8 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    November 22, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Oh I just knew you could share about this in a one of a kind Jesus way! People talk about confidence and self-esteem . . .and I know what they are saying, because I have lacked both and it wasn’t good. But it wasn’t so much these 2 things that I lacked, but Jesus that I lacked. Having Him in my life has taken away most thoughts about lacking confidence or self-esteem. There isn’t really room for these thoughts now.
    I love how you said it . . .how we esteem the Lord. Yes. And having confidence in Him to be all He says He is and to do what He says He’ll do.
    Thank you so much Theresa, for being our woman of the word! Jesus lives and thrives in you! love, deb

  2. November 22, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Thank you,Deb! I have a friend who likes to say “It is not the size of your faith that matters; it is the object of your faith that really matters.” I believe it is the same when it comes to confidence. I am afraid that in this age what people refer to as self-confidence and self-esteem are really new labels for the old idea that we can have confidence in the flesh, when actually we are commanded “not” to have confidence in the flesh(Philippians 3:3-9). I can tell by reading your blog that you understand. It continually illustrates your love and dependence on Christ. 🙂

    Love,

    Theresa

  3. tonirand said,

    November 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks Theresa.

    Now I have to play catch up here too 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this with us. I’ve often heard there is a thin line between conceit and confidence. Thanks for making this clearer in my head. Our Bible study teacher taught that the “peace of God gives unquestionable confidence; the peace with a sure knowledge that one’s life is in the hands of God” Were you in that class? 😉 Isn’t it great the way the Holy Spirit gives revelation? Thank you, Theresa.

    Thanks for the reminder that our confidence is in Him. His death and resurrection have made us joint heirs with Him.

    He is indeed the one who lifts my head, Deb. I can walk in freedom knowing that my past doesn’t matter anymore.

    Blessings upon blessings!
    ann

  4. November 22, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Ann, what great thoughts are in that comment. It also made me read Deb’s comment again. I just have to quote you both.

    Here is yours, Deb:

    “Having Him in my life has taken away most thoughts about lacking confidence or self-esteem. There isn’t really room for these thoughts now.”

    I love that! It is a great application of this passage:

    “15John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me. 16And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace.” John 1:15-16

    Self must decrease as the Lord increases and fills up more of our hearts and lives, but as that happens our confidence to face whatever lies ahead also increases, because we are more aware of His presence.

    Ann, isn’t it exciting to be learning things about God and then to meet other people who are, too? I wish you both were within driving distance from my house. I am guessing that you must live near a beach, because of the photo on your blog. I live in the South, but many hours from an ocean,and I believe Deb is as far away from me as you are. But we have our blogs and we have each other here…sigh 🙂

    ““peace of God gives unquestionable confidence; the peace with a sure knowledge that one’s life is in the hands of God” …Beautiful words!

    • tonirand said,

      November 23, 2010 at 4:02 am

      Yes. It is good for the brethren to dwell together in unity! Thank you for allowing us to come here and feed. (Deb’s gleaning poem is stuck in my head). We’ll all glean here and there and in all the other blogs where there’s so much ‘fat’.

      We completed an in-depth study on the Fruit of the Spirit a few weeks ago. Galations 5:22-23 has been the subject of many a golden text. I’ve known it for years but I’ve never heard it expounded this way. I’m thankful my life is in His hands. I’m learning to bear right fruit!

      Re the pic: – I’m far away from the beach. That picture is my dream 🙂

      God bless you,
      ann

  5. Linda said,

    November 24, 2010 at 4:15 am

    Hello everyone…

    I wish I lived nearby, too. What a wonderful study, and how nice to meet other Believers online. All the talk about confidence has helped me remember what I did to feel good enough before I accepted Christ… alcohol, men, trashy clothes, excessive spending, no sense of integrity at all. And I swear, Jesus persued me. I had no idea how much I needed a Savior.

    “Self must decrease as the Lord increases.” I thought that would be alot of work and sacrifice, but it’s the easiest thing in the world to do, because I love Him. I’m so grateful to be a new creature…

    Thank you, Theresa… that was wonderful! : )

  6. November 24, 2010 at 4:51 am

    Linda,

    I am so glad you commented here. You will have to stop by Deb, and Ann’s blogs…really great stuff. Deb recently wrote a post about “gleaning” and it includes a beautiful poem. Each entry she writes contains a Bible verse, and a few words about it followed by inspirational poems that read very much like prayers.

    Ann writes really great devotions and heartfelt prayers that are quite moving. She recently wrote one about how the Lord places people in each others lives at just the right time. It included a passage from Ecclesiastes 4 that I just loved! Here it is:

    “9 Two are better than one because they have a good reward for their efforts. 10 For if either falls, his companion can lift him up; but pity the one who falls without another to lift him up. 11 Also, if two lie down together, they can keep warm; but how can one person alone keep warm? (J) 12 And if somebody overpowers one person, two can resist him. A cord of three strands is not easily broken.”

    Ann, Deb,…you both must check out Linda’s blog. She is a very talented and insightful writer, and glorifies the Lord with her posts. I have a feeling she will be touching many hearts. 🙂

  7. November 24, 2010 at 5:14 am

    Linda,

    I forgot to comment on what you said. The more I talk to you, the more I like you. I really admire your confidence, candor, and your devotion to the the Lord. What an awesome testimony. I identified, too. Sometimes those flashes from the past make me cringe. The Lord forgives so easily, but forgiving myself has been a struggle. All of you ladies have really helped me.


Leave a Reply

