Transitions: (Part 10 Pleasant Places)

Scripture References;

Psalm 16 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

Psalm 16

Confidence in the LORD

1 Protect me, God, for I take refuge in You. (A)

2 I [a] said to the LORD, “You are my Lord;
I have no good besides You.” (B) [b]

3 As for the holy people who are in the land, (C)
they are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.

4 The sorrows of those who take another [god]
for themselves multiply;
I will not pour out their drink offerings of blood,
and I will not speak their names with my lips. (D)

5 LORD, You are my portion [c]
and my cup [of blessing];
You hold my future. (E)

6 The boundary lines have fallen for me
in pleasant places;
indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. (F)

7 I will praise the LORD who counsels me (G)
even at night my conscience instructs me. (H)

8 I keep the LORD in mind [d] always.
Because He is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken. (I)

9 Therefore my heart is glad,
and my spirit rejoices;
my body also rests securely. (J)

10 For You will not abandon me to Sheol; (K)
You will not allow Your Faithful One to see the Pit. (L) [e]

11 You reveal the path of life to me;
in Your presence is abundant joy; (M)
in Your right hand are eternal pleasures.

Today is a happy day.  It is my 23rd wedding anniversary!  My husband is home today, because He hurt his back, but he is on the mend. I have been having a little bit of physical/emotional trouble. I had some lab work done, and need to go back for a little more, but the doctor said it probably wasn’t serious. I wish I could say that I have been resting in  the promises found in the word better, but sometimes we don’t. I know the Lord is good, and I have so much for which to be thankful. I am just one of those types of people who is prone to fret and have anxiety attacks. I take spells. I might go for months without having one; in fact, up until 2 years ago I didn’t have them at all, except for a spell when my 22 year old son was a little infant. There are so many things that I just don’t understand.

Today is a good day so far and I am thankful for this opportunity to think about the Lord and His word.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

8 Comments

  1. June 3, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Here I am commenting on my own entry. One of the hardest parts of what I have been going through is feelings of shame. It makes me feel like I’m a fair weather Christian. You hear about those who only draw near the Lord when the going gets rough. I’m more the opposite. I normally like to pray and study, but when I get sick I still pray but fear gets the best of me, and I don’t study. Then I have these condemning thoughts that fear is proof that my faith is not genuine. I also get cranky with my family when I get this way, and snap a little. Then as soon as I do I feel so bad, and apologize.

    One thing that comforted me was that I remembered that Elijah (I think it was him.) that was filled with fear when Jezebel made threats and he fled for his life. This happened right after the Lord had made His power known in Kings18. I hope I got that right. I guess it goes back to that dual nature that Christians have. We have the Spirit, but we also have the flesh, and the flesh is subject to that type of fear that is not the fear of the Lord. I believe that it is this type of fear that the Lord promises to deliver us from.

    You know as I was typing this I was having another attack, but it is going away now. Praise the Lord! I am so thankful that the word is “quick” (alive and active).

  2. June 4, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    I also like to think about Elijah- he was a man “subject to like passions as we are”. It’s sometimes easy to look at others and think that they are “Super-Christians”, but the reality is that we all have troubles and doubts and fears. As long as we still have the old flesh, we are never going to be perfect. It will be a glorious day when we are delivered from “this body of death”.
    Congratulations on your anniversary. My 8th is coming up. I didn’t know if we would make it this far (due to my own stupidity), but the Lord and my wife have been very merciful and good to me. Thank you for the encouraging thoughts!

  3. June 5, 2010 at 1:13 am

    It’s is so amazing how the chastisement of the Lord can produce joy in His children. This is true when it comes to marriage as well. It is so easy to misplace our zeal and think it is for the Lord when it really isn’t.

    The first 12 years of our marriage had its ups and downs. We were young. I was 20 and my husband was 24 when we were married, and almost 10 months later our son was born. We were also at times quite poor. My husband wasn’t perfect, but I got my priorities messed up and sort of made an idol out of “The Christian family” and loved it more than my husband and my Lord.

