“The Wisdom of God”

The Wisdom of God

Thou, O Christ, who wert tempted in all points like as we are, yet without sin, make us strong to overcome the desire to be wise and to be reputed wise by others as ignorant as ourselves. We turn from our wisdom as well as from our folly and flee to Thee, the wisdom of God and the power of God. Amen.”-A.W. Tozer (“The Knowledge of the Holy”)

I have a friend. Her name is Faith. No, she is not an allegorical figure; she is a genuine friend who’s name is Faith, and she does have faith. She has taught me that “it is not the size of one’s faith that matters, but the object of one’s faith”. She quotes that from time to time. Faith enjoys reading books by Tozer. I have read one, but it was so many years ago, and I’m not even sure if I read it all the way through.

Faith likes to write down inspiring quotes and share them with her friends. a few years ago she wrote the above quote on an index card and I put it on my bulletin board where I can keep it in view. I hope it blesses you.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

12 Comments

  1. September 4, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    The Tozer quote did indeed bless me. It’s something that I come up against quite often. God bless you and Faith, and your faith in Jesus!

  2. September 5, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Thank you. I have to watch myself. 🙂

  3. bendedspoon said,

    September 9, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    the power of words
    faith live up to her name
    and i have yet to know
    someone named joy
    who’s habit is frowning
    🙂

  4. September 9, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    You just made my morning! 🙂

  5. bendedspoon said,

    September 10, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Theresa and Deb,
    Please check my post To believe is to see!
    I saw God in a pumpkin pie!
    Earlier i have thought of asking you both
    on how i should reply with a non-believer.
    And God came to my rescue!
    He is amazing!

  6. September 10, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    God is amazing, and you amaze me. I have been have been having a little trouble recently finding both the words and the time to post. Then I will see that you wrote something to me, or I will just get on WordPress and read your posts and my heart will be warmed and I just can’t keep from smiling. I thank the Lord and I thank you.

    Love, Theresa

  7. bendedspoon said,

    September 10, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    He is soooo amazing!
    right now He is making me cry
    i am up early to go to kiddos school
    checked you tube for Christian Song
    and found With All I Am
    heard the song for the 1st time
    the song is so right
    then i read your message
    tears flow
    i just love Him
    for so many things
    like sharing you and Deb to me
    oh God I love you two!
    🙂

  8. September 11, 2010 at 12:05 am

    You bet we will . . .okay, guess I’m speaking for Rea! ha! I love the name of her blog and love to support others, so thanks for letting us know! 🙂

  9. September 11, 2010 at 4:49 am

    I love you, too. Both of you.

  10. September 11, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Here is the link to my daughter’s blog.
    http://burningbeacon.wordpress.com/

    • bendedspoon said,

      September 11, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      You have a real treasure in there
      Such a lovely blessing for a great Mama
      🙂

  11. September 12, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Thank you so much! Takes one great Mama to know another great Mama. 🙂


Leave a Reply

