Transitions (Part 2…A Time to Wait)

Originally posted on February 11,2010 at 8:07 p.m.

 

Scripture References;

To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under the heaven.  Ecclesiastes 3:1  KJV

What does the worker gain from his struggles? I have seen the task that God has given people to keep them occupied. He has made everything appropriate in its time. He has also put eternity in their hearts, but man cannot discover the work God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for them than to rejoice and enjoy the good life. It is also the gift of God whenever anyone eats, drinks, and enjoys all his efforts. I know that all God does will last forever; there is no adding to it or taking from it. God works so that people will be in awe of Him. Whatever is, has already been, and whatever will be, already is. God repeats what has passed.   Ecclesiastes 3:9-15 HCSB

9What profit hath he that worketh in that wherein he laboureth?10I have seen the travail, which God hath given to the sons of men to be exercised in it.11He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end.12I know that there is no good in them, but for a man to rejoice, and to do good in his life.13And also that every man should eat and drink, and enjoy the good of all his labour, it is the gift of God.14I know that, whatsoever God doeth, it shall be for ever: nothing can be put to it, nor any thing taken from it: and God doeth it, that men should fear before him.15That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been; and God requireth that which is past. Ecclesiastes 3:9-15 KJV

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.  James 1:17 KJV

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46:10  NIV

2He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. Psalm 23:2 KJV

Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.  Psalm 25:5  KJV

Whatever you do, do it enthusiastically,  as something done for the Lord and not for men,  knowing that you will receive the reward of an inheritance from the Lord—you serve the Lord Christ.  Colossians 3:23-24  HCSB

Judge not, that ye be not judged.  For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.  Matthew 7:1-2 KJV

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it? I the LORD search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.  Jeremiah 17:9-10 KJV

LORD, You have searched me and known me.   You know when I sit down and when I stand up; You understand my thoughts from far away.  You observe my travels and my rest;  You are aware of all my ways.   Before a word is on my tongue, You know all about it, LORD.  You have encircled me; You have placed Your hand on me. [This] extraordinary knowledge is beyond me.It is lofty; I am unable to [reach] it.  Psalm 139:1-6 HCSB

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns.  See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the everlasting way.  Psalm 139:23-24 HCSB


Well, I listed an awful lot of scripture for this entry, but I believe they truly are worthy of our attention.  Like I said in “Transitions (Part One), I am having to learn to wait on many things.  Below are some thoughts I have about what I am learning from the Bible today, as I wait on some things… After all, “learning” and “doing” are two things that can take place while “waiting”.

There are so many beautiful truths concerning what man does and what God does. I am thinking about several facts.

I am thinking about the fact that it says in the Bible that man looks at the outward appearance, but God looks at the heart (1Samuel 16:7). This is not just about how we see others, but how we see ourselves. We can look at the outward appearance of ourselves ( our lives), and feel either conceited or condemned (Both are bad things.).

I am also thinking about the fact that we cannot know all that is in our hearts, much less what is in the hearts of others. The Lord will reveal some of the heart’s contents to us here during this life we are living on the earth, but not all at once. The Lord alone is acquainted with “all” our ways (Jeremiah 17:9-10, Psalm 139:1-6, & 23-24).  That is why we are to ask “the Lord” to search our hearts.  Does this mean that I am saying that the verses below are not true?

” Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.  Ye shall know them by their fruits.  Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? ( Matthew 7 :15-16)”

No, that is not what I am saying.  The passage is true, but it is often misunderstood and misapplied. It can take awhile before fruit shows up. If we are patient and seek the Lord He will help us to make sound judgments. Yes, the Bible does teach us that we will have to make judgments, but it is filled with warnings that tell us to not be quick to judge, and that much of the time we should be more careful “NOT” to judge (Matthew 7:1-2).

I am also thinking about the fact that scripture teaches us to be still and know that He is God, and to wait patiently upon the Lord, but that does not mean we are to go sit on the front porch gazing at the sky until we either die or are raptured (LOL Please do not take that as being irreverent or flippant.).  He has given us both work to do and rests to take  and the important thing is that we do them as unto the Lord, as if He is the one for whom we are working, and He also is the one who commands us to rest. Psalm 23:2 say’s “He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.”

I am also thinking about the fact that much of what we do that we think has eternal value (will be considered when the Lord gives out rewards to Christians at the judgment seat of Christ) will burn up, and it will be the good works that we did that we never even realized we were doing that will most likely be of the most eternal value and will not be burned up.

Finally I am thinking…No, I am not just thinking, but pausing to marvel at how amazing it is, how it gladdens my heart, that God has an unchanging nature and that all He does will last forever (this applies to James 1:17 and to Ecclesiastes 3:14-15)….and what does God do?  A lot.  One thing He does is the work of Salvation (He saves us.)!  He prepared a place for us in Heaven!  He loves us!  He puts us in his care!…He does so many things.

Just the little bit I shared above only scratches the surface, when it comes to all we can learn from that passage in Ecclesiastes.

