24 Comments

  1. bendedspoon said,

    August 5, 2010 at 4:52 am

    i don’t want to run away from God. if i fall and fall and fall, i’ll get up, get up, get up and continue running towards Him. hatred and bitterness are evil and God hates evil. surely i don’t want my God to hate me so, each time i hate i have to ask for forgiveness and love some more. each time i’m bitter i have to ask for forgiveness and be sweet some more. and besides you shared to me, ‘it’s gonna be a bright bright bright bright sun shiny day’ 🙂

  2. August 5, 2010 at 6:36 am

    I hope I didn’t make this post too complicated. I am so sorry if I did. It sounds like the attitude of your heart and the way you turn from sin and run to God is very pleasing to him.

    But please know that if you have trusted in Jesus to be your personal Savior that you are his precious child. All of his children sin and need correction sometimes, but He cannot…will not…ever… hate one of his children, who has believed that He died for their sins and called on Him. Jesus hates the sin, but loves the sinner.

  3. August 5, 2010 at 6:50 am

    I thought you did a beautiful job explaining this. You have a gift for that, and for not condemning or preaching . . .just for sharing from your own experience. It blesses me so and I’m so thankful that you tell others about Jesus the way you do. It’s so important, what you do, just the way you do it. love you! deb

  4. August 5, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Thank you deb. Sometimes I get scared that I will mislead and cause readers to stumble…that I will mishandle the word of truth…makes me cringe a little.

  5. bendedspoon said,

    August 5, 2010 at 7:11 am

    I am His precious child! He loves me! i’m in love 🙂

  6. August 5, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    bended spoon,

    Amen! God is love:

    “15If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in him and he in God. 16And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” 1 John 4:15-16 NIV

    I hope you have a great day, and enjoy those kiddos! 🙂

  7. August 5, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    deb, bendedspoon, love you both. 🙂

    Theresa

    • bendedspoon said,

      August 5, 2010 at 11:38 pm

      My kiddos are now in my blogsite — please see ‘bended spoon how?’ Thank you so much for the love Theresa. Deeply appreciated 🙂

  8. bendedspoon said,

    October 27, 2010 at 6:03 am

    I miss your post Theresa.

    Now let me share this with you from Daily Encounter … The Sheep With a Broken leg [Tuesday, October 26, 2010]

    The Sheep With a Broken leg

    “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”1

    Robert Munger writes about an American traveling in Syria who became acquainted with a shepherd. Each morning he noticed the shepherd taking food to a sheep that had a broken leg. As he looked at the animal, he asked the shepherd, “How did the sheep break its leg? Did it meet with an accident, fall into a hole, or did some animal break its leg?”

    “No,” said the shepherd, “I broke this sheep’s leg myself.”

    “You broke it yourself?” queried the surprised traveler.

    “Yes, you see, this is a wayward sheep; it would not stay with the flock, but would lead the sheep astray. Then it would not let me near it so I had to break the sheep’s leg so that it would allow me, day by day to feed it. In doing this it will get to know me as its shepherd, trust me as its guide, and keep with the flock.”2

    Sometimes, just sometimes, when we insist of going our own stubborn way and leading others astray, the Shepherd of the fold, may have to “break our leg” too for our own good and that of others.

    Suggested prayer: “Dear God, please give me the good sense to not only know what is the right thing to do but the courage to do it, so that I won’t need to experience painful discipline. Thank you for hearing and answering my prayer. Gratefully, in Jesus’ name, amen.”

  9. October 27, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Thank you, Rea. That is so true.

    Sometimes the Lord shows me some things that comfort and inspire. Then I write about them here. I might write blog entries more than once a week. Then I might not write again for a week or two, or even longer. I just want whatever I write about the Lord to reflect the truth that is found in scripture. Occasionally I will go back and read all of my entries prayerfully looking for error, and then I will edit or add on an additional comments to clarify. So far to the best of my knowledge (which is “not” infallible; no one on this earth can truthfully say that they “perfectly” interpret the scriptures), I believe everything that I have written in my blog is true, and have not found anything that might lead anyone astray.

