11 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    November 27, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I’m so glad that God has given you this assignment. So beautiful and it all spoke to me. The miry clay, the horrible pit . . .He reminded me of this when I was having trouble with patience, trouble understanding why someone just wasn’t believing Him and coming to Him. He reminded me of that pit and it helped me to be more patient and understanding. I was there.
    And I loved the part about the new song, that the great cloud of witnesses may be the only ones that hear it. 🙂 That really blessed me! Sometimes in the still of the night or early morning He will reveal or drop an understanding into my heart and it sings. 🙂
    Thank you Theresa! You are a song unto Him! deb

  2. November 27, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Deb,

    I know what it is like to love someone with all of your heart and watch that person stumble… turn away. That was a contributing factor in my attacks. It made me cry last night, but you and I both understand that the Lord knows and loves those lost sheep even more than we do. He also sees every tear that falls. Thank you so much for sharing this with me. We can pray for each other…for those dear loved ones. Here are two songs that I was going to post at the end of this series. I just can’t help myself; I have to post them. When I turned to the 2nd song it had Psalm 40:3 under the title!

    The Solid Rock

    My hope is built on nothing less
    Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
    I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
    But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

    Refrain

    On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
    All other ground is sinking sand;
    All other ground is sinking sand.

    When darkness seems to hide His face,
    I rest on His unchanging grace.
    In every high and stormy gale,
    My anchor holds within the veil.

    Refrain

    His oath, His covenant, His blood,
    Support me in the whelming flood.
    When all around my soul gives way,
    He then is all my Hope and Stay.

    Refrain

    When He shall come with trumpet sound,
    Oh may I then in Him be found.
    Dressed in His righteousness alone,
    Faultless to stand before the throne.

    Refrain

    He Keeps Me Singing

    There’s within my heart a melody
    Jesus whispers sweet and low,
    Fear not, I am with thee, peace, be still,
    In all of life’s ebb and flow.

    Refrain

    Jesus, Jesus, Jesus,
    Sweetest Name I know,
    Fills my every longing,
    Keeps me singing as I go.

    All my life was wrecked by sin and strife,
    Discord filled my heart with pain,
    Jesus swept across the broken strings,
    Stirred the slumbering chords again.

    Refrain

    Feasting on the riches of His grace,
    Resting ’neath His sheltering wing,
    Always looking on His smiling face,
    That is why I shout and sing.

    Refrain

    Though sometimes He leads through waters deep,
    Trials fall across the way,
    Though sometimes the path seems rough and steep,
    See His footprints all the way.

    Refrain

    Soon He’s coming back to welcome me,
    Far beyond the starry sky;
    I shall wing my flight to worlds unknown,
    I shall reign with Him on high.

    Refrain

    Love,

    Theresa

  3. Debbie said,

    November 28, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Thank you so much for understanding! 🙂 and praying! and for the songs! They are just perfect and blessed me so much. I’m glad you couldn’t wait! 🙂 love, deb

  4. Teresa said,

    November 28, 2010 at 1:57 am

    Hello! I just discovered your blog today and this is the first post I read. I was thinking today and talking to God about how something that happened to me recently had to have some element of my responsibility in it. I was betrayed, very cruelly and lies told about me to many friends by another Christian. Someone I considered a good friend. This was one of the most hurtful times I have experienced lately, but I have been going over the conversation I had with this person trying to “figure out” why this happened and if I had any part in sinning during it. I read this statement “Sometimes they are the result of our own sin, sometimes they are forms of persecution as a result of our obedience, but a lot of times we just aren’t sure because even on our best day we still sin” I want you to know this post was such an encouragement and confirmation for me that God is indeed using this trial to bring Him glory, and He will comfort me and shelter me, even when I am in a pit, of my own making or otherwise. Now onto part two! God bless you and I love your blog!

  5. November 28, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Teresa,

    I am so glad you were encouraged, and I am so sorry that you are going through such a painful trial. It helps me to think about the unsearchable riches we have in Christ…mercy, grace, wisdom, peace and love.

    I am praying that the Lord would draw you even closer to Him during this time that He will heal your wounds, strengthen you, and guide you, so that He will be glorified in this situation.

    Theresa

  6. Teresa said,

    November 28, 2010 at 3:33 am

    God bless you Theresa, thank you so much for your kind words and prayer. These are the same things I have been praying for, I know God is working in this situation, why He lead me to your lovely blog. Thank you so much for your encouragement.

    • December 15, 2010 at 11:43 pm

      I have thought of you often this past week and have also enjoyed reading your blog. I hope things are looking a little brighter.

      Theresa

  7. bendedspoon said,

    November 29, 2010 at 3:48 am

    This is just what I need — continuous renewal of my mind
    that I may be transformed according to His will
    and not let those tears fall each time I remember the pain
    but praise Him so much more.
    I still have a long way to go but I can take it a step at a time — patiently.
    🙂

  8. November 29, 2010 at 4:18 am

    Rea,

    You are right…it can take a long time to heal. Jesus is patient and He helps us to be patient. Tears are a strange thing. Sometimes it makes us feel better to cry. It can help us to cast our cares on the Lord. Then there are other times when they just make our eyes swollen and we get a horrible head ache.
    They say that this was the shortest verse in the Bible:

    “Jesus wept.” John11:35

    He loves us so much. I am so glad that the Lord has granted you courage, and patience. I am going to pray that the Lord will wipe away that pain and those tears, and give you more joy. Oh that reminds me of another passage of scripture!

    “I will extol thee, O LORD; for thou hast lifted me up, and hast not made my foes to rejoice over me. O LORD my God, I cried unto thee, and thou hast healed me.O LORD, thou hast brought up my soul from the grave: thou hast kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit. Sing unto the LORD, O ye saints of his, and give thanks at the remembrance of his holiness. For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. Psalm 30:1-5

    I hope this helps us all. 🙂

    Love,

    Theresa

  9. bendedspoon said,

    November 29, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Today I learn about the shortest verse in the Bible but it says so much.
    Jesus wept. The almighty God wept just like us. That’s why He knows how we are feeling when we are in pain and what needs to be done — not necessarily stop it all at once but to proceed with the process of healing and growing in faith. Is that why all come out shining after following Him?
    Thank you Theresa for blessing me always! Love you!
    🙂

  10. November 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    You say things so well! 🙂

    Love,

    Theresa


Leave a Reply

