19 Comments

  1. gracetaker said,

    December 21, 2010 at 3:16 am

    Great post! And it makes me think of the fact that God DEMONSTRATED His love for us by dying for us while we were still sinners. This is much more powerful than a conceptual abstraction of some principle of force of the universe, as some would think of God. My love will always fall short, but His is perfect!

  2. bendedspoon said,

    December 21, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Beautiful — your honesty and the truth about love, about God!

    I am glad that God is love!
    Because I can’t love perfectly, I’m glad He can love my love ones!
    Because I can’t give love at all times, I’m glad He can love those who hurt me!
    Because I don’t deserve to be loved, I’m glad He loves me!
    🙂

    • December 21, 2010 at 3:57 am

      Rea,

      I am so glad, too. I know sometimes our love ones hurt us, and it really makes it hard. I am so glad the Lord somehow uses the pain we suffer for His glory. He cares when we are hurting. None of us deserve to be loved, But we are loved. God bless you Rea! 🙂

      Love, Theresa

  3. December 21, 2010 at 3:51 am

    Grace Taker,
    I am so glad that you liked it. I do definitely believe in the Trinity like the way it is descibed in The Apostle’s Creed and The Nicene Creed. I know the Bible has verses that mention God hating certain things, but I have never seen a verse that characterizes Him to be hateful. To know that His love is immeasurably greater than ours is of great comfort to me when I lookat passages in the Bible that are difficult for me to grasp, and also when I consider how sinful I still am…”O to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be” 🙂

    I read your blog, and the last two posts blessed me so much, especially the part where you explained how we sometimes think that we need to recreate certain settings in order to “make” the Lord behave a certain way. I think it might have been called “spiritual ghost chasing”. I am so guilty of that.

    Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I am also looking forward to reading more at your blog.

    Theresa

  4. Ann said,

    December 21, 2010 at 5:15 am

    There is no greater love, indeed.

    In my early walk with Him, I struggled with the thought that God knew all the bad things I’d ever done yet He chose to love me any way. I couldn’t understand it and kept waiting for the punishment to come. His love covered all I’ve ever done … washed away all the sins I’ve committed. Punishment was bought when Jesus gave His life for me. End of story.

    Your post took me way, way back. There are still days I marvel at how He loves (even thought I know the truth).

    Thank you so much for sharing. I think I will always be in awe of His amazing love but I’m so happy He’s chosen to love me despite the messes I’ve gotten myself into! Even in my most ‘unlovely’ moments, He still loves me. O the wonder of it all 🙂

    Loved by Him!!
    ann

  5. December 21, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Ann,I am so glad that you no longer struggle with that. It is hard to understand how patient and merciful the Lord really is. He still chastises his children (Hebrews 12), but always in a loving way, and for that I am so thankful. I am so glad you liked it. I never get tired of exploring the love He reveals to us in scripture! 🙂

    Looking Unto Jesus,

    Theresa

  6. Debbie said,

    December 21, 2010 at 6:13 am

    This made me cry. When you substituted God in for the word love .. . it really stopped me. No longer was I thinking about how I was suppose to love and how I fall short. I was just seeing Him, His love, and how perfect He is in it all. More tears. Hope the keyboard is waterproof. 🙂 I must have really needed this, Theresa. Thank you from a heart that so needs His love! deb

  7. December 21, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Deb,tomorrow when you awake and find that the keyboard is dry, maybe what we call evaporation is really God’s angels collecting them from wherever they fall and taking them to the Lord to put into His bottle. For the Lord to do this, our tears must be very precious and sacred. Perhaps the shedding of tears is one of the ways that those “Living Waters” flow. Here is a beautiful Psalm that I hope will bless you.

    Love, Theresa

    Psalm 56
    1Be merciful unto me, O God: for man would swallow me up; he fighting daily oppresseth me.

    2Mine enemies would daily swallow me up: for they be many that fight against me, O thou most High.

    3What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.

    4In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

    5Every day they wrest my words: all their thoughts are against me for evil.

    6They gather themselves together, they hide themselves, they mark my steps, when they wait for my soul.

    7Shall they escape by iniquity? in thine anger cast down the people, O God.

    8Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?

    9When I cry unto thee, then shall mine enemies turn back: this I know; for God is for me.

    10In God will I praise his word: in the LORD will I praise his word.

    11In God have I put my trust: I will not be afraid what man can do unto me.

    12Thy vows are upon me, O God: I will render praises unto thee.

    13For thou hast delivered my soul from death: wilt not thou deliver my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of the living?

    • Debbie said,

      December 21, 2010 at 8:22 am

      Oh, I’m still up, too late, but I’m glad because I got to read this . . .and yes, cry some more. Thank you for ministering His love to me! 🙂

  8. Linda said,

    December 22, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Hi Theresa…
    I used to feel the same way about Proverbs 31… that I will never measure up to those standards and ideals. I became very legalistic just trying. But I prayed anyway that even with all my flaws and failures I would grow to serve a little at a time. And– tah dah– God has answered my prayers in precious little ways that only I may see, but at least I know that by His grace, I can grow in that direction.

    I wonder if learning to love like 1Cor:13 is the same…

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, Theresa… hope it’s a blessed time for you all.

    • December 30, 2010 at 1:41 am

      I think you are right. We grow a little at a time, and we learn how to love a little at a time, and it’s all by His grace. 🙂

      I hope that this upcoming New Year brings many happy moments!

      Theresa

  9. bendedspoon said,

    December 24, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Merry Christmas to you Theresa and your family!
    Thank you for the blessing that you are to me this year!
    Thank you for all the love especially!
    I love you!

  10. December 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Merry Christmas to you Rea! I feel the same way about you!

    Love,

    Theresa

  11. bajanpoet said,

    December 28, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    I loved this post. God is love … God is kind, God is not puffed up, God bears no record of wrongs…. man that really hits home!!!!!!

    I’m glad I stopped by 🙂 I’ll be passing through again….

    • December 28, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      It’s true. There are times I hesitate to approach the Lord in prayer, but when I remember that the Lord does not merely possess those traits but exemplifies them, I then find the confidence needed to boldly approach His throne. 🙂

  12. August 27, 2012 at 6:13 am

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    1Corinthians 13 is a favorite scripture passage of many. In that passage you will find the most accurate description of true love that has ever been penned. Over the years I have come to use this passage to measure the quality of my love for both God and people, but only to find that my love always fell short of the standard I found in the two greatest commandments. Here they are below:

  13. Debbie said,

    August 28, 2012 at 2:35 am

    What a wonderful post to reblog and for us all to reread! 🙂 love you!


Leave a Reply

