Transitions: (Part 11…Quieting Myself)

Scripture Reference;

Psalm 131

1Lord, my heart is not haughty, nor mine eyes lofty: neither do I exercise myself in great matters, or in things too high for me.2Surely I have behaved and quieted myself, as a child that is weaned of his mother: my soul is even as a weaned child.3Let Israel hope in the LORD from henceforth and for ever. Psalm 131 KJV

Well, if you ever come across a post titled “Transitions”  you will be reading about what was happening in my life and the life of my family at the time. If you ever get to the bottom and see that there were comments made you can click on them and find updates on any situations that I spoke about in that particular post.

This post finds me at the end of August settling into an autumn routine with my family.  My son is back at  graduate school now.  My daughter and I followed him back  there and stayed a few days while we helped get him settled back into his apartment.  It was a long but pleasant drive winding our way through the mountains. Right now they are still green, but in a few weeks the leaves will be turning  all of those beautiful colors.  I hope I will get a chance to go again this fall.

My daughter is still being homeschooled and has started her senior year.  It will be hard for me to adjust when she is finished and there won’t be any more kids to homeschool. I loved having my kids home with me so much.

This is also a time of new beginnings and in a way I will get to study with my family again. This time I will be studying with my husband. He has decided to go back and finish college after about 16 or 17 years. Since he is legally blind he cannot read the print in the textbooks. Some of them come on disc, but not all of them. So I get to be his reader, and you know what? I have really enjoyed that so far. He is majoring in sociology and I believe he will be minoring in political science, so I am having a lot of fun reading about new things. He made the decision to go back to school just a few months ago, so I am no longer going to the wage center; nor am I job hunting anymore. I actually have an excuse to do more of what I love best!

The only problem is that He had to cut his hours at his job which presents more financial challenges, but he has peace in his heart about our situation, and he wants me to not worry, and I believe the Lord wants me to trust Him and also to trust my husband…so that is what I am doing, and it is really great. Sometimes I slip and start to worry and try to think of ways to trust in me, but then the Lord quiets me back down and helps me to trust in Him.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.


Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

25 Comments

  1. September 1, 2010 at 2:12 am

    Your transition time sounds wonderful and I loved the Psalm to go with it. I love how He works and tells us not to worry about the finances ( I often want and try to figure out a way to help more financially), that He will provide. So we grow in trust and faith. So good to hear from you and to think of these things you will be doing this fall. Worthy is His name . . .deb

  2. September 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Thank you Deb, and I hope you will be enjoying the fall, too.

  3. bendedspoon said,

    September 2, 2010 at 3:08 am

    i misssss you!
    thanks for sharing
    the latest with your family.
    great wifey
    superb mommy
    lovely child of God.
    i know those are understatement
    but hey i really just want to say
    woman i love you more!
    🙂

  4. September 2, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I miss you, too, bendedspoon! Thank you for all of your kind words. Hopefully, I will be able to make another devotional post soon.

    Hope you have a great day, Theresa.

  5. bendedspoon said,

    September 3, 2010 at 4:56 am

    Theresa and Deb,
    For a bracelet, which do you prefer — pearl or red coral?
    And don’t forget your exact wrist size in inches – fitted in the skin
    love,
    rea
    🙂

  6. September 3, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    “Rea”…is this your name? It is very pretty. I think I like pearl. I will have to digging around the house to see if I have some measuring tape. 🙂

  7. bendedspoon said,

    September 3, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    yup that’s my name, REAlly:)
    would you like to surf the net and check the pearl bracelet that you want and let’s see if i can make one close to it 🙂

  8. September 3, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    I will let you choose. I have know you are talented and I trust your judgment. :)…plus I like surprises.

  9. September 3, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I’m with Theresa in letting you decide! 🙂 They both sound beautiful , like you! Now that I know your name, can I still call you sweet one?

  10. bendedspoon said,

    September 4, 2010 at 12:17 am

    you can call me anything that you’re comfortable with.
    no problem with me 🙂

    don’t forget your exact wrist size.

