24 Comments

  1. Margaret said,

    January 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    I had never thought about the habits of the ten lepers, and you’re right…. Our habitual old ways of thinking can really drag us down…. When we have been cleansed, we should not fall into the habit of dwelling on the uncleanness of our past sins…. We can’t undo them, but we can live changed lives by the grace of God.

    Thank you for putting this in this light.

    Love,
    Margaret

  2. Debbie said,

    January 22, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Oh boy . . .this one is dear to my heart and so applicable to my life. 🙂 Thank you! I sometimes do come under clouds where I think about mistakes, wrong responses, sin . . .especially those that hurt someone else. Those are the ones the enemy tries to stab me with. I can see this fitting in with your post on taking our thoughts to Him, writing them down or noting them and turning it into a prayer time instead of a negative time.
    I read a book by Stormy Omaritan (sp?) a long time ago. It was The Power of the Praying Wife. At the start, she was telling about all these husband things that drove her crazy. Then she said she prayed the most powerful prayer she ever had . . .Lord, change me. That stuck with me and has become a nearly daily prayer for me too. My circumstances haven’t changed much, but He keeps changing me, my outlook, my attitude, my desire to glorify Him over myself and what’s happening around me. Thank you for posting this today, to help me remember how much He has changed me, has taken captive my negative thinking, has set me on a journey looking for joy now, right where I am . . .it increase my hope in Him, knowing that I have indeed changed and therefore can change again and again! I’m excited!
    God bless you and your ever listening ears that hear His heart beat for us!
    love, deb

    • January 22, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      Deb,

      Would you believe I am at a loss for words? Your comment is so touching. Your heart touches me. Pray for me.

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. January 22, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Margaret,

    It is true that when I remember my past sins (both sins committed many years ago, and sins committed only minutes ago) that I feel horrible sadness, regret…pain…even though the Bible tells me that they are both forgiven and forgotten by the Lord. I cannot tell you how many times I have wondered why in spite of that wonderful fact, that they really are forgiven and forgotten by the Lord, I still feel that way. But the Lord over the years has provided me with some answers…not all of the answers, but some. I call these answers “glimpses”…a measure or portion of light. Below is my attempt to provide an answer…the reason of the hope that is in me.

    I have come to learn that the Bible teaches us that all Christians (those who “have already been” saved…who have been “quickened”, “regenerated”…those who have already been born again) are called “New Creatures”. They have been given a “Lively Hope”. It is a hope that will not disappoint. It will not disappoint, because it is 100% in Jesus, and not even 1% self.

    I have also come to learn that Christians are New Creatures, but possess a dual or two-fold nature. They have both an inner man (The Spirit) and an outer man (The Flesh). The inner man cannot sin. The outer man can only sin. Every day, every waking moment our soul has to choose which one it will follow. As we continue on through this life here on the earth the Lord will continually chastise us, will put us in that refiner’s fire, and as we mature, we will become more inclined to follow the Spirit (to lived changed lives by the grace of God) and less inclined to follow the flesh, but we will never be entirely sinless before we go to heaven. Our sanctification does not work like that. We are instructed to confess our sins because, we really will sin every day…even on our best day. It is this awareness of my sinfulness (the sinfulness of who I was in the past, who I am now, and who I will continually be until I either die, or until I am raptured, and I finally experience the redemption of “my body”) that causes me to suffer sadness, regret, and pain:

    “16The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: 17And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together. 18For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.
    19For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God. 20For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope,
    21Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. 22For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now.
    23And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body. 24For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for? 25But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it.
    26Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. 27And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God. 28And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. Romans 8:16-28 KJV”

    This knowledge of my sinfulness and the death it originally caused is one of many types of suffering that Christians experience. It causes my Spirit to groan, just like it caused Jesus to weep and to groan within himself in spite of the fact that He already knew that He was about to raise Lazarus (John 11).

    Could you imagine how the leper would have felt if He were only made clean only to find himself unclean again the next day? Our sins can upset our fellowship, but our eternal destiny is another thing altogether. If any future unconfessed sins could jeopardize that, and we could possibly die before we have a chance to confess only one sin or a hundred… after we already placed our faith in Christ… after we trusted Him… then we really have no salvation at all.

    I know this was an awfully long comment, but I earnestly wanted to explain the nature of the light that produced this blog entry of mine.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • Debbie said,

      January 22, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      I love your long comments . . .the way you gently and with His word and spirit explain that which is truth. Thank you!!!!

  4. January 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I made one wrong statement in this entry:

    “One terrible habit is thinking that we cannot change. We CAN change our thinking, and our habits!”

    I should have said:

    “One terrible habit is thinking that we cannot change. “JESUS CAN” change our thinking, and our habits!”

    That is what I really meant…sometimes my words fail. 😦

    But His word will not fail or return void! (Isaiah 55:11)! 🙂

  5. bendedspoon said,

    January 22, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I want to make it a habit to cherish moments with Him everyday 🙂

  6. Ann said,

    January 23, 2011 at 12:50 am

    Thank you, Theresa

    Thanks for taking the seemingly simple, daily habits and using them to illustrate our relationship with our Saviour. Thankful too that His changes need no adjustment 🙂

    Praying my ‘automatics’ will be the things that honor Him.

