I Will Sing the Wondrous Story

I really do love the old hymns and gospel songs. I love to sing them and to meditate on them. Below is one them that I hope you will enjoy.

I Will Sing the Wondrous Story

I will sing the wondrous story
Of the Christ Who died for me.
How He left His home in glory
For the cross of Calvary

Refrain

Yes, I’ll sing the wondrous story
Of the Christ Who died for me,
Sing it with the saints in glory,
Gathered by the crystal sea.

I was lost, but Jesus found me,
Found the sheep that went astray,
Threw His loving arms around me,
Drew me back into His way.

Refrain

I was bruised, but Jesus healed me,
Faint was I from many a fall,
Sight was gone, and fears possessed me,
But He freed me from them all.

Refrain

Days of darkness still come o’er me,
Sorrow’s path I often tread,
But His presence still is with me;
By His guiding hand I’m led.

Refrain

He will keep me till the river
Rolls its waters at my feet;
Then He’ll bear me safely over,
Where the loved ones I shall meet.

5 Comments

  1. July 13, 2010 at 4:40 am

    That is a great hymn! It’s one of those hymns in which I find myself in every verse. “I was lost, but Jesus found me…” “Faint was I from many a fall… But He freed me from them all”. What glorious truth! I will probably be humming this one all day tomorrow. Thanks!
    In Christ,
    Ben

  2. July 13, 2010 at 4:41 am

    I am so glad! 🙂

  3. rcottrill said,

    July 25, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Thanks for posting Francis Rowley’s hymn. (Today is the 156th anniversary of his birth.) And since you say you love the old hymns, I invite you to check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns. Today’s blog will tell you how Rowley’s song came to be written.

  4. July 25, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    I will check your blog out. I like to go to cyberhymnal from time to time, and not only do they have a short biography on the hymn writers, but they also put up versions of the hymns that will often have verses that were not included in my hymn books.

  5. July 25, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Now I am laughing. I should have went to your blog before I made that above comment.


Leave a Reply

