12 Comments

  1. Teresa said,

    November 28, 2010 at 2:42 am

    I liked part two even better than part one. Praise be to our God, His word is so rich and full of wisdom, tenderness and mercy towards us. Thank you for your wonderful posts! Blessings!

  2. November 28, 2010 at 3:16 am

    Teresa,

    Your words just blessed me. “Tenderness”…that is such a beautiful word!

    Kind, tenderhearted, and forgiving…that is the kind of Savior we have. 🙂

    Theresa

  3. Teresa said,

    November 28, 2010 at 3:31 am

    Why yes it is Theresa, great name by the way! LOL 🙂

  4. Debbie said,

    November 28, 2010 at 8:59 am

    You display His tenderness, Theresa! Thanks Teresa for pointing that quality out . . .it describes what we feel when we come and feed here! 🙂
    I’m glad you digressed. It all worked together, in the beautiful rhythmic way He gives you.
    I can relate to battling the task of thinking about what is good. Sounds silly now, but at times those negatives take over. So glad that He teaches us along the way, what to look for, to nip it in the bud.
    The battle not to battle . . .I remember distinctly times of taking matters in my own hands, thinking I needed to provide for myself or protect myself. Hard lessons, but really important ones. I can trust Him to take care of me.
    And you also reminded me of a time when I was working as a postal carrier. I had a walking route (no vehicle) and walked about 10 miles a day. I also had new shoes that were killing me . . .blisters, bleeding feet, on a really hot day. I just took off praising Him. Non-stop. I got done in really good time and barely felt any pain from my feet!
    Thank you for these precious posts Theresa!

  5. November 28, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Oh Deb, your comments touch me so much! I can’t even imagine walking 10 miles a day, especially in that condition…and praising Him, too. I believe I could learn an awful lot from you. I wish I had you around all of the time.

    Love, Theresa

    • Debbie said,

      November 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm

      It was a God thing, for sure! Oh that I would do that everyday!!!! sometimes it’s my heart that is blistered and bleeding these days . . .:) Believe me, it’s me that’s learning from you! blessings and love! deb

  6. bendedspoon said,

    November 29, 2010 at 3:32 am

    I just would like to thank God for His awesomeness
    for showing me glimpses of your life and Deb’s
    for teaching me that battles are best fought with prayers.
    🙂

  7. November 29, 2010 at 3:57 am

    I thank God for your ability to use your creativity to continually express joy. In John16:33 Jesus spoke these words below to His disciples, because they were about to go through a very sad time… it was not long before he was crucified.

    ” 33These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

    He delights in comforting us and cheering us up. One of many things about you, Rea that I think is special is that you demonstrate that those who trust in the Lord can be of good cheer. You love to to brighten other people’s outlooks. You are also always kind. When your readers see that and also the fact that you have faith in the Lord it instills hope, it is a very bright witness. Rea, you are a star that shines very brightly. 🙂

    Love,

    Theresa

    • bendedspoon said,

      November 29, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      Thank you Theresa for appreciating me for who I am.
      It is my great hope that I am leading all the praises to Him even though I too is just on my way to deeply knowing Him. As a person I no longer want more hearts to be hurt by another being that’s why I hope everyone goes to Him and learn what love really is — but I guess that’s going ahead with God’s plan. So I’ll just be responsible for my own choices — it’s love instead of indifference; understanding instead of judgment. It’s not always easy but it’s just fair if I want others to extend me the same and yes, especially God.
      🙂

  8. November 29, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    We are all only on our way. We are all in the same boat. 🙂

  9. Heather said,

    February 21, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    It was Peter’s faith or confidence in Christ that Satan wanted to separate from Peter.

    This is such an amazing insight. This certainly would be an apt description of “the day of evil”.
    Would that I had recognized this years ago.

    BUT do you understand that when you turn your back on something you can no longer see it? The Lord does not look at them. We are not supposed to dwell on the past(This includes both distant and recent past. Past is past…5 minutes ago is past.), we are not to wallow in shame. The Lord does not look at them… We are not to look at them either…we are to look at Jesus, to look up, not down, not over our shoulder, but up!

    May the Lord continue to bless your writing, Theresa. Your thoughts here are exactly the healing medicine I’ve been needing. Interestingly, my husband has been telling me the same thing and I couldn’t seem to hold onto his words long enough to hear what he’d said. I am thankful for the reinforcement of truth which the Lord has provided here.

    • February 21, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      Heather,

      At the time I wrote this I was experiencing the most crippling panic attacks that had symptoms that felt like a stroke. There were certain rooms in my house that I could not enter. I followed my husband and 16 year old daughter around like a frightened baby. I literally would go to my room and huddle near a box fan so I could feel like I was breathing.

      One day I had to drive my husband to the post office and I tried to read from a Gideon’s pocket New Testament and Psalms while sitting in the van there in the parking lot. The Lord gave me Psalm 40, and that is from where this series came.

      I still have little relapses…but I am so much better…they might be “my” thorn. I am so thankful that what Satan intends for evil the Lord intends for good. I am so glad to share my medicine with you.

      I have prayed for you and will be praying for you the moment I click on “post comment”.

      Love,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