    Blessings,
    ann

  7. Linda said,

    January 23, 2011 at 1:45 am

    One of the habits I couldn’t change on my own was rolling my eyes when my husband asked me to do something or otherwise annoyed me. I wanted to stop so bad you’ll never know.

    As soon as I figured out that God could take away this bad habit (sin), I prayed. It took awhile. Today my husband asked me to make him some lunch right after I cleaned up the kitchen. I kissed his forhead, made him a sandwich, and then I realized… WOW… this is what God did when I asked Him to change me! Of course it’s not His will for me to disrespect my husband… to roll my eyes like a rebellious child shunning extra work.

    I was so excited! I did a quick inventory of all this times lately I would have done the eye roll, but never even thought of it! God. Loves. Me. Sometimes I still can’t believe it!

    This is such a great topic, Theresa, because not everyone believes that God would do things for us, his children! I pray that someone who still isn’t sure would read your message today! That one person would see the truth and know Jesus. Your study is beautiful! Thanks for the love you share!

    • January 23, 2011 at 3:24 am

      Linda,

      Your post both encouraged and convicted me. A lot of the habits I was referring to had to do with my relationships with my husband, kids…and all of my family. I was so blind to so many things, but the Lord opened my eyes. I wish so badly that rolling my eyes was all I ever did. I must confess that you sound like a nicer wife than I have been. I wish so badly that I was as nice the first 12 years as I have been the last 12 years, and I still have a ways to go…I am not so critical now, but I can sometimes be a little selfish…spend too much time amusing myself when I could be working a little harder. We both were Christians when we got married, but we both were young. I was 20 and he was 24. We both had so much growing up to do…sometimes I have flashes of all kinds of memories…even ones from the few single years I had before I got married and just cringe…I was such a mess for so many years. But the Lord changed me. 🙂

      • Linda said,

        January 24, 2011 at 4:41 am

        Oh, if we were only neighbors we could drink coffee and go over this stuff for hours! All of it– me too. Bad thoughts, lingering memories. I heard a great prayer on that radio before we left Ohio. A lady was asking God to SEVER ALL TIES she had with men in her life that did not bless and please God. Sever those ties emothionally, physically, mentally, and spiritually. Well, I knew that was just the prayer for me!

        And do you know, it all just went away. This was a very tall order because my thought life was very shamefull. Even with all the ways He blesses me, I still wanted to roam around in my own little sick thoughts. Of course God knew I didn’t want to be that way. So he just plain delivered me from those connections. I’m utterly in awe.

        The bad stuff… you know… you just have to confess it, repent, and ask Him to do the rest for you. We’re not expected to do the hard stuff alone. He doesn’t expect that of you. And if you hang on to the things from all those years ago, you can’t serve Him and give Him your very best.

        And yah, I did a few things worse than ey rolling, too. ; ) Wish we were neighbors…

  8. Debbie said,

    January 23, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Hi dear one! I heard a song on the way to the grocery store. I thought of this post . . .maybe it connects in some way? 🙂 The song is by Tenth Avenue North and called “You are More”. Some of the lyrics go something like . . .
    You are more than the choices that you make
    You are more than the sum of past mistakes
    You are more than the problems you create
    You’ve been re-made…
    love you!
    deb

    • January 23, 2011 at 3:27 am

      Oh, Deb…thank you. Thank you everybody for your wonderful comments!

      Love,

      Theresa

  9. January 24, 2011 at 5:49 am

    Linda,

    “The bad stuff… you know… you just have to confess it, repent, and ask Him to do the rest for you. We’re not expected to do the hard stuff alone. He doesn’t expect that of you. And if you hang on to the things from all those years ago, you can’t serve Him and give Him your very best.”

    You are right. When the Lord sees us He sees the wonderful daughters after His own heart, and He wants us to have easy yokes and light burdens. If I just can remember that when the enemy is attacking…sigh. The Lord helps me get it straight in my head after awhile.

    I would love to have coffee. I bet we would tell funny stories and giggle like school girls…but rejoice in the fact that the Lord saved us and is molding us into people fit for heaven!…who knows…maybe we will get to be next door neighbors up there! 😉

    Love,
    Theresa

  10. Kenisha said,

    February 1, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Theresa,
    May God be praised as he changes your gears and motions you for change and taking you to the next level.For one to speak like this they have to have an experience so that they can confess and repent of the things that so easily drag us down.You go theresa,God’s got you covered.

    Kenisha

    • February 2, 2011 at 6:26 am

      Kenisha,
      I want to thank you for stopping by and encouraging me. I want to apologize for my other comment being so long and probably not even appropriate. I was thinking about something that had been on my mind, and I just got carried away and forgot who I was talking to. I can be an awful mess sometimes. I was truly so blessed by your words that you spoke at Ann’s blog and also in your above comment. Thank you so much and have a wonderful and blessed week!

      Theresa

  11. February 1, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Thank you Kenisha.

    Confession and repentance is a big part of the believers experience from the very start.