    But I must confess that we all do go astray here and there throughout the day, or even over the course of days, weeks, or even longer. We might find ourselves thinking bad thoughts, speaking bad words, or even doing bad actions, but the Lord promises that if we will return to Him in prayer, and confess our sins, and ask for His help He will forgive, cleanse, and strengthen us. Look at this:

    “8If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. 9If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 10If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.” 1 John 5:8-10

    I would also like to mention that the Lord will bring it to our attention (convict our hearts) when we have sinned and gone astray, so we will know that it is time to turn to Him and seek His forgiveness, cleansing, and strengthening. We might ignore His voice when He is convicting us, but we should not do that, because the longer we go on ignoring the Lord the more drastic He will have to be in order to get our attention. The post about the shepherd and the sheep in your comment is based on this passage of scripture:

    “4 In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. 5 And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,
    ‘My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,
    and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,
    6 because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
    and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”[a]

    7 Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children. For what children are not disciplined by their father? 8 If you are not disciplined—and everyone undergoes discipline—then you are not legitimate, not true sons and daughters at all. 9 Moreover, we have all had human fathers who disciplined us and we respected them for it. How much more should we submit to the Father of spirits and live! 10 They disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness. 11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

    12 Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees. 13 ‘Make level paths for your feet,'[b] so that the lame may not be disabled, but rather healed.” Hebrews 12:4-13

    Another thing to consider is that even though the Lord forgives us immediately whenever we confess our sins, the effects of those sins might take a very long time to repair (such as a spoiled friendship)…might not ever be fully repaired in our lifetime here on this earth. Thank goodness our fellowship with the Lord will be instantly repaired, though. I also would like to add that even though we must confess and turn from our sin in order to have our relationship with the Lord mended, I have come to believe that our salvation is permanent. I have come to the conclusion that once a person has received Jesus as their personal Savior and Lord, have been born again, and have passed from death unto life (John 5:24) their sins can never again cause them to be in danger of going to Hell. Look at the verse below and notice the use of the phrase “shall not”. It does not say “might not”, or “hopefully won’t”. Jesus said “shall not”.

    ‘Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.” John 5:24

    When I don’t have anything to write I enjoy looking at other people’s blogs like yours, and just allow myself to rest and be fed. I am hoping I will have a chance to write some more over the next few days. Please remember me in prayer, and thank you so much for the beautiful illustration above. 🙂

    I apologize for making such a lengthy reply to your comment, but for the sake of anyone who might read my post and all of these comments I decided to share as much scripture as possible.

    Love,

    Theresa

  10. bendedspoon said,

    October 27, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    What you have just wrote is as good as another post.
    Thank you for yet another enlightening thoughts.
    I need one like this because mine is all about my craziness.
    I agree that we all go astray.
    I sometimes think bad thoughts of those who hurt me and for that I need to ask for forgiveness. Sometimes I wonder how sin of one can cause another to sin — bitterness, hatred and all. But then, without it, we may not learn to really come closer to God and pour our hearts out and ask Him to cleanse us.
    Thanks for feeding me again with Godly thoughts.
    Praying for you that you may bless more and be blessed more.
    🙂

  11. October 28, 2010 at 1:37 am

    I am so glad to visit with you, Rea. I wish we could be in the same room on a comfy sofa having a cup of tea or coffee and a nice long visit. It would be so nice and I bet the hours would fly! 🙂

    I understand your concern about the example you set. I think we moms worry about that a lot, especially when are kids are little like yours. The Bible does teach us that we should strive to be more and more Christ like in our lives as we live for Him and are watched by others. The Lord does hold us accountable, but I think one of the best ways we help others is by letting them see our failures, and letting them also see us turn and go back to the Lord when we fall. Think how it encourages you when you see other Christians confess their faults and offer up praise and thanksgiving to the Lord for His “unfailing” mercy and grace!…I’m not saying that we should make it our ambition or endeavor to sin on purpose…Ask the Lord to heal the hurts and supply you with the courage to forgive…because He is so eager to forgive…and be patient with the Lord and with yourself.

    Remember that the Lord does care about the example you set enough to hold you accountable, BUT neither you nor anyone else can separate those that you are concerned about from the love of Christ. Jesus loves them too much ( immeasurably more than we love them) to let us get in the way of their salvation:

    Future Glory
    18I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. 19The creation waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed. 20For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope 21that[i] the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.