I hope I didn’t get too carried away. He promises to show us all so much in His word; all he requires is a seeking heart.  He will show you things that he did not show me, because he knows just what each one of us needs on any given day.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

8 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    November 11, 2010 at 1:49 am

    I don’t think you got carried away at all. 🙂 You have such a gift, such a beautiful way of sharing and teaching. It comforts and calms me. It reassures me. Does that make sense? I was given the reassurance through scripture here and through your words, that more is happening in my heart and life than I am aware of. But I can trust Him and not fret that I am missing Him and what He wants me to do. I am in His care, He loves me, and He is working out what is best for me and my loved ones and everyone else my life intersects with or will yet.
    God bless you always, Theresa, and thank you for posting this! deb

  2. November 11, 2010 at 3:49 am

    It’s true. But I understand. I am prone to doubt and to fear. I believe every word, every promise found in scripture, but when I look at myself I often think, “But I must be the exception!”, but when I confess those doubts and fears and turn to the Bible to see what God says the Lord restores my faith…David said “restore unto me the joy of my salvation”. He still had his salvation. It was the joy that had to be restored, the free Spirit to sustain his walk had to be restored, too. There are no exceptions. If we have ever seen ourselves as ruined sinners and believed the message of the gospel, if we have ever called on Him we cannot miss Him…He dwells in you and you are “in Him”. I heard a preacher once say that Noah’s ark was real, but it also symbolized Christ. Look at the passage below:

    ” 24God that made the world and all things therein, seeing that he is Lord of heaven and earth, dwelleth not in temples made with hands; 25Neither is worshipped with men’s hands, as though he needed any thing, seeing he giveth to all life, and breath, and all things; 26And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation;
    27That they should seek the Lord, if haply they might feel after him, and find him, though he be not far from every one of us: 28For in him we live, and move, and have our being; as certain also of your own poets have said, For we are also his offspring.” Acts 17:24-27

    The preacher went on to say that the Lord didn’t have Noah attach handles to the sides of the ark so they all could hang on and hope for the best. God had them go “in” the ark, and they were saved. And that’s not all…God made sure that when they went inside that they would not fall out of that ark. Look at this:

    “16And they that went in, went in male and female of all flesh, as God had commanded him: and the LORD shut him in.” Genesis 7:16 Who shut them in? The Lord did. The Lord “encircles us”… “besets us” behind and before. See Psalm 139 and John 17.

    Deb, be of good cheer. you might lose your balance, stumble, and even get sea sick, but if you have placed your faith in Jesus you won’t miss the boat and you won’t be tossed out! 🙂

    • Debbie said,

      November 11, 2010 at 4:00 am

      Thank you sooooo much! Your replies are like a soothing balm for my soul, like a whole post in themselves! 🙂 God bless you and keep you, refreshing you each day in His everlasting joy! deb

  3. tonirand said,

    November 11, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Theresa,

    The ‘little bit’ you shared was not a little bit at all 😉 and no, you did not get carried away either.

    I don’t like waiting and I don’t like to be late. I usually want it done a few minutes ago. Surprise!! God does not work off my schedule so you can imagine how much I have to learn / have been learning. Sometimes it’s in waiting that we meet with Him in ways that we would have missed if we were otherwise occupied. When plans don’t unfold the way we expect it’s easy to get flustered but the big picture (as you so aptly painted) makes all the difference in the world.

    The week so far has been very interesting for me but I am determined to let HIM drive. It’s tempting to follow my own map but I have resolved to follow Him even when I can’t see what’s ahead. I feel like the exception at times too but His word does give the answers I need. I just have to train myself to hear what He’s saying and to stop listening for what I want to hear.

    Thank you for this beautiful piece … it’s almost as though I could see right into your heart as I read. You have such a passion for our Lord. It shows in the way you write 🙂

    Blessings
    ann

  4. bendedspoon said,

    November 11, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Whew! What a heap of blessings you have just poured!
    And some are realizations for me like
    “we cannot know all that is in our hearts,
    much less what is in the hearts of others.”
    and “it will be the good works that we did
    that we never even realized we were doing
    that will most likely be of the most eternal value
    and will not be burned up.”
    and I so agree with “not gazing in the sky until we die”
    because there are so many things to do for God while waiting.
    But for now, let me gaze in the sky
    while thinking further about the truths in your post.
    🙂

  5. November 11, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Oh yes, Rea! Do that! A time for everything. Work as unto the Lord, rest as unto the Lord, and stand in awesome wonder of Him! 🙂

    Love you much,

    Theresa

  6. November 12, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Ann, I was just looking at the comments here again and realized that I never responded to yours. I had intended to, but I somehow forgot to come back and do that.

    We have so much in common! We have common struggles, common passion, and best of all…a common hope. Your prayers and your words of encouragement have been such a help to me. I wish I could explain, but sometimes words just escape me. I also have sensed something in your blog that has really blessed me. 🙂

    Theresa

  7. tonirand said,

    November 13, 2010 at 4:28 am

    You are most welcome, Theresa [ You are such a sweet soul 🙂 God bless your heart!]

    Iron sharpens iron. Thank you, too, for your kind encouragement. We don’t always know why God allows things to happen the way they do but He has a purpose. May His name be glorified as we continue to use our gifts to share His love.

    Blessings always,
    ann


Leave a Reply

