12 Comments

  1. bendedspoon said,

    December 16, 2010 at 2:59 am

    Thanks for the assurance Theresa that He is in my tomorrow
    thus I should not worry each day.
    When will I fully comprehend and accept that wholeheartedly?
    🙂

  2. December 16, 2010 at 3:45 am

    I am the same way. I struggle. I have struggled ever since I was probably 13 years old.
    I am thinking about Deb’s post about that line about worshiping my “quiet time” instead of my Savior. It usually isn’t deliberate. I procrastinate. Sometimes people are very busy and they have a hard time squeezing quiet time alone spent in prayer and study of the Bible. But because I am alone at home a lot, I find myself saying, “I will go pray …as soon as I start the laundry; after all, there is plenty of time.”, then, “as soon as I get that roast in the crock pot”. Then I look at the clock and say, “Wow! It’s 2:00 in the afternoon.” I also go to have my quiet time and get on my knees and start to pray, and after one short sentence glance out the window and start to daydream. It is a lot of work sometimes to quiet myself down enough to really pray.I might go a week or two just praying a little here and there each day, and I know the Lord is with me, but it just isn’t the same. I am in a weakened spiritual state, and when that happens all of the negative things start to surface again and get me all tangled up…things like worry, resentment, guilt and shame for all sorts of sins committed in the near and distant past. Then suddenly I recognize the spot that I am in and I cry out to the Lord, and in that moment I have no trouble focusing, because I am so desperate for His comfort. Praise the Lord! He is so faithful! It is quite often at those times that Jesus shows me those precious glimpses that I write about here.

    Rea, I am such a mess. I stumble daily, even hourly, but the Lord picks me up again. He will not allow me to be utterly cast down. Sometimes He picks me up by sending people like you.

    I am sorry my reply is so long. I needed to get all that off my chest. I have been messing up the past few days.

  3. bendedspoon said,

    December 16, 2010 at 4:28 am

    Love you Theresa for allowing me to see a glimpse of your life and for giving me hope. Sometimes I feel like getting frustrated as to when will I finally have that peace day in and day out. It’s indeed a constant struggle each time I choose to think about pains rather than God.

    I thought of Anne again when you describe your day here. She loves daydreaming amidst doing something like heating the pie — burned it instead!
    🙂

  4. Short Poems said,

    December 16, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Beautiful write, love it 🙂

  5. Debbie said,

    December 16, 2010 at 9:19 am

    The words to this hymn are so, so good for me to hear. To breathe! How often has He told me not to worry . . .and then I slip into it again. Or start looking for a way to take care of myself, provide for myself, when hasn’t He been doing that all along?
    Theresa, some mornings I feel His presence in waves, washing over me. I never want to get up or have it end! I have no idea why He blesses me like this. Then, I will go for so long . . .nothing. It’s not like He’s not there with me, but I don’t feel Him like I do at other times. Why? Slowly I realize it’s when I am unable to quiet myself that I don’t feel His presence as much. And that’s a great deal of the time. To think He is there with me all the time, but I keep myself from Him. There is so much more I can have of Him if I can just get over myself.
    God bless you and hold you close as you cry out to Him!
    love you!
    deb

  6. December 16, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Deb, I thank you and Rea both for sharing. It is so good to know that He is always there whether we feel Him or not, but that He also offers so much. I think it is so good for the readers to read each others comments. This way they can know that if they struggle in this way it is not because they are faulty, but in very good company with other believers who all have a common hope.

    Love,

    Theresa

  7. tonirand said,

    December 19, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    Thanks for this wonderful song, Theresa

    I haven’t heard it in a while but the truth is as strong as it was when I first heard it.

    There are days I forget He’s in charge and try to run with my own show but He gently pulls me back in line. I’m grateful for that.

    The comments made me take an inside look at what I do on a daily basis and how I spend my waking moments. I long for the days when I would spend so much time in His presence just sitting there soaking and allowing His love to wash over me. Sometimes those episodes seem few and far between as I run hither and yon trying to keep things under control. I’m learning that there are days I just have to let things slide and spend time with Him instead. After all, I will reflect whatever it is I spend most of my time doing.

    God bless you for this wonderful reminder.

    Trusting His hand,
    ann

  8. December 19, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Thank you for sharing, Ann. I like the phrases that you and Deb used…”presence in waves washing over me”…”His love to wash over me” They remind me of a very precious memory of a worship experience Ihad when I was 17 years old. It gives me goose bumps to remember it and think upon those beautiful descriptions you both shared. And once again I am reminded of two more songs. Both of them were by contemporary Christian Artists in the 70’s and 80’s. I guess it’s time for another post… 😉

    Love, Theresa

  9. Petra Hefner said,

    December 20, 2010 at 11:47 am

    When we really understand who holds tomorrow and everything it–everything good or not so good–then we will trust Him more. Until then, we all need to remind ourselves that when we start to worry, we end believing Him completely! I thank God that we can encourage each other! Blessings!

  10. December 20, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Petra, that is such an encouraging and beautiful reminder!

    2And he opened his mouth, and taught them, saying, 3Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 4Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted. 5Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth. 6Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled. Matthew 5:2-6

    “Twas grace that taught my heart to fear and grace my fears relieved!” 🙂

  11. January 6, 2011 at 2:03 am

    […] If you would like to read my blog entry and their entire comments you can click here:  https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/2010/12/15/i-know-who-holds-tomorrow/#comments There was a time that began when I was in my teens where I really enjoyed listening to Contemporary […]


Leave a Reply

