12 Comments

  1. October 8, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Wow Theresa! I love how you put together a post . . .a soul stirring, God honoring one. I couldn’t read all of the Mackintosh essay, but it sure did move me . . .to run to Jesus. To give Him my all. I love that He never lowers the standard, but raises us to meet it. God bless you and your big Jesus heart! Long distance hugs! your deb

  2. October 8, 2010 at 3:31 am

    What a great post! I read the whole article and it was such an encouragement to me. That described me perfectly- backslidden and afraid to come back to the Lord. In fact, I even described it as such when I was talking to my dad once. I told him that I knew the Lord could have mercy on unsaved sinners, but I didn’t know if He would have mercy on me. But He is rich in mercy and I am so thankful! Thanks for a great post!

    ps. I love “Lord, I’m Coming Home”!

  3. October 8, 2010 at 3:40 am

    “He never lowers the standard, but raises us to meet it”. I know that was the idea Mackintosh was expressing, but that particular phrase…Did you say that on your blog once? It sounds familiar. I’m going to feel silly if it was in the essay. I want to use it in a quotation, but I want to give credit where it is due. 🙂 God bless you and your big Jesus heart, too. Thank you so much for the hug! I’m sending one back. 🙂

    Theresa

    • October 8, 2010 at 3:48 am

      I don’t remember saying that before . . .I only read the first part of this essay . . .and I think I was just rephrasing it. Unless he says it later on in it! ha! Got that hug! 🙂

  4. October 8, 2010 at 3:51 am

    Ben,

    I am so glad it blessed you. I know how you feel. I really do. It makes you that much more grateful, doesn’t it? I know it makes me feel that way.

    If you ever get a chance, you should read his notes on Exodus there at stem publishing. They are as long as a book, and take a considerable amount of time, because you have to read his stuff slowly. But if you do you will be in for a real treat. He loved the Lord and has this uncanny ability to explain things.

    I hope you have a great week. 🙂

    Theresa

  5. tonirand said,

    October 8, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Deep stuff. He cannot be satisfied until He has me to Himself. I am humbled and honoured that the mighty God would desire communion with me. If only I could learn to just chill and let Him do what He wants to do.:(
    Some days I think I’m there. Other days I feel like a little lost lamb.

    Oh Father, please help me to fully realize that You are indeed ALL I need and that I will never be fully satisfied until my life is completely surrendered to You. (Always, continually, every minute of every day)

    Thanks for sharing, Theresa. You’re a blessings as always!

    Peace,
    ann

  6. October 8, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Ann,

    “Some days I think I’m there. Other days I feel like a little lost lamb.”

    You are in good company. None of us have arrived. I believe that every Christian feels that way, even on their best day. My head is bowed and I am praying that prayer on my behalf, too. It is a a God honoring prayer….Amen

    You know, that prayer reflects a heart’s desire that I have seen in the Apostle Paul. He had both great convictions and a great hope. I love his words in the passage below.

    From Groans to Glory
    18 For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is going to be revealed to us. 19 For the creation eagerly waits with anticipation for God’s sons to be revealed. 20 For the creation was subjected to futility —not willingly, but because of Him who subjected it —in the hope 21 that the creation itself will also be set free from the bondage of corruption into the glorious freedom of God’s children. 22 For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together with labor pains ) until now. 23 And not only that, but we ourselves who have the Spirit as the firstfruits —we also groan within ourselves, eagerly waiting for adoption, the redemption of our bodies. 24 Now in this hope we were saved, yet hope ) that is seen is not hope, because who hopes for what he sees? 25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with patience.

    26 In the same way the Spirit also joins to help in our weakness, because we do not know what to pray for as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with unspoken groanings. 27 And He who searches the hearts knows the Spirit’s mind-set, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

    28 We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God: those who are called according to His purpose. 29 For those He foreknew He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brothers. 30 And those He predestined, He also called; and those He called, He also justified; and those He justified, He also glorified. Romans 8:18-30 HCSB

    Blessings,

    Theresa

  7. bendedspoon said,

    October 12, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    ‘Come home, come.
    You will never be happy, you will never be right, until you yield a full response to this blessed and soul-stirring call.’

    You have just called me anew through God’s word and soulful hymns.
    Why am I tempted at times to wander away from Him?
    Is it because of pain or fear of making a difference and forget about myself?
    I have yet to arrive but I know it will be a warm welcome.
    🙂

  8. October 12, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Rea,

    We are two peas in a pod. We both are in the same boat, but we also have the same captain who can lead us safely to that shore. I am so happy He has brought us together! 🙂

  9. Heather said,

    October 28, 2010 at 1:01 am

    Thank you for sharing this post.

    I do stray often, but my heart does feel restless when I know I”m not right…and can feel the pull to return to the correct path.

    Sometimes, my emotions will war with my mind or my understanding of scripture will conflict with the advice of godly people whom I respect. But returning to Jesus’ feet and quietly waiting for His answer is never a disappointment.

  10. October 28, 2010 at 1:45 am

    That is always best…because He knows you like no one else does…and loves you like no one else does! 🙂

  11. May 15, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “But the pious reader may want to know what is meant by the expression quoted above, namely, ‘God always keeps us up to the original terms’. Well, it simply means this, that when God calls us to any special position or path, and we fall short of it, or wander from it, He will recall us to it again and again. And further, when we set out under some special principle of action or standard of devotedness, and swerve from it, or fall below it, He will remind us of it, and bring us back to it. True, He bears with us patiently, and waits on us graciously; but ‘He always keeps us up to the original terms’.” C.H. Mackintosh


Leave a Reply

