3 Comments

  1. June 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Great thought! He is kind and compassionate. And it is very uplifting to me to think that He knows what we are like, yet still loves us.

  2. June 5, 2010 at 1:31 am

    Thank you, Ben.

    One of my biggest mistakes that I have habitually made since I was just a kid, was to put people on pedestals, and to be a “respecter of persons” Not only am I being unfair to others when I do that, I also fall into thinking that I am the only “Christian” capable of thinking saying and doing certain sins. Then when I sin instead of just confessing and turning from my sin, I stand there with my jaw dropped open thinking “Oh no, I must not be a Christian!”

    I am not endorsing sin at all. I hate sin and feel great remorse for my sins, but I must not forget that some of God’s chosen people in the Bible like Moses, David, and Abraham sinned. Pride is so deceptive. And every time I am shocked at my sin, it is very evident just how prideful I really am, and pride is a rotten sin. I am so thankful the Lord is faithful to remind me of that.

  3. June 6, 2010 at 2:22 am

    That is very helpful- I had never really thought of it that way. I understand what you are saying; sometimes when I sin or mostly when I start thinking about past sins, I start to get this awful fear that I’m not even a Christian. Then this dread comes over me that says “what if God won’t forgive you any more”- things like that. But I always keep coming back to “where sin abounded, grace did much more abound”. Anyway, I had never really thought of that being a form of pride, but I can see that it certainly is. Great thought!

    Ben


Leave a Reply

