10 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    November 22, 2010 at 1:04 am

    Thank you for the confidence in Him you share. I love how you ponder His word and study further, seeking Him, for those truths and promises. So thankful and awed that He does deliver us from evil, that we are forever in His care. I would want for you to not have ever experienced what you have . . .that no one would suffer. But I’m learning to trust Him, that He knows and is truly working for our good. love you! deb

  2. Debbie said,

    November 22, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Back again! After commenting, I read this post – it just seemed to go with yours! Also, I realized that I didn’t have you on my blog roll. Will fix that! God bless you!

    How Firm A Foundation
    By John Keith 1787

    How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord,
    Is laid for your faith in His excellent word!
    What more can He say than to you He hath said—
    To you who for refuge to Jesus have fled?

    “Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed,
    For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
    I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
    Upheld by My gracious, omnipotent hand.

    “When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
    The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
    For I will be with thee thy trouble to bless,
    And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

    “When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
    My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply;
    The flame shall not harm thee; I only design
    Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.

    “The soul that on Jesus doth lean for repose,
    I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
    That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
    I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.”

  3. November 22, 2010 at 3:41 am

    Thank you so much for the words of encouragement. and that beautiful song! I love that song so much.

    Love,

    Theresa

  4. bendedspoon said,

    November 23, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I am in awe on how well you understand God’s Word
    for noticing the details such as the verb tense
    and yes for that insight that you shared with me
    about evil within and without.
    I often ask when will I feel truly close to God
    and I see in you and others where I am not.
    🙂

  5. November 23, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    “I often ask when will I feel truly close to God and I see in you and others where I am not.” I ask that very same question probably every day. I ask “Why can’t I be more like Deb, more like the little old lady I saw in town that gave me that big hug…Why can’t I be more like Rea?”

    Oh Rea, we, like King David, have poor and needy bodies, minds, have hearts that can be faint. We all struggle daily with “feelings” of being very far from God. But we are not. Do you realize that when you feel like that you are actually in a state of “blessedness”? Whenever we are very aware that we are lacking something, it means we are hungering and thirsting for it. Look at what Jesus said:

    ” 1And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain: and when he was set, his disciples came unto him:

    2And he opened his mouth, and taught them, saying,

    3Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

    4Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

    5Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

    6Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

    7Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

    8Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

    9Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

    10Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

    11Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.

    12Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.” Matthew 5:1-12

    Look at the song Deb shared above. Usually hymns are songs sung by us to God, but this one is based on a Bible passage from Isaiah. It is God’s love song to us.

    When it comes to natural godliness we will always come up lacking, because we are sinners, but Rea, do not forget that you are very precious in God’s sight, and that “New Creature” that was born when we first believed the gospel and received salvation is fearfully and wonderfully made…that Spirit God put in us is exceedingly wonderful and precious (Psalm 139). “You” are a woman after God’s own heart!…you have been after mine ever since the first time you posted. 🙂

    “sigh”…my replies to comments can sometimes run so long; sometimes even longer than my blog entry. I guess that is just the way God made me.

    Love,

    Theresa

    • bendedspoon said,

      November 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      You made me cry — again!
      Why is that I am such a cry baby lately? But then it’s actually good because it’s a good cry. Each time I read the Godly thoughts that you all share I feel reassured and loved by God. Each time I have concerns about my faith you have the right scriptures for me. And yes, it’s a beautiful song, “Fear not, I am with thee..”

      I actually want to print and frame this post/comments to remind me of God’s love through you.Thank you so much Theresa. You can actually love somebody far away! And here’s my love too for you and Deb!
      🙂

    • Debbie said,

      November 23, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      Oh what a beautiful comment! I’m blown away by how He works in you and needed to hear this too! So glad God made you just as you are!
      love, deb

  6. November 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Thank you Rea! I went back and changed my above comment just a little…I was afraid that I described the Spirit wrong, so please read it again. It worries me when I say things about God and mess up with my words.

    Love, Theresa

  7. November 23, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Deb,

    “How lovely on the mountains are the feet of him,
    Who brings good news, good news;
    Announcing peace, proclaiming news of happiness.
    Our God Reigns! Our God Reigns! ”

    Been reading your blog again and all of the wonderful comments…
    Always seasoned with love and grace, desiring good things (lettuce and carrots) for all. 🙂

    http://iftodaywehear.wordpress.com/2010/11/22/the-art-of-gleaning/

    “Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.”

    You have taught me some things…both in your lines and between them.

    God bless you Deb, Woman of Faith, Child of God!

    Love,

    Theresa

  8. December 14, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “… Innumerable evils do surround the Lord’s children, and their iniquities (evil:– fault, mischief) can be more than the hairs on their heads, can overcome them to the point that they lose heart, but the Lord’s goodness and mercy is so much greater,… “


Leave a Reply

