14 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    January 30, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I praise Him with you, Theresa.

    Thanks for posting this. May guidance, wisdom and comfort be yours today. May the Lord our God, the Great God, stoop down and hold you close to Him. May you heart hear His voice with clarity and may you walk in the path He has set before you. Praying also that the Great Comforter would wrap Himself around you as you place everything at His feet. May His sweet Spirit fill you through and through.

    Stay blessed. “He who has begun this work in will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

    Thanks for this wonderful encouragement. He knows my need and He knows my name πŸ™‚

    Blessings,
    ann

    • January 30, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      Oh thank you Ann for praying for me. I “felt” that prayer as I read it. Tears of thankfulness are falling as I am typing. I have placed it at His feet. I am acknowledging that He is my real provider…even for my worship needs. We were made to worship and we suffer when we don’t do that. I sense the Comforter at this moment anointing me with the oil of gladness! πŸ™‚

      Theresa

  2. Margaret said,

    January 30, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Theresa,

    In all this — all our loneliness, our sorrows, our trials — we have no clue what our dear Lord and Savior is doing for us at this very moment….. It was either Elisha or Elijah, who felt ever so alone (I struggle with forgetfulness.) …. God told him to not worry for God had set apart 7,000 others…. We have no clue who all the others are, but God most certainly does….. And, we are safe in His tender care, no matter what is happening around us.

    We truly are never alone when God is with us…. Let us turn to Him because He wants to draw us near….. And, don’t forget, the rest of us are praying, too. πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Margaret

  3. January 30, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Thank you Margaret for those precious words! I feel so much like Deb described to me the other day…like Moses praying with the help of others to keep his hands lifted up! Thank you for being one of those people today. πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. Debbie said,

    January 31, 2011 at 4:03 am

    I am blown away how in that moment you needed Him most . . .you found those 2, 265 others reaching out too. I don’t always understand how He works and I so long and pray for you a place to gather and worship . . .yet I also praise Him for the comfort, love and prayer He has brought you today, at this time. πŸ™‚ (Aubrey is in the tub and I have to go over with her, but wanted to hear the song. She called out . . .are you listening to a song?! ha! I will replay it for her, when she gets out! )
    with much love and prayer for Him to lift you and carry you (Ann’s prayer) through these days of deep longing. I know He cares.
    your deb

    • January 31, 2011 at 4:23 am

      Deb,

      Now the number is up to 7,238. It is called “Jesus Daily”. They were all written in English, so they might all be only from America…I don’t know. But it makes me think about all of the ministries out there and how long their prayer request lists are. It warms and encourages my heart that even though there is so much evil in the world there are still so many “praying” people who call on Jesus! πŸ™‚

      I am praying for you as soon as I hit post…my new habit thanks to Ann… πŸ˜‰ Thank you for praying for me. You bless me so much…the way you continually reach others and comfort them. You always say the right thing in such a way that makes us all feel so loved…what a powerful witness you have!

      Love,
      Theresa

      • ServantBoy said,

        January 31, 2011 at 9:35 pm

        Hi Theresa,

        Sorry to butt in here but just wanted to let you know that ‘Jesus Daily’ has followers from all over the planet and by the grace of God, most people on the net from around the world communicate in English. I know this because on my friends list in FB, I have over 1,000 friends who live in 5 continents and all of us communicate in English. This was not said in any manner of correction but just to clarify and I hope you receive it well.

        In Christ,
        Vineet

  5. ServantBoy said,

    January 31, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Hi Theresa,

    I know what you mean by that feeling of loneliness for I have often felt it myself. It’s amazing how God uses different means to communicate His love for us and like you, I am often reassured of His presence through a surprise email from a friend, the flitting of a butterfly in my garden, a song on the radio or most often by a word in scripture.

    Having travelled a fair bit before I moved to North America, I can tell you first hand that our family of believers is not small by any scale. In the Middle East where my family and I previously lived, the churches are exploding not because of bombs but because of the number of people who come in and there is a real need for new churches but the government is not willing to permit it. Therefore the explosion of christianity is through small groups, meetings at odd hours, private fellowships, work-based prayer groups, etc.

    This is the case in India (My homeland) too and what is amazing is that it seems like the church abounds in persecution. More people come to Christ in places where there is persecution and that intrigues me. Before I get carried away, let me stop here to say THANK YOU for pouring your heart out to God and sharing with us how He faithfully speaks to us and confirming it with His word in the book of Psalms.

