19 Comments

  1. Rob Bline said,

    December 31, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    My mom told me about how you missed your sons graduation. I’m so sorry you had a difficult evening, but I’m glad to see that you are looking for the silver lining 🙂

  2. December 31, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Thanks Rob. 🙂

    • Ramey said,

      January 1, 2011 at 12:33 am

      I love how the Lord can change our perspective. Your story, believe it or not, is extremely encouraging 🙂 Happy New Year!

      • January 1, 2011 at 12:56 am

        Thank you Ramey. I am so glad. That is what I strive for my blog to be. You have a really Happy New Year, too!

  3. Debbie said,

    January 1, 2011 at 3:24 am

    Your story . . .that could’ve been me. I once drove to see my daughter play tennis, on my birthday. I wanted so much to do something special for her, to show her that I loved her, make an extra effort. It was during some very difficult years for us. You guessed it. I found a tennis match, but she was playing somewhere else. She even beat me back home. sigh. About behaving badly . . .I love how you put that, that it doesn’t change anything. 🙂 Really needed that and it is the perfect thing to share with my youngest. So thankful that He forgives and helps others to forgive me too.
    I’m so glad you are safe tonight and surrounded by angels and loved ones. 🙂 Praying with you for His will to be done in 2011 . . .in all our lives!

    • January 1, 2011 at 4:15 am

      I’m so glad it helped. My husband really urged me to write about this experience. People (including myself) tend to see Christians as these polished, tidy G-rated people like on “Leave it to Beaver”, but we get messy sometimes. I don’t want to ever adopt an attitude that says lets sin like crazy so the Lord can forgive like crazy (let grace super abound), but the other extreme is just as damaging. Thank you for the prayers. That means a lot. 🙂

  4. Petra Hefner said,

    January 1, 2011 at 3:30 am

    So good to know that I am not the only one who acts weird at times! 🙂 Thank you for being true and for trusting not in some bit of human perfection, but in Christ. I can’t do anything right without Him!

    Wishing you a blessed and happy 2011!!

    • January 1, 2011 at 4:20 am

      Amen, Petra! He is the “Author and Finisher” of our faith. We might place our faith in Him, but He is the one that created that faith first, and that makes me so glad…to know we are His workmanship, and not our own. 🙂

      I wish the same for you!

  5. bendedspoon said,

    January 1, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Thank you Theresa for your honesty. I actually have these guilt trips, for failing to be an ideal mom to my 4 kiddos and an ideal wife to my hubby. I have been asking for God’s understanding and forgiveness but I don’t know what’s with me that I sometimes can’t accept it easily that He will forgive me. But as what you have shared — the righteous sometimes mess it up and the Lord forgives and I’m so thankful with that!

    Glad that you are surrounded with angels and they are safe after that unforgettable trip 🙂 Congratulations too — you now have a college graduate and there are more successes to come to give more smiles to a prayerful mom!

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  6. January 1, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Thank you Rea. I struggle understanding God’s forgiveness, too. I know what the Bible teaches, but something inside makes me feel fear and doubt that I’m forgiven…that I am loved. This concern drives me to the Bible to search out and find those promises that I am forgiven and loved. Then when I find them it quiets my fears. I know that there are many Christians out there that have the same struggle, so that was the reason I started my blog…to comfort others and comfort myself. Jesus came so we could have joy and peace. I know if I read a blog somewhere that makes me feel that bad kind of fear it means that there is something wrong with their theology, and I hurry out of that place and do not go back.

    Happy New Year to you!

    Theresa

  7. Ann said,

    January 3, 2011 at 12:53 am

    Wow, Theresa …

    I’m thankful that the Great Restorer is on our side. I love the fact that he is willing to toss my errors in the sea of His forgetfulness. I don’t always understand why He loves the way I does but it’s enough for me to know that He does!

    Thanks for encouraging us. I appreciate your openness and honesty in sharing.

