13 Comments

  1. bendedspoon said,

    September 30, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Theresa I love this one!
    What if I folow all of these?
    Specially praying about the person
    who grieves me.
    And more specially about me
    confessing all my pains to the Lord.
    And most specially
    having the Lord in my life at all times.
    🙂

  2. September 30, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I’m so glad this blessed you. We have a tendency to make living the Christian life so complicated. We just confess our sins to the Lord,and ask Him to put good desires in our hearts and to help us to be able to obey. There is a Bible verse that says He delights in showing mercy; His mercy endures forever. We can confess everything to Him, even our doubts. We can confess to Him that at times our faith is weak and that we sometimes have difficulty believing the Bible is true, and ask Him to grant us more faith, and He will! 🙂 Below is a story about a man who had doubts, and told the Lord about them, and then the Lord did a wonderful thing!

    ” 14 When they came to the disciples, they saw a large crowd around them and scribes disputing with them. 15 All of a sudden, when the whole crowd saw Him, they were amazed and ran to greet Him. 16 Then He asked them, “What are you arguing with them about?”

    17 Out of the crowd, one man answered Him, “Teacher, I brought my son to You. He has a spirit that makes him unable to speak. 18 Wherever it seizes him, it throws him down, and he foams at the mouth, grinds his teeth, and becomes rigid. So I asked Your disciples to drive it out, but they couldn’t.”

    19 He replied to them, “You unbelieving generation! How long will I be with you? How long must I put up with you? Bring him to Me.” 20 So they brought him to Him. When the spirit saw Him, it immediately convulsed the boy. He fell to the ground and rolled around, foaming at the mouth. 21 “How long has this been happening to him?” Jesus asked his father.

    “From childhood,” he said. 22 “And many times it has thrown him into fire or water to destroy him. But if You can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.”

    23 Then Jesus said to him, ” ‘If You can?’ Everything is possible to the one who believes.”

    24 Immediately the father of the boy cried out, “I do believe! Help my unbelief.”

    25 When Jesus saw that a crowd was rapidly coming together, He rebuked the unclean spirit, saying to it, “You mute and deaf spirit, I command you: come out of him and never enter him again!”

    26 Then it came out, shrieking and convulsing him violently. The boy became like a corpse, so that many said, “He’s dead.” 27 But Jesus, taking him by the hand, raised him, and he stood up.

    28 After He went into a house, His disciples asked Him privately, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?”

    29 And He told them, “This kind can come out by nothing but prayer [and fasting]” Mark 9:14-29

    Jesus promised that He would save all who call on His name, and He also said that He would never leave or forsake those who have done that no matter what we have done or will do (Hebrews 13:5). He loves us that much! 🙂

  3. bendedspoon said,

    September 30, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Thank you for the comfort and reassurance.
    Praying should not indeed stop even amidst the doubt.
    Sometimes when I feel so weak I just chose not to speak
    and the more I keep mum, the more I feel down.
    I should keep on calling His name in praise and pain.
    🙂

  4. September 30, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Yes, yes, keep calling out, especially if it lifts you up. And when you can think of no words just know that the Holy Spirit will pray for you! Be of good cheer! 🙂

    Love, Theresa

  5. November 25, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    “What if we got a small tablet and pencil and kept it with us each day? Then, what if we earnestly prayed first thing each morning that the Lord would have his way in our hearts, minds, and our lives?

    Then, what if each time we noticed that we were about to dwell on something that we shouldn’t have been dwelling on, we confessed it to the Lord and thanked Him for showing it to us? Then, if the thought was about a person; pray that the Lord would have his way in their heart, mind, and life?”

  6. coastalmom said,

    November 25, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    I have been waiting for another blog post from you and found this. I must have been meant to read it TODAY!!!! I needed it. Loved it. Love you!
    My prayer warrior friend! Please pray for my last week at a place I need a couple tablets and pencil sharpeners to be at! :/ 🙂
    xoxo
    di

    • November 25, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      Love you, too, Diane! I am so thankful for you. I will pray!

      Hugs and blessings,
      Theresa

  7. Paislee Blu said,

    November 25, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    Had to stop by and wish you a much blessed Thanksgiving–wondering if you have big plans, a big get-together, and will you be cooking/baking? Much love to you, Caddo

    • November 25, 2014 at 11:25 pm

      I will be a lady of leisure! My parents are cooking the dinner, and my husband and I will be joining them. Our son might be coming, too, but I don’t think my daughter will.

      How about you? Sis Caddo?

      Thank you so much for thinking of me. I hope your Thanksgiving will be extra special. ❤

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Paislee Blu said,

        November 26, 2014 at 1:37 am

        I’m glad you get to be a lady of leisure! Now me, I’m the opposite–gotta have control of the whole dang kitchen, do it all–that’s me! And believe it or not, I do most of the whole traditional meal–just for me and Jesus! (Leftovers for a week or more!) I’m not lonely, I’m JOYful–because of HIM, I have so so so much to be thankful for. But I always wish y’all lived next door–you and Deb and all the sisters I’ve met–I’d be bringing over dishes for you to sample, and then MORE if you liked what you tried. So I’ll just imagine (God’s great gift to me–BIG creative imagination) you and your husband stopping in for “just one more bite”! love Caddo xxoo

  8. November 26, 2014 at 8:04 am

    I wish we lived next door, too. ❤

  9. Debbie said,

    November 27, 2014 at 1:55 am

    This is just such a beautiful post for right now. :). Writing things down has helped me in the past . . .I just get away from it for some reason! Thank you. Dear woman of the Word, for blessing us with ways to turn to Jesus more, unashamed.
    Love you and God bless!
    Deb

  10. November 27, 2014 at 7:29 am

    Thank you, Deb. You do the same thing. You are a great friend!

    Love and Blessings,
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

