our hearts just cannot contain our gratitude…we just have to pour out our love on Him and long to share it with others. The love that comes from a grateful heart is the very best we can ever give! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your song, too. I enjoyed it!

    Love,
    Theresa

    • Ann said,

      February 2, 2011 at 1:27 am

      “The love that comes from a grateful heart is the very best we can ever give! ”
      See what I mean? I KNOW you understand!

      The first time I heard that song, I wept like a baby. God has done so much for me, it’s hard to find the right words at times.

      All His,
      ann

  3. February 2, 2011 at 1:52 am

    Ann,

    Do you remember when Mary first found out she was with child in Luke 1 and went to see Elizabeth?

    39And Mary arose in those days, and went into the hill country with haste, into a city of Juda; 40And entered into the house of Zacharias, and saluted Elisabeth. 41And it came to pass, that, when Elisabeth heard the salutation of Mary, the babe leaped in her womb; and Elisabeth was filled with the Holy Ghost: 42And she spake out with a loud voice, and said, Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb.Luke 1:39-42

    There is so much wonderful stuff in that chapter. Even John the Baptist was aware of something. The Spirit in us Groans and it also bears a witness. Even when our words fail in our attempts to express our minds our Spirits know what is going on, and they bear witness. The Spirit in each of us understands an awful lot. 🙂 I hope that didn’t sound to weird. 🙂

    Theresa

  4. Ann said,

    February 2, 2011 at 3:20 am

    “The Spirit in each of us understands an awful lot.” Didn’t sound weird at all 🙂

    God bless you and thanks again for sharing. Here’s another song for you 🙂 (Can’t find the music anywhere but the words speak lots!)

    My Alleluia – Jaci Velasquez
    “Reaching, searching for some way
    So much emotion to convey
    Loving Father, hear me as I offer

    My Alleluia
    Hear beyond the words I bring
    My Alleluia
    The song my speechless heart still sings
    My Alleluia
    And hear my prayer when my words fail

    Falling presence, my true home
    Send your mercy, draw me close
    Holy Father, I place on the altar

    My Alleluia
    Hear beyond the words I bring
    My Alleluia
    The song my speechless heart still sings
    My Alleluia
    And hear my prayer when my words fail

    Reaching, searching for some way “

  5. bendedspoon said,

    February 2, 2011 at 4:09 am

    “Once a person has put their trust in Jesus they will become more and more aware of their sins”

    Knowing that I sin is actually a gift because I can ask forgiveness and correct it. It’s easier to sin, sometimes without knowing it, when one doesn’t know or want to know what is right.

    I so feel bad when I hear someone make a joke of the verses in the Bible to justify their sinful actions. Like having kids outside of marriage and saying, “Didn’t God said that we should love our neighbor? Go on and multiply?”

    And my thoughts run like this, ” God bless you. He’s always available when you are ready to ask for forgiveness…just like the rest of us.”

    May I never reason out to God for my sin but ask for sincere forgiveness.
    🙂

    • February 2, 2011 at 5:08 am

      You are right we should never reason out to God for our sins but ask sincerely for forgiveness. It doesn’t matter how long we have been a Christian we will still sin. We still should ask for forgiveness. We should hate our sin, but we also should not be tricked into thinking that some other Christians don’t sin much and are better than we are. The Lord does not want us to feel shame. He doesn’t want us to look at other Christians and think we sin less either and feel pride. Pride is not only a sin. It is an abomination.

      Pride and shame are two different things. He doesn’t want us to feel either of them. He just wants us to be humble and confess our sins and also to be very aware of how much he loves us and be so very glad that He forgives us. 🙂

  6. Debbie said,

    February 2, 2011 at 5:24 am

    Theresa, I don’t think I have had anyone reassure me like you have, that we all do sin still, as Christians. I knew I did and just thought I wasn’t as good as others. Yes, some areas are taken care of, but nothing in me is perfect. To know that that’s okay, to keep going to Him and letting Him change me . . .it’s not a one time shot, means so much. I’m not sure how it got to be so much about sin and sinless as opposed to redeemed and saved by Jesus.
    God bless you and your ministry to us sinners saved by Grace.
    love, deb

  7. February 2, 2011 at 6:01 am

    Oh Deb…yes redeemed and saved!