    Over the past 12 years the Lord has changed my husband a little (He never needed much changing), but He has changed “ME” immensely. The first change He made was in my relationship with Himself. He showed me something about salvation that I had not been able to believe before, and when I finally saw it my life was changed dramatically. Then the Lord opened my eyes to see all of the wonderful attributes in my husband that made me fall in love with him in the first place. The Lord made me understand that it truly is an honor to be loved by a good man, and that even though the church is precious in the Lord’s sight, and we are to love it’s members, we are not to worship it. Christ alone is worthy of our worship.

    Now, after 23 years of marriage we are so very much in love. What a Healing Savior we have!

  4. July 11, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Well, I guess now is a good time to update my readers. I ended up going to a place in my town called “The Wage Center” and earned an employability certificate. Then I began taking a clerical course, but three things happened that made me stop going. 1) My husband decided to go back to college this fall and I will need to get him to and from classes and two and from work. Plus I will be his “reader”. 2)We got new information that said those cuts in our income are being postponed; so we have more time. 3) I became ill on the 23rd of May and ended up being sick for the rest of May and about all of June. I am a good deal better now, but not entirely. I had lab work done and it all came back pretty normal, except my cholesterol was a little high; not really high…my LDL was 109, and I believe I can bring it down to a better number if I make a few dietary adjustments and exercise. Blood sugar, blood pressure, thyroid, and hormones were all okay. The Doctor wanted me to go on Prozac, and I might some day, but I have decided to hold off on that for awhile, and try relaxation techniques, and a few other things instead.

    I am a very thankful that my husband and kids are supportive and okay with me just remaining a wife and mom for as long as I like…or at least until our financial situation changes and “demands” me to make a change. Society puts so much pressure on women these days that they easily confuse “genuine need” with “genuine something else”. One thing I do know is that at the present time “I” genuinely need to be home with my family and have lots of quiet time alone with my Lord, and the world and all of the “activities” it has to offer will just have to get along without me.

  5. Linda said,

    November 17, 2010 at 3:50 am

    I cried when I read about how the Lord changed you… your relationship with Him, and the spiritual things that He showed you. I swear… a very similar transition also happened to me.

    A year ago, I had two months of solitude and focused on studying and prayer. I learned some very unpleasant things about myself… things that were limiting my relationship with Him. I had lots of time to reflect on what He was showing me. And honestly… it changed everything… my prayer life, my relationships… all of it.

    I get what you’re saying about the anxiety and wanting to rest in His promises better, but we all do that! Sometimes I lay a problem before the cross and take it back 20 times before I can let it rest even for a minute. It makes me a nervous wreck because I don’t want God to see that my faith is so weak sometimes. After all He’s done for me…

    It’s great reading your stuff. You have a wonderful way of expressing yourself… telling a story. Your honesty makes me feel better! 🙂

    Hugs…

  6. November 17, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Thank you so much for the kind words and for the hug. I am crying now as I type…I am such a baby! I really know what the Apostle Paul meant in Romans 7 and 8. My Flesh is just putrid, but the Spirit that dwells in me has a sweet fragrance. I wrote something tonight in a different place. This is what I wrote:

    “A child’s prayer: ‘Lord forgive me for being so bad, and help me to be good. Amen.’ I still pray this one several times a day…in the kitchen, in the yard, behind the wheel, and in the pew… and wherever I may be when it hits me.”

  7. March 25, 2014 at 8:07 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    All of my posts with “Transitions” in the title share a little about me and my family. I thought I would re-blog them, so my readers would have the opportunity to get to know me a little better and follow along on the journey I have been on since February of 2010.

  8. Debbie said,

    March 27, 2014 at 4:31 am

    I didn’t comment on this, for some reason! Sorry! I too love your honesty and know that God does too. Something really precious about that. I read a post tonight about how God is growing our faith to be like a freight train. The blogger’s point was that our walk with God may be really good and we are going along great, but then things happen over which we have no control…and we get knocked off track and don’t respond like we want to. Boy is this me! So glad that I have people like you in my life to help me get back on track and going again! And praying for that time when my faith will be so weighty that I won’t be tossed about so easily.
    Love and prayers!
    Deb


Leave a Reply

