Encircling Love (Part1…A New Altar Call)

Originally posted on February 17, 2010 at 6:06 am

Scripture references;


22Then Paul stood in the midst of Mars’ hill, and said, Ye men of Athens, I perceive that in all things ye are too superstitious. 23For as I passed by, and beheld your devotions, I found an altar with this inscription, TO THE UNKNOWN GOD. Whom therefore ye ignorantly worship, him declare I unto you.24God that made the world and all things therein, seeing that he is Lord of heaven and earth, dwelleth not in temples made with hands;25Neither is worshipped with men’s hands, as though he needed any thing, seeing he giveth to all life, and breath, and all things;26And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation;27That they should seek the Lord, if haply they might feel after him, and find him, though he be not far from every one of us:28For in him we live, and move, and have our being; as certain also of your own poets have said, For we are also his offspring.29Forasmuch then as we are the offspring of God, we ought not to think that the Godhead is like unto gold, or silver, or stone, graven by art and man’s device.30And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent:31Because he hath appointed a day, in the which he will judge the world in righteousness by that man whom he hath ordained; whereof he hath given assurance unto all men, in that he hath raised him from the dead.  Acts 17:22-32 KJV

He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.  1 John 4:8 KJV

You have encircled me; You have placed Your hand on me.  Psalm 139:5 HCSB


I am thinking about that speech the Apostle Paul made to those men of Athens in Acts 17:22-32. It is called “The Areopagus Address”.  What an altar call that was!  They needed to repent just like all people in every age.  All need to hear, believe, and receive the message of the gospel, and all are promised the gift of salvation if they do that. It is such a precious gift to have the Lord come and dwell in us. To have Him is to have love; to be encircled in love.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

18 Comments

  1. bendedspoon said,

    August 3, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    i knew this all along but only after i intentionally feel His love did it all makes sense why His love is indeed the best — He loves like no other 🙂

  2. August 3, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    I love the way you think and make connections and apply scriptures! All for Him, because of His encircling love. . .because He hath appointed a day. May today be the day someone reads your post and responds to His great love! Thank you for all you do for Him and us! 🙂

  3. August 3, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    bendedspoon,

    I am glad that the Lord’s love is there even when we can’t feel it, but I agree with you, that when we feel His love it really does make sense that His is the best. I am so happy that you have been commenting. I have sensed joy in your comments, and that encourages my heart. It is my prayer that your joy will be contagious where ever you post. 🙂

    • bendedspoon said,

      August 4, 2010 at 12:18 am

      Can’t thank you enough for that prayer.I badly need it to keep myself from focusing on my pain. So please add some more to that — ‘where ever you post and pop’. thanks soooooo much 🙂

  4. August 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    bendedspoon,

    I forgot to say that your posts on your own blog have that same sweet joy. My daughter and I got a kick out of the one with the photo of the little earrings. We just really enjoyed reading it! 🙂

    • bendedspoon said,

      August 4, 2010 at 12:29 am

      thank you so much for appreciating. my kiddos and i love doing simple things. those are enough to keep us smiling 🙂

  5. August 4, 2010 at 12:15 am

    Deb,

    Thank you. Assurance is sooo important to me. I know sometimes I fail to get all of the meaning that is in a passage, but I like to treat it like a fraction that needs to be reduced to it’s lowest form. There are three verses that I have written on post it notes, and they are on the closet door here in my bedroom where I usually type. Here is one of them:

    ” For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.’ Romans 15:4

    I am thankful that I have met you. Pray for me. I am often off and sinning as soon as I say Amen. I am thankful that the Lord continues to convict and draw me.

  6. August 4, 2010 at 12:23 am

    bended spoon,

    I am so sorry about your pain. I will pray.

    • bendedspoon said,

      August 4, 2010 at 12:36 am

      i will be totally free from it. there will come a time that i will no longer say that rhyme — pain, pain go away don’t dare come again today 🙂

  7. August 4, 2010 at 1:01 am

    How many kiddos, and ages? You need not answer if that was too personal. 🙂

  8. bendedspoon said,

    August 4, 2010 at 1:57 am

    4 cutie kiddos — ages 12 (girl), 9 by Nov (boy), 7 (boy) and 3 by Aug 29 (girl). No worries. I do not intend to be anonymous. I just love the bended spoon image because while the kids and I are having fun bending spoons I realized that I am a bended spoon. So that’s my best image, so far! 🙂

  9. August 4, 2010 at 2:13 am

    Oh my. Now I have even more to smile about when I think of you. I only have two. A boy who is 22 and a girl who is 16. 🙂

  10. August 4, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Theresa . . .you come from such an honest and God glorifying place. You do. The verse you have posted . . .blows me away. I don’t think I have ever focused on it before. But boy have you! And through that you share and bless so many . . .like me!
    Bendedspoon . . .I will pray with and for you too . . .and your sweet family. I loved the whole bendedspoon story. 🙂 Thank you for your love, joy and comments!

  11. bendedspoon said,

    August 4, 2010 at 2:22 am

    Now, I hereby declare that Theresa and Debbie are my lovable friends. Should they oppose to this, I will be glad to see them in court and kiss 🙂

  12. August 4, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Today is a special day for me. Thank you both for making it that way.

    Love, Theresa

  13. August 6, 2010 at 4:27 am

    bendedspoon,
    Is your pain physical? I would like to know about it, but if my question is too personal you do not have to answer.

  14. bendedspoon said,

    August 6, 2010 at 5:05 am

    it is not. though sometimes i’m hurting physically, i believe that those are just manifestations of my emotional pain. it’s a difficult battle that’s why i need God. i just hold unto the promise that He loves me so, i will be just ok 🙂

  15. August 6, 2010 at 11:43 am

    That is the best thing to do. Emotional pain is hard.


Leave a Reply