    Faith, Hope and Charity…the 3 that remain and the greatest is Charity(Love)

    Jesus is all of these things. He is their source. I wish Me and you and Pamela and Aubrey were all going on a picnic on a beautiful spring day and we could just sit at a picnic table and drink lemonade and just smile and think about how lovely Christ is. And we could bow our heads and pray and sing a chorus or two.

    Deb I need to be more like you. You know sooo much!

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. Debbie said,

    February 2, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Oh sweet one . . .I see that day perfectly, us all together, smiling and loving Jesus. How you have warmed my heart. That will be us in Heaven, if not before, okay? Just the thought of it keeps me going now!
    Now . . .I had to make sure this one was meant for me. . .I know so much? You need to be more like me? Are you sure you know what you are asking???? haha! I really feel that I know very little. I read, I pray, but I don’t come away with what everyone else does. But, what He has given me here with you and everyone else, is the chance to have constant feedings, continuous chances to grow and learn. To read these beautiful blogs each day . . .it is doing a work in me. A good one. 🙂 One thing is how it helps my thoughts stay more focused on Him. I think about what someone has written, I pray about how to reply or comment, I listen to songs of praise. I am sooo blessed and taken care of by you and everyone else.
    God bless you for being the oh-so-special child of His you are! love, deb

  9. Eden said,

    February 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Hello Theresa,
    My name is Eden and I am the (sort of) editor of Idylls For the King. I noticed you posted a comment and subscribed. Deb already told you about this but I wanted to reiterate the invitation: if you would ever like to submit something (poetry, fiction, song lyrics) you’ve written to Idylls For the King, please just send me an email and I will make you a contributer. Blessings,
    Eden

  10. February 2, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Thank you Eden. I am looking forward to reading at Idylls For the King. I might even submit something some time. I hope you have a great day!

    Theresa

  11. Margaret said,

    February 2, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Hi Theresa,

    To realize our utter sinfulness really is a gift from God…. He opens our eyes and ears, heart and mind to realize how awfully wretched we are…. Only then can we realize our need for a Savior and gladly accept Jesus in hope, joy, praise, and faith…. It’s a beautiful thing the Lord has done for us.

    Love,
    Margaret

  12. pbus1 said,

    February 3, 2011 at 12:47 am

    Hello Theresa,

    My soul was touched, as I listened to that song! I could feel the presence of God, as I was truly blessed! I thought about Isaiah 6:1, which speaks of the calling of Isaiah. Isaiah saw the Lord sitting up on a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple. Verse 6:5 says, “Then said I, woe is me! For I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” Once we have been in the presence of the Lord, we realize how undone, how unworthy, how sinful we are, and how much we are in need of a Savior to wash away our sins! Oh the blood of Jesus, that washes white as snow! I praise God for his redeeming blood! I praise him, for washing away my sins. However, when I fall short of the glory of God, I praise God that I have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous! I praise God, because he knows me, and he still loves! Thank you for sharing this post. I also enjoyed the comments!

    May God continue to richly bless you,

    Paulette

    • February 4, 2011 at 4:01 am

      Paulette,

      I somehow forgot to reply to this comment. I’m sorry.

      I have thought of that passage often. I feel just the same way. It also reminds me how frightened the disciples were at the transfiguration:

      5While he yet spake, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them: and behold a voice out of the cloud, which said, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him. 6And when the disciples heard it, they fell on their face, and were sore afraid. 7And Jesus came and touched them, and said, Arise, and be not afraid. Matthew 17:5-7

      You know what I liked about that passage in Isaiah? I loved this part:

      6Then flew one of the seraphims unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar: 7And he laid it upon my mouth, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin purged. Isaiah 6:6-7

      It is so simple, but I sometimes make it so hard. There are three prayers that I pray so much. They are very short, too. But I believe the Lord honors them. Here they are below:

      1) “Oh Lord…I am so sorry!”

      2) “Lord please help me.”

      3)”Thank you, Jesus…Thank you so much!”

      May God Bless you, too, Paulette. Thank you for the prayer.