  11. September 4, 2010 at 12:47 am

    My wrist is 7 inches, or 18 centimeters. Rea, how do you pronounce your name? Is it one syllable like a “Ray” of sunshine, or two syllables like “Ree-uh”? Either way is beautiful, but I would like to be able to pronounce it correctly. 🙂

  12. September 4, 2010 at 12:57 am

    And mine is 6 inches . .. not sure what that is in centimeters! I liked that Theresa . . .ray of sunshine. 🙂 That fits Rea, doesn’t it?

  13. September 4, 2010 at 1:30 am

    It really does, Debbie. I cannot think of a word that rhymes with your name that describes your personality…tender, compassionate, intuitive…(sigh) They don’t rhyme, but they do apply.

  14. September 4, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Come to think of it, Rea, you also, are tender, compassionate, and intuitive, as well as cheerful and bright….but definitely sunny! 🙂

  15. bendedspoon said,

    September 4, 2010 at 4:25 am

    According to Rea’s Dictionary:
    rea – /ray-ya/

    archaic meaning:
    R-ising from the ashes
    E-mpowering herself
    A-cting really really strange

    updated meaning:
    R-aising 4 smart kiddos
    E-ntrusting God
    A-cting strange

    your kind words matter
    seems like you’re my sisters
    i conjure this on your behalf
    since my wrist size is 6 and 1/2
    🙂

  16. September 4, 2010 at 4:44 am

    Rea, I just loved that! Thank you so much!

  17. bendedspoon said,

    September 18, 2010 at 1:41 am

    hello Theresa and Deb
    Please email me where i could send the pearl bracelets
    Will let you know once sent.
    have a great day!
    🙂

  18. September 18, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Sweet one . . .I don’t know your e-mail address. 😦 sorry! and I feel bad at you paying to send me a bracelet, on top of making it! We’ll talk! ha! 🙂

  19. September 18, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Me, too. 😦

    I still don’t know how to do half of the things on my dashboard. But I am slowly learning. 🙂

  20. bendedspoon said,

    September 28, 2010 at 3:47 am

    if you check ‘Comments’ in your Dashboard
    you can see my blogsite and email address
    alongside the photo of bended spoon
    it’s recreate_save@ymail.com
    🙂
    don’t worry about me sending it
    because I am so happy to do so!
    if only I can send my hugs I would
    but I could, right?
    so I’m sending it altogether!
    🙂

  21. September 29, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Rea,

    I sent it to that address…along with a hug 🙂

  22. bendedspoon said,

    September 30, 2010 at 4:38 am

    Got your address Theresa.
    See that photo in Sistahood?
    That’s some of the things
    I will be sending to you and Deb.
    It might not cost much
    but I made those with love.
    🙂

  23. Linda said,

    November 17, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Your husband’s return to school is so inspiring, and it sounds like you’re enjoying the journey, too… It was nice to read your post and get to know you better. Seems we have in common that we are both good caregivers… you with your husband’s blindness, me with my husband’s Alzheimer’s.

    Truth is, I’m so happy to be there for him… and I’m sure you’re appreciated very much as well.

    The part in your story about driving your son back to school… the winding road, the beauty of the trees, things that are changing… painted a poignat picture, stayed with me.

  24. November 17, 2010 at 4:54 am

    Well, it turned out that he only needed me to read to him for a few weeks. He lets our daughter help him with papers. It is good for both of them. He is quite independent. I have to be honest. In our marriage “He” is the caregiver…and our daughter to some extent; especially the last couple of years..so hard to explain…sorry. They do have my love, and gratitude, though. Something in me went very weak; especially this year, but the Lord is helping me.

    When I read your post I thought you might have a parent with Alzheimer’s. When I read about the time spent on that boat, I visualized a woman in her early twenties. I am so sorry.

    Nearly burned up my brakes on one of the grades but the mountains are pretty. 🙂

  25. March 25, 2014 at 8:13 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    All of my posts with “Transitions” in the title share a little about me and my family. I thought I would re-blog them, so my readers would have the opportunity to get to know me a little better and follow along on the journey I have been on since February of 2010.


Leave a Reply

