14 Comments

  1. June 24, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    That is a great response and encouragement. Sometimes the thought that “whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap” paralyzes me with fear. I’m afraid to step out and do anything because I fear my “reaping” destroying whatever I’ve started to do. But we aren’t supposed to let past sins and failures keep us from the Lord like that. I know that, but sometimes it’s hard to put it into practice. I too have worried quite a bit about the judgment seat of Christ, but I had never thought that it is more about Him than it is about me. (I suppose my pride is always wanting everything to be about me) I will have to think about this today. Thank you for the encouragement. (and thanks to your pastor for the encouragement)

  2. June 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    I am glad that it helped you. “Sowing and Reaping”…now that is a topic I might try to write about sometime, but like everything else I write about, I see only in part.

    There are a few passages of scripture that come to my mind as I consider the concern we have about starting something good only later to destroy it. Here they are:

    “12Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. 13For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.” Philippians 2:12-13 KJV

    “6 I am sure of this, that He who started a good work (H) in you [b] will carry it on to completion (I) until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6 HCSB

    ” 4Delight thyself also in the LORD: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. 5Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.” Psalm 37:4-5 KJV

    “12For the which cause I also suffer these things: nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.” 2Timothy 1:12 KJV

    Basically with me it always comes back to the “dual” or “two-fold” nature of believers (the Flesh and the Spirit) as described in Romans 7 and 8. I remember that up until about 11 years ago my whole focus was on the “fear and trembling verse” (my part), and consequently, I never noticed the “working to will and do” verse (the Lord’s part). It is true that many things we set out to do that we think are works of the Spirit can turn out only to be works of the flesh, but it is also a wonderful thing to know that because God works “in” his children both to be willing and to be able to do, there will be works that we do that will not burn up, but will last! There is so much “committing” we do. We commit our hearts, lives, and many of our works to Him every single time we sincerely pray “Thy will be done”, and the increases or successes are always His; “HE” shall bring it to pass (Psalm 37:5). We serve an awesome God! 🙂

  3. October 1, 2014 at 1:01 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    Back in June of 2010 I was doing some soul searching, and corresponded with a pastor who was helpful to me. I gave me permission to share that correspondence in this blog post, and we prayed together that the Lord might use it to help others.

  4. Debbie said,

    October 4, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    Wow, Theresa . . .this was such a blessing and I pray that many are helped and brought closer to Jesus through understanding better about the judgement seat. I loved that the focus is not about us there, but about Christ and what He’s done. So beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

    Love, deb

    • October 5, 2014 at 4:57 am

      I’m so glad, too. It makes me so uncomfortable when I get around Christians that are so focused on what ‘they think’ it means to be a ‘new creature in Christ’ that they think Christians don’t still have the flesh…that they won’t sin or if they do it will be hardly ever. It used to torment me when I thought that way, because I could still see my sins and how often I committed them and it really scared me. I have to guard my heart and limit my exposure to people who teach Sunday school or who have blogs who are on that wave length.

      Love,
      Theresa

  5. coastalmom said,

    October 5, 2014 at 3:12 am

    Theresa,
    I needed to read this. God is working on me. I am supposed to be learning something. I am leaving tomorrow to go wedding dress shopping with my daughter while my son has boycotted me. I am not sure what I am supposed to be. But I am sure that God’s word does not return void. Thanks for the reminder!
    xoxo

    • October 5, 2014 at 5:07 am

      Diane, I hope it encouraged you. I am praying. My heart goes out to you.

      These relationships we have with our grown children are so hard. I could write a book on what ‘not’ to do, because I keep looking back and finding tons of screw ups that were all made by me when I had the very best intentions, and sincerely thought I was following the Lord, but we live moment by moment, and no Christian is perfect but we trick ourselves into thinking some are perfect, and then we feel all of this shame that the Lord never wanted us to feel.

      I probably should have used the word ‘I’ instead of ‘We’. I am too focused on myself these days. Thank you for listening, and I will pray.

      Love,
      Theresa

      • coastalmom said,

        October 5, 2014 at 5:12 am

        No, we is RIGHT. 😉 I relate way more than I’d like. The thing is, I tried to be so careful. My son and my daughter are SO different. Looking forward to spending a few days with my baby-♡

  6. October 5, 2014 at 5:20 am

    Me, too, Diane. I know what you mean. My son is 26 and my daughter is 20, and they are very different people. I might get to see my daughter this Friday. I haven’t seen her since March or April. Pray for me, too.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • coastalmom said,

      October 5, 2014 at 2:11 pm

      I WILL be praying! Leaving today to go be with my daughter (my soft place to fall) she always has a way of making everything right in my little world.
      🙂

      • October 5, 2014 at 3:45 pm

        Diane,

        That is a very precious relationship that you have with her. My heart rejoices with you that you have that. I am praying that today will be extra special, and full of beautiful memories for you both to tuck away in your hearts! ❤

    • coastalmom said,

      October 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

      Theresa,
      Been praying for you and your daughter. How did your visit go?

      • October 27, 2014 at 1:18 am

        That visit was postponed.

        Thank you so much for your prayers. Please continue to pray.

        Hugs and Blessings,
        Theresa


Leave a Reply