    Please convey my heartiest congratulations to your son. That’s a wonderful accomplishment. I pray God will use him in this new position to make positive differences in the life of His clients.

    Forgiven,
    ann

  8. January 3, 2011 at 1:23 am

    “The Great Restorer”…Ann, that is a title I really can appreciate, and the timing of the use of that title is striking! I was just a few days ago catching up on things with a childhood friend. It was a great time of sharing both things that had brought us joy and things that were causes of concern…in short it was a wonderful time of sharing. Right before we said our goodbyes a passage from the book of Joel was mentioned and that moment seemed to be charged with witness. Here is the passage that was quoted:

    “And I will restore to you the years that the locust hath eaten, the cankerworm, and the caterpiller, and the palmerworm, my great army which I sent among you.” Joel 2:25

    I find it amazing that after I quoted that verse to comfort a friend that you would use that particular title…it gives me goose bumps. I thank you, and I thank the Lord.

    Theresa

    • Ann said,

      January 3, 2011 at 4:19 am

      Hmmm…

      He’s full of pleasant surprises, is He not? Glad you had a great time, Theresa – iron sharpens iron.

      The Word says He knows what we need even before we ask. May you have many more wonderful moments in His presence. Faithful is our God!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AcKBhAjjsoI

      Enjoy and sing along.

      Blessings
      ann

  9. Amy said,

    January 14, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Ah, Theresa, you told me about this, but I just had to read about it. Seriously, I can relate because I am terrible with directions! This is just like something I would do, and the mom in me sympathizes with you totally. I know you really wanted to be there to see C. graduate. I was so proud of you and excited when I asked you if you’d forgiven yourself, and you answered yes. It is strange, but often people are the last ones to actually forgive themselves.

  10. January 14, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Amy, you are so right. I am one of those types who has a very hard time with that. I can know in my head that scripture teaches that we are forgiven and loved, but fail to really let it sink in, and end up taking every failure (no matter how small) way too hard. I have been like that ever since I was a little girl. But the Lord has faithfully placed people around me through the years who have both comforted and inspired me. You have been one of them. Plus the stories of God’s people in the Bible provide a lot insight which is also helpful. 🙂

    • Cinta said,

      November 25, 2014 at 8:39 pm

      So, indirectly, evil ptonis us to God, our creator. So, in this perspective, evil isn’t necessarily our core nature but is the result of our trying to fill the void in our lives with things that are not of God. yes, it is interesting, Karen. I agree with you mostly, but one question. Why are so many people trying to fill their void with things that are not God (if we inherently know this evil is not the way)?

      • December 1, 2014 at 3:11 pm

        Cinta,

        I want to thank you for commenting on my blog post.

        I believe that all of those who have trusted in Jesus Christ as their personal Savior have the Holy Spirit dwelling in them and rely on that to fill all of the voids in their life. However, they still have their sinful flesh that tempts them to think sinful thoughts, to do sinful things, and to try to fill their voids with things that are not God. The Bible teaches us that a big part of a Christian’s life experience is to fight a battle to ignore the thoughts that come from the mind of the flesh (our fallen sinful nature), and to heed and obey the thoughts that come from the Holy Spirit.

        Sometimes we get confused. We have a thought, and are not sure if we should heed that thought, because we are not sure if it is coming from the Holy Spirit or from our sinful flesh. When that happens we consult the Holy Bible and pray that the Lord would show us His thoughts through the scriptures, and if His thoughts agree with the thought that we had we can be assured that it was in fact the Holy Spirit that inspired our thought that was concerning us.

        Below, are links to three blog posts that speak about these things I have been talking about today.

        Love and Blessings,
        Theresa

        1) https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/encircling-love-part-1-a-new-altar-call/

        2) https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/encircling-love-part-2-circle-the-answer-2/

        3) https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/

  11. March 25, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    All of my posts with “Transitions” in the title share a little about me and my family. I thought I would re-blog them, so my readers would have the opportunity to get to know me a little better and follow along on the journey I have been on since February of 2010.


Leave a Reply