      Theresa

      • pbus1 said,

        February 7, 2011 at 12:22 am

        Hello Theresa,

        I believe the Lord honors those prayers, as well! When He knows that you are coming to Him with a pure heart, and a contrite spirit, He will in no wise cast you aside!

        I just wanted you to know that I was thinking of you today, and you are in my prayers! May the blessings of the Lord rest upon you.

        Paulette

      • February 7, 2011 at 1:46 am

        Paulette,

        It was so good to hear from you today. Thank you so much for remembering me today, and I pray that you are blessed, as well.

        Theresa

  13. Linda said,

    February 3, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I’m glad I can see my sins today. Much better to confess them right away than carry that garbage around forever. Definitely a blessing.

    Theresa… when I write a post about salvation, can I post a link to your blog? Your teaching is so clear and I think the comments would encourage someone who is still seeking.

    Just let me know… 😀

    • February 3, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      Linda,

      I am glad the Lord is blessing you. Now I just need to practice what I preach. I have a terrible time with guilt. That is one of the reasons I write these posts. I live a pretty ordinary life, but I struggle really hard with my failures …even the smallest ones. Those physical panic attacks and depression came back on me again starting last Sunday. They cause me to think that since I am a Christian I am not supposed to struggle like that, so there must be something wrong in my relationship with the Lord. But I keep praying and meditating on God’s word and eventually relief does come and the Lord once again shows me beautiful things about Him and what we have in Him.

      If any of you who have commented read this today please remember me in prayer. I am really struggling.

      Linda,

      I am honored that you feel that way and would be very glad if you refer readers whenever you feel it is appropriate. 🙂

      • bendedspoon said,

        February 3, 2011 at 11:14 pm

        Theresa, I had my own share of depression attacks. Back then I can’t help crying even in the office and can’t sleep either. Then I started saying, “In the name of Jesus, devil get out! GET OUT!” I say it repeatedly until I things are okay. Now each time I recognize it coming on me again I try to be calm and breathe deep then actually give it time, “You have only 10 to 30minutes then you better get out!” May sound weird that I still give it time but I do it to honor my feelings and listen to what it says after all I know that it can’t match the power of God!

        Praying for you today. The devil tries to distract you because you are a powerful force with God on your side. The devil’s pride can’t say quit immediately but we’re not quitting either, for God. Love you Theresa.
        🙂

  14. Debbie said,

    February 3, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    I wish I had more personal experience with panic attacks and depression, so to be able to encourage you better. 😦 But I totally believe that you are in right relationship with Him as much as anyone else is!!!! And I am praying right now for His peace and comfort to surround you. I’m so sorry that you are going through this. It makes me angry too . . .not at God, not at you! At the enemy of your soul, who seeks to destroy and torment and pull you away from God, to make you feel as though you are perhaps not His because of this. Grrrrr. Going to be saying me some prayers against that!
    God loves you beyond measure. You are His now and always. I love you too! deb

  15. pbus1 said,

    February 3, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Theresa,

    I just wanted you to know that I am thinking of you, and that you are in my prayers! “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” (Romans 4:7)

  16. February 4, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Thank you all for the prayer, The depression is something I can tolerate, but the panic attacks are very hard because they come so unexpectedly with physical symptoms that try to trick me into thinking I am having either a heart attack or a stroke…but I have had lab work done last year and it all came back okay. I am 44 and am facing many issues that come along with that chapter of a woman’s life. At this moment I only feel a small amount of physical discomfort, and the emotional stress would be probably a 2 or 3 on a scale of 1-10…I am quieting down now.

    Thanks again and please continue to pray for me and my family.

    Theresa

  17. Debbie said,

    February 4, 2011 at 2:08 am

    Thank you, Theresa, for allowing us to pray. You are such a special woman, so filled with His Word, with Jesus. Thank you for all the life giving posts you put out for us, for Him. You do that despite what you are going through. That is a very special and strong faith. Thank you for your prayers for me and all of us here. You pray for us even when you are hurting. Love you, deb

