10 Comments

  1. September 19, 2010 at 3:41 am

    This is a wonderful encouragement . . .that we can change. 🙂 I can get so discouraged and think I’m hopeless, but it’s not true. I just need to keep going to Him. That habit in itself will work wonders! ha! How you have lightened me tonight! 🙂 You are indeed on a roll. . . hope it’s habit forming and I join you too! love and prayers! deb

  2. September 19, 2010 at 4:35 am

    I needed to post it and read it again. I need to relearn, and to practice what I preach. :/

    Thank you, Deb. We are in the same boat…thank goodness He grabbed us from those waves and put us inside. 🙂

    Love and prayers for you, too.

  3. JD said,

    September 19, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    What a wonderful post. I have needed this reminder time and time again throughout my life. Thanks for providing it once more. The simplicity of it . . . and yet the great difficulty of performance. Thank God for His mercy and grace.

    • September 19, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      I am so glad you were encouraged. I have this habit of remembering sins and feeling so terrible that I tell the Lord I am sorry again…over and over. Maybe when I am confronted with the memory of those previously confessed sins, I should respond by just thanking Him for His mercy, grace and forgiveness, and as I thank Him (Like the Samaritan leper did) it will both glorify the Lord and and strengthen my faith in Him.

      I am open to suggestions. Maybe you could write another one of your great poems! 🙂

  4. September 23, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Great post! I have been dealing with this kind of thing for quite a while now. I love the thought that we can change and He has promised to help us change if we will let Him. He is so good and merciful to me and I am so thankful for it.

  5. bendedspoon said,

    September 23, 2010 at 4:41 am

    wow what an encouragement!
    just what i need in the moment
    how many times have i said
    i can’t, i can’t, I CAN”T!
    when i know i can, i can, I CAN!
    those habit
    i really don’t want it
    it makes me feel guilty
    for eating – a lot!
    for not forgiving – totally!
    for not moving on – fast!
    there i’m guilty
    therefore i equally need
    the same forgiveness.
    i guess i need more prayers
    and praying more
    🙂

  6. September 23, 2010 at 5:15 am

    I was about to go to bed (It is a few minutes past midnight here.), and I saw that you had made some comments on my blog. We are all in the same boat. We have bad habits we need to exchange for good habits. But don’t forget to make it a habit to remember that we are saved by grace and not our good habits. Probably the best habit of all is to remind ourselves that no matter what, Jesus loves and forgives His children; He will never break that habit! 🙂

    I ate too much tonight, too. We can pray for each other. 🙂

    • bendedspoon said,

      September 23, 2010 at 5:22 am

      thank you so much Theresa!
      i thank God for you
      you always have something for me
      to comfort my sometimes weary soul.
      thanks for the prayers
      will do the same for you.
      🙂

  7. tonirand said,

    September 27, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Theresa.

    I like this quote “He can help us exchange the habits of the flesh that bring guilt and shame with habits of the Spirit which bring peace, contentment, and joy!”

    A friend and I shared earlier today how we need to let go of what we’ve given to God and hold on to His promises. So easy to beat ourselves up over forgiven trespasses. Lord, help us to truly cast our cares on You!

    blessings,
    ann

  8. September 27, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    You are right, Ann. It is so easy to beat ourselves up. That is a great prayer! Thank you for stopping by.

    Theresa


Leave a Reply

