18 Comments

  1. November 2, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Sometimes when I type links in my posts I do it wrong,and then you have to copy and paste them in order to use them. Here is the link to her blog:

    http://bethsciallo.wordpress.com/2009/08/18/psalm-23-unseen-treasure-part-1/

  2. bethsciallo said,

    November 2, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Thank you for this blessing – Beth

  3. tonirand said,

    November 3, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Hi Theresa,

    I kept coming by to see what nuggets of truth you had to share 🙂

    Thanks for coming up for air. I’ll go visit the link now.

    blessings
    ann

  4. November 3, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Ann,

    Thank you for coming by. I have a feeling you will be so glad you did…The 23rd Psalm is a psalm that has been memorized and recited by many. Like our favorite hymns, it can be taken for granted.

    I still cannot get over the vivid illustration the Lord gave Beth to share in her blog. I will probably go back and read the series again. This past year has had several difficulties that I and my family have had to face. One of them was watching my father-in-law lose his battle with cancer (He died on the 11th of March.) You can read about them by clicking on “Transitions” in the left column. I still am struggling with panic attacks and depression. It is humbling for me to share that, because my pride says, “People who are spiritually mature don’t have panic attacks”. My heart experienced a considerable amount of comfort as I read her posts. Perhaps confessing one’s vanity and pride is one of the ways one overcomes them and the fear that they can produce.

    Theresa

  5. Debbie said,

    November 3, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Theresa, Beth’s post was so beautiful. . .so . . .necessary. Thank you so much for sharing her with us. And Theresa . . .I’m so sorry about all you’ve been through, and just feeling like you’re not suppose to have any “problems”. I have some things that I am ashamed of, that I have a hard time telling anyone. So, I understand more than you know. And am praying with you, as you pray with me. His biggest, best blessings and love to you, deb

  6. November 3, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    I am so glad we can pray for each other.

    Love,

    Theresa

  7. tonirand said,

    November 3, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Thank you, Theresa.

    What Deb said.

    Thanks so much for sharing. This link http://pttyann2.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/secrets-2/ has today’s devotional from the book I use. I’m learning to let God work on the things I have not dealt with over the years (not easy!!)

    I will keep you in my prayers. I’m trusting He will heal and soothe. We need Him so badly. Why we have to deal with pain I don’t know but I will trust His word that He is our peace.

    Beth’s blog was very, very insightful. I’ve sent the link to a few friends who helped us deal with a family emergency yesterday. Funny, I’ve known this Psalm for as long as I can remember still God brings revelation.

    Bless you, Theresa. Thanks for sharing your heart. I am humbled. I will pray.

    ann

  8. November 3, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    Ann,

    Thank you for sharing that link. I went there and I read it. It is good to pour it all out to the Lord. I also read this entry there:

    http://pttyann2.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/following-in-the-footsteps-of-jesus/

    It was so good to be reminded that Jesus went to solitary quiet places to rest. I have a quiet life…am a housewife and mom, but it is so easy to forget to really seek his face. I pray off and on throughout the day, but sometimes it all becomes so habitual …I hope I am making sense. It is so easy to slip into going through the motions and miss out on those genuine “times of refreshing”. Then when I do share it comes more from my head, instead of from an illuminated heart. Then those “hunger pangs” come and I realize what I have done and what I need to do, and what I need to do is actually so simple. But my flesh tries to trick me
    into thinking it is not, and that I should put it off. Thank goodness the Spirit always wins eventually. 🙂

    I am so thankful I have made friends like you and so many others in the blogging world who listen, share, and pray.

    • tonirand said,

      November 4, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      Hi Thersa,

      (I typed up a response but it vanished… if it shows up as a duplicate, please delete )

      My friend always quotes Matthew 6:8. Or Heavenly Father knows the things we have need of before we ask … We don’t even have to ask in order for Him to set the wheels in motion! He’s already working on it.
      It’s great to know He has put together a support team for us for each situation we’ll go through. We’re blessed indeed.

      Sometimes I find myself running around like a chicken without its head trying to get everything done while the most important thing is being ignored. Yes, I too am thankful for the gentle prodding of the Holy Spirit. O how I need the nudges!!

      May God continue to bless you and yours. He does make all things beautiful in His time.

      ann

  9. mariqia said,

    November 4, 2010 at 8:49 am

    That is a powerful verse..The Lord’s goodness is so apparent..

  10. November 4, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Yes, it really is. 🙂

  11. November 4, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Thank you all so much for the encouragement! I wish I could explain a little better, but just know that my blogging friends are filling a very important place in my life right now. I have so much for which to be thankful. I just have hit a phase of life where I am a little unsettled. I wish I had time to share more…

    Theresa

    • Debbie said,

      November 4, 2010 at 9:58 pm

      Thinking of you today, and praying too. I want you to know that God has used you and the blogging community in my life so much. From being so isolated and maybe not getting to “talk” to another believer day after day, to now being able to share and read and receive spiritual food and encouragement daily! I know Jesus knows all that is going on in your life, so we can pray without knowing all the details. Because He does! 🙂 Love you!

  12. bendedspoon said,

    November 6, 2010 at 9:35 am

    This verse comforted me so much when I was so low.
    This verse excites me — imagine living in the house of the Lord!
    This verse makes me smile each time it is recited by my kiddos.
    And right now, I am smiling because the boys are in my back.
    Thanks Theresa and I’m praying for you too.
    🙂

  13. November 6, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Rea,

    It’s so good to hear from you! I’m so glad that you are smiling!

    Deb,
    I identify. 🙂

    Thank you both so much.

  14. tonirand said,

    November 8, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Trusting Him to carry you in the palm of His hands today. May He reveal Himself to you in new and beautiful ways and may you clearly see Him at work as the day unfolds.

    Blessings,
    ann

  15. November 8, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Thank you. Friday night I was invited to a ladies worship event at a church in my town. I do not attend that church. Right now we are visiting another small church in our town, but do not feel lead to join. We left a church that we were very active in for a number of years in 2008. That is one of the things that has been heaviest on my heart…feeling home sick for the “church home” we still have not found. My husband and I were singers, but for the past 2 years our singing has been only at home and in the car. I did get a blessing Friday night, though. 🙂 Pray that I will continue to be patient and obedient.

  16. tonirand said,

    November 8, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    You are most welcome! 🙂

    “He who began a good work in you is faithful…” May God bless your times together. May He give you a new song through this experience. A song that will not only be a blessing to you but also to those he gives you release to share it with.

    I will pray that He will reveal the next steps for you. Would be nice if He could just show you the path but He tends to give us one step at a time 🙂

    blessings
    ann


Leave a Reply

