11 Comments

  1. October 19, 2010 at 1:52 am

    I think you captured bendedspoon and her blog so beautifully, with the scripture and the quotes! 🙂 It is sweet smelling right through the screen! 🙂 God bless you and yours, precious one!

  2. October 19, 2010 at 3:12 am

    Thank you, Deb. 🙂

  3. bendedspoon said,

    October 19, 2010 at 6:16 am

    I came here to be inspired
    and you didn’t disappointment as usual!
    Thank you Theresa for everything in this entry.
    For God’s Word
    For the friendship
    For the positivity in crushed violet
    For the beauty of one’s thoughts
    For inspiring me to come up with amethyst brooch.
    You pour so much blessings on me today — thank you!
    🙂

  4. October 19, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

    • bendedspoon said,

      October 19, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      and to add to that,
      you made me read Chapter 14 of Anne of Green Gables
      where she confessed of losing the brooch just so she could join the picnic!
      🙂

  5. tonirand said,

    October 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Could we be as forgiving as the violet?

    Something about the crushed violet offering fragrance reminds me of the wounds of Christ that brought us salvation and freedom…

    Deep stuff. Thanks for highlighting bendedspoon’s submission.

    blessings
    ann

  6. October 19, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Ann,

    I am so glad you caught that. That was exactly what I wanted to communicate! I looked for scripture yesterday, but there was a verse that I lacked. Forgiveness is so lovely and precious; and also a rare treasure when looking among people, but we will always find it in Jesus.

    We ladies like fragrance. We wear it, and we also like to fill our homes with it. We can have a favorite scent and find it in a body spray, but it is not as intense and long lasting as real perfume. It is the same when comparing ourselves to Christ!

    2And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour. Ephesians 5:2

    Theresa

  7. October 19, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Rea,

    The Anne Books…they are in my opinion, a wonderful treasure box of “Whatsoever things are lovely”! I believe the world we live in today gives us too much access to “Whatsoever things are NOT lovely”. I call it “eating of the knowledge of good and evil”. Adam and Eve already in a sense had the knowledge of “good”, because they walked in the garden with God. Then they were tricked and “did eat”, and suddenly they had the knowledge of “evil”, as well. And we all know what happened. We still have a choice when it comes to what we will explore, what we will dwell on. Whenever believers make the wrong choice it makes their hearts sick and feel terrible pain.

    I am so glad our loving Heavenly Father has given us talented writers like
    L.M. Montgomery, and you who provide us with happy and uplifting things to feast on…medicine for those who have eaten the wrong things and have stomach aches. 🙂

    Love,

    Theresa

  8. bendedspoon said,

    October 19, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    ahaha I need medicines too!
    Come to think of it, we’re all medicines – cure for certain sickness.
    But who is the ultimate healer? Write about that!

    You hit home when you mentioned heart gets sick with the wrong choice. It does, even with just the intention of doing something wrong. So, thanks for the reminder that we have choices on what to explore and dwell upon.

    Got to check The Anne Books and please recommend too books for the boys. My son is enjoying Hardy Boys right now. Got to create a page for books that the family can read.
    🙂

  9. October 19, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Rea,

    I have just the thing!…”The Chronicles of Narnia”, by C.S. Lewis. The first book in this series is “The Magician’s Nephew”, and the second one is “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.” “Farmer Boy” by Laura Ingalls Wilder is good. I believe my son might have been around 9 years old when we read these. What are the ages of your boys? Let me know, and I will see what I can come up with. 🙂

    • bendedspoon said,

      October 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      my boys are 9 and 7 years old.
      we will check those books
      thanks!
      🙂


Leave a Reply