  18. Kenisha said,

    February 4, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Theresa my love,
    You mentioned that you are in need of prayer but I need to say a few things before I say that prayer.Don’t tolerate anything negative in your life,even if its easier to handle ,depression is not of God. Keep in mind that the greater your commitment to God,the more the devil will try to harass you.when we’re moving into a new level,deeper commitment,deliverance,breakthrough,or entering a new ministry of work for God,you can depend on the enemy trying to stop it.He will do all he can do to wear you down with depression,panic attacks,fear,guilt,confusion.He may try to threaten your mind,work,health and family.He will try to get you to give up.He will try to convince you that he’s winning the battle but the truth is,he’s already lost.
    Lord,I thank you for suffering and dying on the cross for us,and for rising again and defeating death and hell.Thank you that you have given us the authority over the enemy.Father right now I place theresa’s life in your hands,show her when she’s not recognizing the encroachment of the enemy in her life.Lord,teach her to use that authority you have given her to see him defeated in every area of her life.Reveal to her any place in her life where she’s walking in disobedience.Father I pray that the enemy will never get a place in her protective armour where he can secure a hook,if so,show her so she can rectify it.Gird her with strong faith in you and your word.Father I bind every stronghold of the enemy and I cast it to the bottomless pit of hell right now in the mighty name of Jesus.Thank you that you have given us the power to escape the snares of the enemy,thank you for answered prayers,thank you for standing in the midst of every dark situation because your light shines so brightly.Father,I pray that every eye ,lip,ear,that sees,reads,or hears this prayer will be delivered,will give you praise,will be blessed,because you say when two and three agree you are in the midst.Thank you Lord,thank you lord,AMEN!

    Kenisha

    • February 4, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      Thank you Kenisha. That prayer and your words of exhortation are much appreciated. Today was a lot better.

      Theresa

      • Kenisha said,

        February 7, 2011 at 2:35 pm

        you’re most welcome Theresa,always here,we have to lift up the hands of each other,everybody needs somebody.Let God be glorified in out efforts and support.

        Kenisha

      • February 10, 2011 at 11:03 pm

        Kenisha,

        I want to thank you again for the prayers and words of encouragement. I had a couple attacks this week , but they were milder.

        I want to respond to something you said above:

        “Don’t tolerate anything negative in your life,even if its easier to handle ,depression is not of God.”

        I am thinking about the use of the word negative. I know that Jesus came to deliver us from many things and he also came so we could have life and an abundant one at that:

        10The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. John 10:10

        7For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 2 Timothy 1:7

        It is also true that there is some suffering that Christians experience, that the Lord does allow. Both the Apostle Paul and Jesus our Lord and Savior have said much about that. Sometimes we suffer as the result of sin, and sometimes as the result of obedience. I do strive to obey the Lord, But like all other Christians I sin in thought word and deed daily. As I mature I am more inclined to obey and sin less, but I am also more aware of my sinfulness, because I have more light. I confess my sins daily…several times a day as they come to my attention, and I lean on the Lord and pray for wisdom and strength and ask the lord to search my heart and lead me in the way everlasting (Psalm 139). When I said that I could tolerate depression…I meant it in the sense that I can “endure” sorrow…”blessed are those who mourn”:

        “Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.” Matthew 5:4

        His grace is sufficient.

        Theresa

  19. Linda said,

    February 7, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Hope this comment finds you doing better. I had a rotten week, too.

    I agree with Kenisha that the enemy will do anything to discourage us when our faith and ministry begin to grow. However, the symptoms of panic attacks are real, and last I heard, a panic attack is one of the worst things a person can go through whether they’re a Christian or not.

    I’ve only had one attack. Spent the night in the ER scared to death, thought I was gonna die. You know what I mean. My doctor says the fear of another attack is actually enough to set one off.

    Do you have meds to get you through this? Do you think it’s okay for Christians to take medication to manage conditions like this? I ask because I don’t think God created us to suffer in needless ways, like anxiety. I hope you have something you can take to smooth things over, and I will be praying about this, too… just like all the others who care for you.

    If you’re miserable and just want to talk, please call me… to be grateful, to complain, whatever.

