10 Comments

  1. August 9, 2010 at 6:32 am

    This made me cry! Partly because of all the mistakes I have made. Some days they overwhelm me. But then His grace and that poem, and my tears are ones of thankfulness that He trusted me to be a mom, even knowing I would mess up. Thanks so much for always posting what we need to hear! deb

  2. bendedspoon said,

    August 9, 2010 at 9:48 am

    so thankful that God looks from the heart
    or else i won’t take the part from the start
    so thankful that i am precious in His sight
    or else i’m devalued when i can’t do it right

    thanks Theresa for introducing me constantly
    to the great potter who is our God the Father 🙂

  3. August 9, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Deb,

    I have to be very careful to guard the truth in my heart. There are countless Christians out there who write books and teach classes that distort the truth by elevating the parents role to a place that it should not be elevated. They will give lists of things that they say parents are obligated to do and make promises that children are guaranteed to be followers of Christ if the parents will be “faithful”. These teachers do so much harm. They trick parents into exchanging the “easy yoke” and “light burden” for a “hard yoke” and a “heavy and quite painful burden”. These teachers might have the privilege of seeing there children follow the Lord, but they are robbing the Lord of the “glory”.

    Please know that I am not trying to say that we are supposed to ignore and disobey the Bible verses that tell parents to teach and model the Bible. Praying the Lord’s Prayer is very helpful. It helps me to put things back in proper perspective. Jesus loves our children, and He Loves us so much that He said “Let not your hearts be troubled”.

    Love, Theresa

    • August 9, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      I can sense what you are saying . . .know from my own experiences. We could write a whole ‘nother book. ! 🙂 I too will be careful, in love, what I say. But somehow I know you see my heart, like He does. And your way, following His way with the easy yoke, is so much better. I just didn’t know then . . .love you! deb

  4. August 9, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    bendedspoon,

    We are precious in His sight.
    Praise the Lord! “He” got it right!

    Thank you for reminding me that we can be joyful.

  5. August 9, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Deb,

    Have you ever read any of the books by L.M. Montgomery? They are fiction and the main character’s name was Anne Shirley…of Anne of Green Gables. I love those books so much. I always found myself identifying with Anne.
    There was a couple phrases she would use whenever she met someone who she really identified with and found herself liking. She would call them “kindred spirits” or say they were of the “race that knows Joseph”. I looked up the meaning of that phrase and saw it quoted a lot, but I couldn’t find its meaning. Both the author and the character Anne were Christians, so I kind of think it refers to Joseph who we read about in Genesis. He suffered many hardships at the hands of unkind people but in the end was able to say to his brothers, “Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God? You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. So then, don’t be afraid. I will provide for you and your children.” Genesis50:19-21

    Deb, I suspect that you, I, and probably a lot of our fellow bloggers are kindred spirits. 🙂

    Please forgive me if I sometimes sound a little cynical. There is nothing wrong with seeking Godly counsel from books and Bible study groups. Just never forget that the Holy Spirit is the only “Wonderful Counselor” The beautiful things that you write in your blog, bear witness to that.

    I really like what bendedspoon said:

    “so thankful that God looks from the heart
    or else i won’t take the part from the start
    so thankful that i am precious in His sight
    or else i’m devalued when i can’t do it right”

    I am so thankful for the two of you!

    Love, Theresa

  6. August 10, 2010 at 12:35 am

    I haven’t read those books, but would love to! Will put them on my list!:) And yes, I have loved finding a kindred spirit in you and others. 🙂 God is so amazing to do that for us and through us. I agree, and love books, need to learn from others . . .just need to filter it all through Him. What is good for one person, isn’t always meant for everyone. bended spoon is the sweetest! I love her comment poems! Thank you so much for ministering to me! deb

  7. bendedspoon said,

    August 10, 2010 at 12:49 am

    why do you made me cry
    i am asking why oh why
    i am blessed to have you two
    whose kindness and love fills me so
    i am so far away from the two of you
    yet in my walk to Jesus you guide me through
    when i found you it’s not a coincidence
    i believe it’s God magnificence 🙂

  8. August 10, 2010 at 1:39 am

    bended spoon,

    That was so beautiful. It touched my heart. 🙂

  9. August 10, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Mine too! Made me cry . . .in a good way! 🙂


Leave a Reply