    God bless you as you continue to minister His word in faith and I pray that many will be directed to your blog to be inspired, redirected and re-energized to live for Jesus!

    In Christ,
    Vineet
    PS: Like Ann and you suggested, I’m praying right now… πŸ™‚

    • January 31, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      Vineet,

      I am both enlightened and moved by your comments.

      I have lived a somewhat sheltered life, both as a child with my parents and as a wife and mother for over 20 years. In spite of the fact that I have always had access to what is happening in the world through television (when we could financially afford it… which was most of the time) , radio and other media I have much to learn about so many things.

      I am one of these people that get so busy focusing on one thing that I forget to keep up with other things. I began homeschooling my children back in the 90’s and the tasks associated with that and just taking care of the home consumed so much of my time. It has only been the past couple of years that I have slowly become aware of just how much the world has changed over the past 20 years. When it comes to technology I am so behind the times…still very much in an 80’s and 90’s mind set. But My kids have stayed up to date and are helping to bring me up to date. πŸ™‚

      I am so glad that you shared how Christianity is growing so well. The media can be so misleading. The relationship between persecution and the Christian experience…the role that persecution plays is interesting. It makes my heart sad that Christians suffer persecution. It makes me sad that people are persecuted and it even causes me to feel guilty when I consider that any persecution that I have experienced is a much smaller measure in number of occurrences and also a much smaller measure in intensity. But when I consider that Christianity is exploding in growth and also that the Lord calls the persecuted “blessed” I am happy. This passage comes to mind:

      ” 1And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain: and when he was set, his disciples came unto him: 2And he opened his mouth, and taught them, saying, 3Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 4Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted. 5Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.
      6Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled. 7Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy. 8Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.
      9Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God. 10Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 11Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. 12Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.” Matthew 5:1-12

      I first began blogging in January of last year (2010). I was hoping to share the things that I saw in the Bible, and hopefully minister to others. Our family was experiencing both some transitions and some difficulties, and beginning in May I personally began to experience some physical, emotional, and spiritual suffering. It has turned out that what little I have shared cannot even compare to the help that I have received from other Christian bloggers. This experience has been both humbling and comforting for me. I must thank you and all of the others and also the Lord. πŸ™‚

      Sincerely,
      Theresa

  6. bendedspoon said,

    February 2, 2011 at 4:25 am

    So many are crying for help and so grateful to the ones who answer — just like you all did to me each time I ask for prayers. Truly it is something that I thank God for. In my times of distress, I have written so many times in the envelopes for tithes — “Please pray for me and call me in this number. I need help, I’m in pain.” Nobody called me and struggle not to doubt that they pray for me or the rest of those who write their prayer request. I have been trying to see it positively — the tithe is for God so He is the one who called me and so I got to talk to Him.

    I said a simple prayer for you — He understands the depth of it.
    πŸ™‚

  7. February 2, 2011 at 4:49 am

    Rea,

    You touch me in so many ways. I hope that they prayed for you. But even if they did pray, I do not understand why they did not call you. That is horrible.

    I admire that when you tithe you see it as a gift to God. That is a wonderful attitude. And I am so glad that you trust Him to hear your prayers even if others forget to pray. I love you Rea. I am so glad that you prayed for me and I will pray for you, too. πŸ™‚

    • February 2, 2011 at 4:54 am

      Rea,
      You remind me of the woman in the story about the alabaster box of ointment. It was costly but she anointed Jesus with it. That is what you do when you give either in a tithing envelope or when you just give a friend part of your lunch or a word of encouragement, because you want to take the love God gave to you and give it back to him again by giving to others. You are a special lady in my book. πŸ™‚

      • bendedspoon said,

        February 2, 2011 at 5:22 am

        Yes the tithes, it’s amazing that with the little I give it comes back way way beyond that value. It always work that way and so how can I not give? It’s all His anyway and thankful that He shared to me so much!

        Wow even the lunch? Hmm that must be why I’m blessed πŸ™‚ I love you Theresa!

    • bendedspoon said,

      February 2, 2011 at 5:19 am

      Now my eyes are swollen again. huhu. Thankful for your love!

      Everything that hurts me I just see it as God’s way of refining me and testing my faith. Maybe God tested me if I’ll go ask them, “Are you sure you are reading the prayer requests or you just get the tithes?” That doesn’t sound good — in my desire to appease my pain I’m going to hurt somebody then hurt myself again. I’m glad that I talked to God instead and look what He gave me? Peace and you wonderful Godly people!
      πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