    Love and hugs to you… Linda : )

    • Kenisha said,

      February 7, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      Linda,
      As I always say ,all Glory be to God. I Am not saying panic attacks aren’t real.They do happen,sometimes when they’re least expected. Nothing is wrong with christians taking medication.We’re humans and God made us with flaws so we can run to him the only perfect person.It’s always important to always seek out God’s Counsel before we seek anyone else’s.I don’t mean we can’t take advice from our doctor whether they’re a believer or not.I’m saying that before we go to them,ask God who to go to and then ask him to give the person wisdom and knowledge to impart to us.In all that we do God should be the first person we turn to,he’ll give us directions. And I know in doing so,ladies you will be just fine,keep encouraging,praying and looking out for each other,thats our purpose here.

      Kenisha

  20. February 7, 2011 at 3:30 am

    Linda it means so much that you are willing to share.

    I am not on medication. The family doctor I saw last year gave me a prescription, but when I read about all of the possible side effects I decided to throw it away. I could have went back and looked into other medications, but I decided to give it some time. At this moment I am symptom free. If I start to have more of the intense kind I had last week I might see the doctor again. I have a book written by June Hunt that has a section on panic attacks that I read from time to time. It is titled “Healing The Hurting Heart”. She also has a radio show that can be listened to at oneplace.com.

    I think it is perfectly acceptable to take medication for panic attacks and depression, and any other medical conditions that a doctor diagnoses no matter if you are a Christian or not.

    “If you’re miserable and just want to talk, please call me… to be grateful, to complain, whatever.”

    I can’t tell you how that touches my heart. I just can’t get over how you and all of the rest of these ladies have touched me with your prayers and words of encouragement. Thank you so much! What a great comfort you all have been!

    Love,
    Theresa

  21. Teresa said,

    February 7, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Theresa this was a wonderful reminder that our God is a loving, merciful God. He cares about us more than we understand, even died for us while we yet sinners. AND still seeks relationship with us when we still sin…It’s unreal to me. i beat myself up so much and in reading this it brought me so much peace. Thank you my Sister in Christ for this loving reminder.

    • February 7, 2011 at 2:08 pm

      Teresa,

      It is so good to hear from you. I go by your blog a lot and read there. I am so glad you found comfort in my post. It really is something to ponder the sovereign grace of the Lord.I might sometimes lose sight of it, but He never loses sight of me.

      Theresa

  22. Teresa said,

    February 7, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Thank you for your reply Theresa, and thank you for visiting my blog! I wish I had more time to work on it, I have been so busy lately. It’s such a blessing to be able to find comfort and encouragement in these thoughts and writings, and the knowledge that God never lets go of us.

    God bless you!

  23. Teresa said,

    February 11, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Teresa I just wanted to let you know that I suffered from depression and panic attacks for years. It was a horrible time and I had undiagnosed Post Traumatic stress disorder. Many years later I can say that God got me through all of that and more but the panic attacks still come back upon occasion and the depression with me will be a lifelong battle. It’s not constant but on the days when it feels like someone put a big, dark blanket over my head it’s so difficult. Being a Christian sometimes people can make you feel like you need to be happy and singing all the time and that’s not true. So many people in the Bible had such distress…look at Elijah or the Apostle Paul, so my friend God understands. I always think I can never appreciate the Mountains if not for the valley but sometimes it’s just too hard to even think like that. I can honestly say that much of the time (I am 44 also) it’s hormonal with me. Have you had your thyroid checked? That’s my problem but it’s not bad enough for medication, just enough to cause tiredness and that funky mood once in a while. I wish I could give you comfort and peace but all I can say is I understand, I will be praying for you and someday in Heaven there will be no more sorrow or tears for any of us. I love your blog and its’ such a blessing that God gives you beautiful words even when you probably don’t feel much like writing them. Love and blessings to you my friend!

    • February 11, 2011 at 6:01 pm

      Teresa,

      I am so glad that you commented. I can tell that you understand so much. I wish we were in a quiet coffee shop somewhere…sigh. Thank you so much for reminding me of Elijah. I often think about the Apostle Paul and King David, but forgot all about Elijah.

      Last year I had blood and urine tested. They checked me for thyroid trouble, hormone levels, diabetes, all of the cholesterol and triglyceride stuff. It all came back normal. My bad cholesterol was just a little high. The doctor said if it had been just a few points lower it would have been considered “normal range”.

      Thank you Teresa for understanding and sharing and listening. What a blessing it was for me to read your comment. You are such a blessing, and have a great blog!

      Love,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