    When we hear the gospel and decide to receive Jesus as our personal Savior we do 2 types of confession. We confess that we are sinners in need of a Savior and we also confess that Jesus “is” the Savior and Lord of the world. Here are some Bible verses that explain that:

    “9That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.
    10For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. 11For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed. 12For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him. 13For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” Romans 10:9-13

    He is rich. He doesn’t just lend us a little pocket change to cover us until we confess and repent of each and every sin. He is rich and generous.

    Then after we are saved we pray each day and throughout the day. One of the things that I have always done for over 30 years now (I’m 44), and other Christians must also do is confess and repent of our sins. The Lord even gave us a prayer we can pray if we should be at a loss for words called “The Lord’s Prayer. In that prayer our sins are referred to as debts. It really is a prayer we should memorize, because it teaches us many things about what our role is as believers, and His role is as Savior, and Lord. I am not saying that it is the only prayer to pray. The Spirit groans within us (Romans 8:26-27), but it really is a prayer that we should take time and meditate on. Here it is below.

    “6But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly.

    7But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking.

    8Be not ye therefore like unto them: for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him.

    9After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.

    10Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

    11Give us this day our daily bread.

    12And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

    13And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.” Matthew 6:6-13

    Now repentance is a concept that is a little more difficult to explain without writing an awful lot. Some people believe that true repentance of a sin means that they turn and never do that sinful thing again. They might think that repentance of all of the their sins means that they will turn from all of their sins and never sin again, but both of those assumptions are wrong. There are a few occasions where Jesus told people to go and sin no more.One example where Jesus said that was in the 8th chapter of John. The woman had been caught in the act of adultery. The penalty for that at the time was death by stoning. If she were to do that again and get caught, not only would she have been guilty of the sin of adultery in the eyes of God, but she would have been stoned. Jesus did not want that to happen. If Christians become stubborn and willful, the Lord will certainly chastise them until they become broken hearted about their willful attitude and willing to confess their sinfulness and turn and follow again, because they belong to Him and he loves them too much to allow them to go on like that. Proverbs 22:15 illustrates this:

    “Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child; but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him.”

    You probably already know these things, but it is possible that a person might come along and read my posts and resulting comments who does not know…so for their sake I am writing this long reply to your comment.

    To sum it all up it’s like this:

    All Christians (those who have truly believed the message of the gospel and placed their faith in Jesus) will confess and repent. Repenting means to turn from your sin both initially and continually. Turning means to turn “your gaze” from your sin and the pain and destruction it causes (your wound) and instead gaze at Jesus high and lifted up. This is something Christians “WILL” do (not might do…Some might have to endure many things before they finally do that but the Lord tells us in Philippians 2:13 that the Lord does work in us both to will and to do of His good pleasure.). Just as God sent firey serpents that bit the children of God who were willfully sinning, we are convicted by the Holy Spirit that dwells in us and we feel that painful sorrow for sin. The children in the desert consequently looked at the image of the serpent on the pole and lived instead of dying, and we look up to Jesus, the Author and Finisher of our faith, High and lifted up and our joy and resolve are restored:

    14And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of man be lifted up:

    15That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life.

    16For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:14-16

    But what if a Christian sins a sin (perhaps a sinful thought) on Tuesday while driving through town and is in a car wreck and killed before they have a chance to confess and repent of that sinful thought…will they be in danger of Hell, because Jesus only saves us from the sins that we remembered to confess…only their “past” sins?… No! we are saved “once” for “all” sins…past present and future. We are saved by grace…not “works”…it is not of ourselves. It is the “gift” of God. it is called eternal life, because it is eternal. It shall not be lost. We must be so careful to not put the cart before the horse. We love Jesus, because Jesus loved us first. We fear and tremble because the Lord causes us to fear and tremble…He worketh in us both “to will” and “to do” His good pleasure. The Lord established all of His wonderful processes before the foundation of the world and the kingdom and the power and the glory are His and His alone! 🙂

    Theresa

  12. kenisha said,

    February 3, 2011 at 12:18 am

    That’s ok theresa,still let God be praised.You mentioned in a comment that we can change our habits&thinking. Remember we don’t have to entertain everything that comes into our minds.You’re not a mess that’s what the enemy wants you to think.You continue to let God reign in your life as you honour him through you posts and comments. Praises be to him that he puts the right words in my mind so I can comment and bless the hearts of others.

    Peace and love
    Kenisha

  13. February 3, 2011 at 1:33 am

    Thank you Kenisha.

  14. October 12, 2013 at 4:39 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “You know, in the day that Jesus had his earthly ministry there were those who were afflicted with leprosy, a devastating disease. They were considered “unclean” and had to cry out “Unclean!” whenever someone approached them, and they had to live away from others, quarantined. I’m sure it soon became a habit for them to cry out those words…”

    • Debbie said,

      October 13, 2013 at 8:46 pm

      Thanks for this beautiful reblog, dear woman of the Word! It encourages me so much to know that I don’t have to stay the same. Jesus is changing me!
      love and prayers!

  15. October 13, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    Me, too.Deb. I am forgetful. I needed to read this.

    Love,
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

