12 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    January 8, 2011 at 7:31 am

    I like to wait to read your posts until I have a time to really digest them. There is always so much to ponder. The scripture, your thoughts and the songs. And then other comments. You bless us.
    This one touches me very pointedly right now. No accident there! He has been changing me, releasing me from stress, showing me about choosing joy. But what about when I fail to grasp His truths, fail to grasp Him . . .fail? Ah, therein lies the beauty of your ministry, to stop the enemy from throwing that in our faces, and to assure us of our God’s mercy and love, constant and everlasting.
    That song is so good. My first pastor’s wife was killed in a car accident. He was messed up from it too. There were 4 or 5 children. I was thinking they had 3 boys and then a little girl when Jan was in her 40’s. This song was played at the funeral service for her. Pastor stood up , with his injured knees, and raised his hands . . .praising God. And that little girl, she did just like her daddy. I will never forget that.
    Thank you so much! God bless you and all you grasp of Him today!
    love, deb

    • January 8, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      Deb,

      I am so happy that the Lord has been showing you to choose joy.That is something that I have been catching little glimpses of but still not fully grasping.

      I know that I have regular readers that comment. These readers like you already know the truth that I share, but there is always the possibility that some anonymous reader who doesn’t yet know these things might stumble across my blog and be helped. It is even possible that some people think that I am neglecting the truth that we do have choices to make, that we must not grow weary in well doing, that I am a promoter of “easy-believeism”, but if they read enough of my posts they will come to see that I am not. The truth is the truth and I am not ashamed of the gospel, that those who the Son sets free will be free in deed. 🙂

      Deb thank you so much for your ear and all of the comfort your comments and blog entries provide!

      Love,

      Theresa

  2. Ann said,

    January 8, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Theresa

    Psalm 139 is my all time favourite Psalm ! (I think it’s my favourite passage in the whole Bible)

    Psalm 71:5( For you have been my hope, O Sovereign LORD, my confidence since my youth.) is another favourite.Thank you for putting both thoughts together. 🙂

    I have the confidence (in Him) of knowing that I am secure ( in Him) regardless of the storms that howl about me. He is my rock and I can stand on His words. His promises are true. (Even when the manifestation of what He has promised is yet to be fulfilled. I will still trust The Solid Rock.)

    Deb, what a wonderful example. I think I’d cry if I was there.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Blessings,
    ann

  3. January 8, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Ann,

    “His promises are true. (Even when the manifestation of what He has promised is yet to be fulfilled. I will still trust The Solid Rock.)”

    Thank you so much for those precious words!

    Love,

    Theresa

  4. Rob Bline said,

    January 8, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I think the most gutsy part of Psalm 139 is verse 23 & 24, “23 Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. 24 See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the everlasting way.” For King David with all his flaws (and he had some big ones) to be willing to open himself up in that way to his creator shows a level of understanding that only few choose to grasp.

    Psalm 139 is one of my favorites also.
    Great thoughts,

    Blessings,
    Rob

    • January 9, 2011 at 12:47 am

      Thank you, Rob.

      When it comes to us humans, King David is one of my favorites. Whenever I feel like just pouring it all out to the Lord in prayer and find I am at a loss for words I can always count on his prayers. I learn so much not only from the petitions themselves, but also from the things he says about himself and about the Lord. I love that the Lord granted David the courage to draw near Him for examination… to “Come into the light”. I also love that the Lord granted David the confidence that no matter what the Lord would find when He searched, He would still lead him in the everlasting way.

      Probably one of my favorite things about David is that He was able to grasp the following:

      [This] extraordinary knowledge is beyond me.
      It is lofty; I am unable to [reach] it. (verse 6)

      God, how difficult Your thoughts are
      for me [to comprehend];
      how vast their sum is! (verse 17)

      It reminded me of the apostle Paul’s words:

      “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

      Looking Unto Jesus,

      Your cousin 🙂

  5. Linda said,

    January 8, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    “Sort of know something, but not really grasp it.”

    When I grasp something, and it is of God, I weep. There are plenty of things that I “know”, but the only ones that really touch my heart that way are from Him.

    I’m ashamed when I pray my favorite prayer, “God help me!”, as if He isn’t helping me already! Did I forget about all the other times he carried me through a crisis?

    So now I’m taking your suggestion and grasping this wonderful truth, that I am encircled by His hands. Which I “sorta knew” but haven’t given thanks for today.

    That was a great teaching, Theresa. Got me right where I’m at today, struggling and resting in Him.

    Love and hugs…
    Linda 😀

    • January 9, 2011 at 1:00 am

      Linda your comment really touched my heart! I am just like that. There are so many times either before I fall asleep or when I awaken at night… even though I am safe and snug in my bed I cry out “Help me Lord, I am so scared! Then I fall back asleep, and then morning comes and I am so glad.

      It makes me feel ashamed, too that I can become afraid so easily, but then I read what the word says and just chalk it up to that old flesh. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Linda said,

        January 9, 2011 at 2:37 am

        If it’s true that even Christian ladies get scared, can you imagine what it must be like living without Him?

        P.S. I thought I was signed up to get an email notice whenever you post something new, but it’s not working. Do I need to do something besides “check” the box below? : ) Thanks…

  6. January 9, 2011 at 5:09 am

    Linda, I know what you mean. I feel so sorry for them.

    I don’t know what host site you use, but if you use wordpress, and go to https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/, and hover over the word that says ‘subscribe’, at the top of the page. Then all you have to do is click on ‘subscribe to this blog’.

    I hope that helped.

    Love,
    Theresa.

  7. January 16, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I know that I have known quite a few things that it took me a long time to really grasp. This is a great truth in which to “bask”. I think I will do just that! 🙂

    • January 16, 2011 at 7:19 pm

      I am so glad! How does that Philippians passage go?…”If there be any virtue, if there be any praise think on these things.” Which things? Whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things that are of good report, and a few others. Bask today in that good report…that Jesus loves you with an unfailing love!

      God bless you Ben!

      Theresa


Leave a Reply