    22We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. 23Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. 24For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? 25But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

    26In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. 27And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.
    More Than Conquerors
    28And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,[j] who[k] have been called according to his purpose. 29For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. 30And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

    31What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? 33Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. 35Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36As it is written:
    “For your sake we face death all day long;
    we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”[l] 37No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[m] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.Romans 8:18-39 NIV

    Theresa

  12. tonirand said,

    December 6, 2010 at 5:56 am

    This is some deep stuff, Theresa.

    (You got all of this from one Psalm?! 😉 _

    It always amazes me how much He knows about me and yet He still chooses to love me. In the natural context of life, we stay away from those who are tarnished and filthy. Yet HE chooses to love us regardless. Not only does He love us but He makes us cleaning even though He knows we’ll likely go rolling in the mud again 😦

    How awesome is our God!!

    Thanks for sharing. May God continue to give you insights as you impart His word to the world around you. You may be far from Judea and Samaria but He can use you to reach the ends of the earth! May He bless you continually in every area of your life.

    Blessings
    ann

  13. December 6, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Thank you Ann. It helps me so much to read about people like King David and so many others in the Bible. These ones from the Old Testament lived before Jesus came to the earth, but they were saved by faith, too…in the Messiah they knew would come some day. They help me to understand that Christians still sin, yet the Lord’s love is unfailing and His mercy endures forever!

    Thank you Ann for encouraging me.

    Theresa

  14. March 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Theresa, This is a wonderful post. Thank you for pointing me to it. I love the stories of David and knowing he was a man after God’s own heart. “I believe that David also understood that evil could be found in himself, and that is why he cried out to the Lord with a contrite heart.” This is so true – David knew both who he was and who God was, and had a wonderful relationship with his Creator! Peace, Linda

    • March 27, 2011 at 3:11 pm

      Thank you Linda. It has always encouraged me that David was frail where his flesh was concerned even could be ill tempered (like when he became furious with Nabal), but he loved the Lord and would become very contrite when he was finally brought to his senses. This pleased the Lord. I am so aware of every sinful thought I have…they make me cringe. What a comfort to know that the Lord loves us enough to save us from Hell, and even enter into relationships with us!

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  15. Zoe said,

    December 6, 2012 at 8:42 am

    I love this, thank you for your loving words

    • December 6, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      Thank you Zoe, for both your loving words and your loving heart heart!

      Love,
      Theresa

  16. May 28, 2015 at 6:59 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “…Not all of our enemies are evil people; some are evil forces. David witnessed those forces at work on King Saul, and how the evil spirit would temporarily depart when he played on the harp for the king (1 Samuel 16:14-23)…”

  17. Debbie said,

    May 29, 2015 at 1:41 am

    This was so so good to read again and be encouraged by His faithfulness and mercy! Thank you, thank you!
    Love, Deb

    • May 29, 2015 at 6:20 am

      Oh Deb! I am so glad you enjoyed it again!

      Love,
      Theresa

      • Debbie said,

        May 29, 2015 at 6:33 am

        Oh yes! 🙂 It really spoke to me about things I have been thinking of lately! And , I loved re reading the comments too, and how His word just pours out of you! 🙂

  18. May 29, 2015 at 6:41 am

    Deb, I am excited about this new opportunity we have to look at the book and share with each other.. I went to a small Bible study at a local coffee shop tonight, and it put me a little behind. I think I might have mentioned the leader to you. He is in his early 20’s and was a friend of my daughter’s. I recently had him and his girlfriend over a few times.

    Tonight when his study was dismissed I had him over to the house for a plate of roast and mashed potatoes. It sort of fills that “mom” void.. I made a big mess out of my kitchen.

    I feel so badly that I have gotten behind in my email. I just know there will be precious treasures for us as we explore your book.

    I am so thankful for you.

    Love and blessings,
    Theresa

  19. Debbie said,

    May 29, 2015 at 7:01 am

    Oh sweet friend, don’t feel bad at all about emails! I LOVE what is going on in your life, what He is doing!!!! Wow!!!! How exciting!!!
    Love you and that you have gotten to go to a Bible study and invite others to your house!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

